Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not fancy but comfortable

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, location
Cons: Update bathroom and decor
Location: La Holla coastline, Prospect Street
Room was not fancy (decor outdated) but clean and good location. We were hardly in the room so it was a good value for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Close to beach.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Very nice staff. Good continental breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I'm gonna start with the best part. The location is great the beach is right there and parking is free. Will was very cool and helpful. I was able to check in quite early and that was very appreciated even if it not the norm. Okay so now for the bad... It needs a facelift but I'm okay with it as is because a facelift would also raise rates. Also it can be a bit lid if you like to sleep in a it because housekeeper can be heard doors down from your own. Bottom line is the place is older but staff was great and I loved how close it was to the beach without actually being there and close to main attractions without the crowds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windandsea Travelodge

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Location: close to beach
Friendly staff, clean basic room... nice location, bare bones but that's what I was anticipating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are happy that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. The La Jolla Beach Travelodge has the best value for your money than anywhere else in pricy La Jolla. Our value varies from FREE parking, FREE WiFi, Air Conditioned rooms and a FREE Bear Bites continental breakfast including fresh bagels, pastries, Danish, muffins, 2 types of Kellogg’s cereal, white or wheat toast, oatmeal, fruit, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, orange juice, whole and 2% milk, bottled water and more. We also have a heated pool and Jacuzzi to relax in after a day on the town. Thanks again for taking the time and writing us this nice review, we hope to see you the next time you visit La Jolla!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Outdated rooms. Very noisy as workers were working in various parts of the hotel. Terrible so called breakfast consisted of coffee toast and some junkie sweets. Milk was 2 days over the expiring date and sour. Great staff. Very friendly. Great breakfast cafe next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the compliments about our staff. Our FREE breakfast is as complete as we can make it, considering that we are not a restaurant. We serve bagels, white and brown bread, muffins, Danish and pastries. There is cream cheese, peanut butter, jelly and honey. Fresh apples and oranges are available in the office all day. We serve coffee, tea, orange juice, milk and hot chocolate. We appreciate you letting the front desk know one of the milk containers was expired. We are always here to help you with any issues you might have. Cafe Vahik is a great place next door to have a hot breakfast. Our housekeepers and maintenance people always work on updating the rooms and improving the property. We update the rooms one by one and do our best to minimize the noise. If you are very sensitive to noise, please, let us know. We'll reserve a quiet room upstairs for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windandsea gem

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Another great visit! This is my go-to place when I am visiting San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are tremendously happy to be your go-to place when you stay in San Diego. We appreciate you taking the time and writing us this awesome 5 star review and for being such a loyal customer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Mar 23, 2017
It felt dirty . It smelt in my room and everything was outdated . The rug felt dirty , I was not comfortable sitting or touching on anything .
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Our housekeepers are the best in the business. We deep all our rooms on a daily bases and all of our carpets are steam cleaned once a month. Every room has been remodeled with the latest amenities which include HD 40” in. Flat Screen TV, Air Conditioning/ Heater, Simmons Pillow Top mattresses, laptop sized safe, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and much more. If you ever have any problem or are unhappy for any reason we want to know while you are here so we can fix it. Just dial “0” from your room or come to the front desk and we will fix the situation. Our guest experience comes first. Once again we appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Walking distance to beautiful beach,

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, close to beach, restaurants and main areas of La Jolla. Very kind and friendly staff.
Wonderful place to stay. Quiet and close to everything. Reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. With the beach 300 yards away, stores and restaurants close by, the La Jolla Beach Travelodge is in one of the best values in all of La Jolla! We hope to see you the next time you’re visiting La Jolla!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Small motel only a few blocks from La Jolla shores

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location is superior - just a short three block hike down to the shore, and close to beach area restaurants and stores as well
Cons: Parking. Small parking lots in front and in back of the motel, but if you are driving a larger vehicle you may have to park on the street.
Location: The location is just about perfect - close to the beach, short drive to La Jolla cove and just minutes to downtown La Jolla
From check in to check out the staff was courteous, attentive and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice old fashioned motel close to the sea

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and free breakfast
Cons: Wi-fi was a bit patchy at times
Motel with really friendly and helpful staff. Only. Couple of minutes walk to the ocean at Windansea beach. A 20 minute stroll to La Jolla Cove. Mexican restaurant across the road offers 25% discount to guests. Also a Chinese restaurant and a coffee shop right next door. Takeaway Mexican and the promiscuous fork within 250m and 7 eleven a five minute walk. Lots of shops and restaurants in La Jolla village which is a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute walk away I
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Sleepy Bear, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, When it comes to choosing a hotel, value and location are everything. With the beach, restaurants and shopping only a few minutes’ walk, the La Jolla Beach Travelodge is truly in a fantastic location. We have several different access points throughout our hotel to guarantee everyone has a good internet connection. If you ever have a problem with your Wi-Fi, call the front desk and we will make sure you’re surfing the web in no time. Once again we want to thank you for giving us your feedback and this 5 star review. We hope to see you the next time you’re in beautiful La Jolla.