Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs refreshing

Posted May 6, 2016
An old dowager hotel. Toes in the sand, spacious suites, but old. Very much needs refurbishment. A bit dirty from age.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Apr 28, 2016
ALL employees extremely helpful to my 91 yr old Mom & 88 yr old aunt.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great stay on the beach, great location

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Cons: bathrooms need an upgrade
Location: You can walk to la jolla cove and shops and watch the seals or walk on the beach to UCSD where there is a great cafe
This is the second time we stay for a family mini-vacation. When you book cheaper rooms (around 350/night) you always get placed on the outside-facing part of the hotel, which does not overlook the ocean, but they are very accessible. The staff is great and the rooms very clean and comfortable (2 TVs, seating area). The best place about this hotel is access to the beach and service at the beach (table setup, fire pit or grill) if you like to spend 12 hours outside. The pool area is great and food is better than average.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: On beach
Cons: Needs renovation. Staff training needed
Staff was rude. Facilities are aging. The hotel is really a private country club and non-members don't feel welcome. The hotel is on the beach, which is nice. The room was noisy.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Charming resort right on the beach

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: The history, feel and proximity to the ocean.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: La Jolla and Del Mar are quite close and you can reach most San Diego sites within 15 to 20 minutes.
Just what the doctor ordered! Our room was right on the beach with beautiful waves, lots of beach and magnificent sunsets! All of this with a historic tennis club, Olympic sized pool, 9 hole executive golf course and many more amenities. The staff was outstanding, warm and friendly and quite knowledgeable about the area. I can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

set apart from club community gave privacy, space

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Cons: Food horrible and service at the restaurant was slow
Location: very close to San Diego downtown, zoo, Sea World, 1.75 hour drive to desert, many shopping areas and convenient stores to pick up food, etc. or a comf
First arrived at night to cottage. Was disappointed because it was outside the Beach and tennis club walls so to speak, and was right on the street. The next day, enjoyed being off grounds as we cold get a away from the formal club feel. The cottage was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The back yard was nice, a quick walk to Beach, pool, Starbucks, restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016
The location is everything in this hotel. Also staff was always nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baldwinsville ny

great experience

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: very close to beach
Cons: nothing
Location: has everything swurf shops wet suit and board rentals beach just everything
staff was fantastic room was clean and well kept very close to beach we found a little italian bistro walking distance which was some of the best italian ever if your not from cali and have rental car gps a must have over all excellant cant wait to go back will stay for 2 weeks this time the shack in la jolla is a great drinkn bar for the evening try it u wont regret it