Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

ocean view

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: The ocean view is unbelievable!
Cons: the smell from the sea life is pretty bad
Location: They offer a chance to walk out your door cross the street and snorkle all day
This hotel is located across from the park in front of the ocean. Surrounded by the seal and large ocean birds. They smell!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning

Posted Oct 2, 2015
The hotel was fine, however our key never worked for our room and the room had NO air conditioning. I would definitely recommend asking if the room is air conditioned first!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Disappointing but great location

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms...flooring, bedding, A/C, get rid of the kitchen...it's hideous...have a mini fridge and microwave and coffee supplies.
Location: Anything you want is close by and within walking distance.
Very outdated, stained carpets, no A/C and small bedroom. The location and view were great
1 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA


Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Under normal circumstances the location is great -- right across the street from La Jolla cove. All rooms have view balconies.
Cons: As it is just about time for a remodel anyway, they should consider AC in all rooms.
Location: All of La Jolla to explore within walking distance -- from the shops/restaurants to the sea.
Under normal circumstances, I would rate this hotel higher, but when its 98 degrees in La Jolla an ac'ed room is mandatory. Because this is an older property -- none of the rooms have ac as it is seldom necessary. They graciously gave me a full refund when I told them I could not spend the night in a room that was already 85 degrees with no break in the weather in sight. I booked into an ac'ed hotel down the street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino Mountains

Terrible experience.

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: The ocean bluff was across a busy street. That's all!
Cons: Fire the staff, remodel the hotel with the updates it needs.
Location: Nice views close by. Walk thru shops.
I knew a couple of weeks prior to the stay that I would have to cancel the second night as I was assigned on call at the hospital. My Mom who made the reservations for me called Expedia to get the second night cancelled. Expedia had to call and email the hotel to get this accomplished. Expedia advised Mom that the second night was indeed cancelled and sent an email showing the concellation. Upon my check in the hotel said I had not cancelled the second night and it was too late to do so. This went on for an hour. I called Expedia but the hotel would not listen. I stayed one night in a horrible room. Very dated, not clean, by the elevator shaft so was noisy along with it was very, very hot and they had no air conditionina. I didn't get any rest. Upon check out the next morning it all started over again with the hotel showing no cancellation for the second night. Another hour and finally Expedia got it straighted out. Would never go back there again and will tell all of my friends.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from 川崎


Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: ビーチに近い。コインランドリーがある。ホテルスタッフがフレンドリー。朝食とコーヒーが無料。
オーシャンビューのスィートに宿泊しました。 ダブルルームは駐車場側に面しているようなので泊まるのであればステューディオ以上のオーシャンビューの方がいいと思います。 食事などは歩いて行ける範囲にありますが、ゴルフやシーワールドなどの観光施設に行くなら車があった方が便利です。駐車場代は1日20ドルかかります。 ホテルの建物は新しくはなく豪華でもありませんが、清潔であったので問題ありません。コインランドリーがあるので便利です。 簡単な朝食が付いており、またロビーでいつでも無料のコーヒーがあるので利用しました。
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good for the price; great location

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, location
Cons: Rooms facing on public walkways should have air conditioning.
Everything was fine. Breakfast on the roof was very nice. Room was small; windows opened on a public walkway and there was no air conditioning, though hotel provided a fan.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice, could have been a lilittle bigger

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Nice room. Wish the entrance was bigger. The roof top breakfast was great. Awsome views.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: It's a decent hotel.
Location: Village shopping, dining, and beach.
Hotel is nice and sit right next to the beach and sit in the center of the La Jolla village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Definitely NOT getting what you paid for!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Easy check in and out. Close to a lot of shops and restaurants. Literally across the street from the cove.
Cons: Guest services. While your staff was polite, they were also very lazy and lacking in knowledge of the surrounding area.
I really really wanted to like this hotel. I am from Los Angeles and used to live in San Diego and would notice this hotel every time I went to the cove to go scuba diving. I wanted to visit my friends down in SD before the kids went back to school and before the flu season started (I am a nurse) and thought this would be a great time to give this hotel a try. Completely regret it. For how much I was paying a night for the room to say I was disappointed is an understatement. I had read other travelers reviews and for that reason I sprung for the more expensive room thinking I would not run into the same problems they did. No such luck. The room had no AC and only one tiny little fan that did not oscillate. The tile in the restroom was filthy (reminded me of the tile in the public showers down at the beach), paint was peeling in the restroom, stains on the walls in the restroom, and the faucet in the bathtub leaked the ENTIRE time we were there. The complimentary breakfast was lack luster. One of the mornings we arrived at 9am and they were already out of fruit. The next morning they ran out of coffee cups. I am going to La Jolla again in November for a friend's wedding and I will definitely not consider this hotel.