Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Surfing was great. La Jolla Cover and the seals are a must see.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time to write a 5 star review. La Jolla is known for as the best surf destinations on the west coast. We are really excited to hear that you loved our location, only 300 yards from one of the most beautiful beaches in San Diego (Windnsea). We’re only mile south of downtown La Jolla where you can experience astonishing restaurants, shopping and the breathtaking views of La Jolla’s cove, caves and children’s pool (seals.) Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you come to La Jolla!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice travelers lodge close to the beach

Posted Dec 24, 2016
It is just 5 mins walk to the beach. The room was very clean and also pretty big. Overall, it was the best for its value
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
With the location in a prime area just minutes from the beach and only a mile south of downtown La Jolla, the La Jolla Beach Travelodge is the best value in La Jolla. Besides the location, we offer free parking, free WIFI, a heated pool and Jacuzzi and a free Bear Bites continental breakfast to start your day off rite. We are happy that you liked the value and cleanliness of our rooms. We can’t thank you enough for this 5 star review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill , Ca

Posted Dec 23, 2016
my room was very comfortable and quiet. Had a great sleep. The manager/owner was very nice. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
It’s always nice to hear that another one of our guests had a restful night stay with us. With all our beds being new top of the line Simmons pillow top mattresses and La Jolla being such a quiet and relaxing place, it’s no wonder all of our guests have such a restful night while staying with us. We appreciate the nice comments about our manager/ owner. We thank you for this 5 star review and hope to see you the next time you visit La Jolla!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Comfortable and affordable!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
We are repeat visitors.We love the staff!!..They always go the extra mile. The area is nice and within walking distance from the beach!..I love the fact that we have a fridge and microwave in our room so we don't need to eat out all the time. Shopping is fun👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
Hearing that you are repeat visitors is the best compliment we can receive. We really appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff; we really do our best to go the extra mile for all our guests. Besides having a fridge, microwave and coffee makers in all our rooms, we offer a free continental breakfast each morning to start your day off right. Located just 300 yards from the beach and near all the best shopping in La Jolla, we are in a prime location. Once again we appreciate this wonderful review and can’t wait to see you on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Affordable accommodation, fantastic location!

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The hotel is a 2-minute walk to the beach and is close to nice shops and great restaurants. It's an old hotel but they do the best they can - clean rooms, comfortable bed and AMAZING STAFF. Thank you to Tricia and Natalia at the Front Desk for making our stay a very pleasant one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you found our hotel affordable and in a great location just a block from the Windnsea beach and only a mile from downtown La Jolla. We are said to be the “best value in La Jolla” on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your nice compliment about our clean comfortable rooms which are cleaned daily by our wonderful housekeepers. Most of our employees have been with our company for more than 10 years which makes us all like family. Our team at the La Jolla Beach Travelodge work hard to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful experience staying with us. Even though our hotel was built in the 1960’s, we have all the amenities to fit these modern times. All of our rooms have new top of the line Simmons pillow top mattresses, large flat screen HDTV’s, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee makers, ice cold Friedrich air conditioning units that also work as heaters, free laptop sized safes and much more. We appreciate you taking the time and writing us this review and hope to see you the next time you’re in La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Clean and nice staff. A little dated but nice area if you want to be near beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
We love to hear that you enjoyed our clean hotel and were happy with our staff. All of us at the La Jolla Beach Travelodge work hard each day to make our guest experience a memorable one. Even though our hotel was built in the late 1950’s, our hotel has all the amenities fit for the modern times. All our rooms have new top of the line Simmons pillow top mattresses, ice cold Friedrich air conditioning that also works as a heater, flat screen HDTV’s, free laptop sized safes and much more. We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you the next time you’re in La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location with an awesome staff!!

Posted Nov 25, 2016
This hotel is within 5-10 walking distance from the beach. Decent clean comfortable rooms. The staff was amazing!!!..They were so warm, helpful and generous with their time. Trisha, Natalia and another gentleman that made us feel so welcome!..Thumbs up for the Travelodge!!😃👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It really does make us feel good to hear that our guests were happy with their stay and felt welcome. A big thumb’s up to you for your wonderful feedback, we hope you come back and visit the next time you’re in La Jolla!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beds are comfy , staff is awesome!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Service and the comfyness of the bed and free breakfast and coffee. And being in a prime location in La Jolla by the beach.
Cons: Bathrooms could use some renevations! Maybe some newer carpet as well.
Location: All there is to enjoy in beautiful La Jolla 🤗
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review. All of our beds at the La Jolla Beach Travelodge have been recently replaced within the last year with high quality Simmons pillow top mattresses. We offer a free continental breakfast with fresh muffins, bagels, pastries, Danish, cereal, toast, oatmeal, coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, mike, orange juice and more. Located a short 300 yard walk to the beach and being surrounded by some great shops and restaurants, our hotel is in the middle of paradise. We appreciate you calling us awesome, we go above and beyond every day so all of our guests have a wonderful experience staying with us. Most of our employees have tenure with us and have been with us between 5 and 20 years. Besides being in an excellent location and having wonderful staff, the La Jolla Beach Travelodge offers a whole lot more. All our rooms have free Wi-Fi, iron & board, a laptop sized safe, a mini refrigerator, a microwave, a large flat screen television, new Simmons pillow top beds, a hair dryer, free bottle water, top of the line Friedrich air conditioning and more! We appreciate your feedback about our bathrooms and carpets. We renovate our rooms one by one to eliminate noise so our guests have a relaxing stay. We have replaced half of our carpets which are steamed cleaned every month thoroughly. We appreciate you taking the time and writing us this review. We hope to see you the next time you visit beautiful La Jolla, California!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Affordable lodging in LA Jolla

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: The location was ideal - a three block walk to Windansea Beach and a quick drive to other local favorites and downtown La Jolla.
We stayed for three nights at the La Jolla Beach Travelodge. The staff was pleasant, hard working and helpful. The room was small but included a fridge, microwave and safe. The bed was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Sleepy Bear!, Hotel Management
Affordable lodging is La Jolla is a great headline for this review. The La Jolla Beach Travelodge is located just 300 yards from the beach, close to some great shops and restaurants and is only a short drive from all the major attractions San Diego has to offer. Our staff works hard each day to make all our guests feel right at home and enjoy their stay. We have 6 different sized rooms, something for everyone. Once again we are happy that you enjoyed the three nights you stayed with us and thank you for this wonderful review. We hope you stay with us the next time you’re visiting La Jolla.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Super location in La Jolla (Birdrock), stone's throw from Windansea Beach, walk to La Jolla Village 5 minutes to great restaurants, coffeehouses, upscale art galleries, shops and speciality boutiques. Opposite direction on La Jolla Blvd short drive to Pacific Beach (Mission Beach) and all the funky beach bars and stuff going on down there. Not a "fancy" place, but it was super clean, very nice staff. I will be staying there again!