Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice, could have been a lilittle bigger

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Nice room. Wish the entrance was bigger. The roof top breakfast was great. Awsome views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: It's a decent hotel.
Location: Village shopping, dining, and beach.
Hotel is nice and sit right next to the beach and sit in the center of the La Jolla village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Definitely NOT getting what you paid for!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Easy check in and out. Close to a lot of shops and restaurants. Literally across the street from the cove.
Cons: Guest services. While your staff was polite, they were also very lazy and lacking in knowledge of the surrounding area.
I really really wanted to like this hotel. I am from Los Angeles and used to live in San Diego and would notice this hotel every time I went to the cove to go scuba diving. I wanted to visit my friends down in SD before the kids went back to school and before the flu season started (I am a nurse) and thought this would be a great time to give this hotel a try. Completely regret it. For how much I was paying a night for the room to say I was disappointed is an understatement. I had read other travelers reviews and for that reason I sprung for the more expensive room thinking I would not run into the same problems they did. No such luck. The room had no AC and only one tiny little fan that did not oscillate. The tile in the restroom was filthy (reminded me of the tile in the public showers down at the beach), paint was peeling in the restroom, stains on the walls in the restroom, and the faucet in the bathtub leaked the ENTIRE time we were there. The complimentary breakfast was lack luster. One of the mornings we arrived at 9am and they were already out of fruit. The next morning they ran out of coffee cups. I am going to La Jolla again in November for a friend's wedding and I will definitely not consider this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of Money

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: It is across the street from the coves which was nice.
This hotel was extremely disappointing. I'm only 5'3'' and I barely fit in the shower without hitting the shower door while washing my hair. There were also yellow stains on our towels and the trash wasn't taken out after the previous occupants had left. It looks like nothing has been upgraded since the 60's. The view was mediocre but there was a leak on our balcony. The continental breakfast only had waffles, cereals, and muffins. Immediately after we checked in we tried to cancel our room because we were so disappointed with it, but the lady at the front desk wouldn't let us. For the price we payed, we could've stayed at a much nicer hotel. Everything about this experience was awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Tiniest room/bathroom/closet EVER

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I am sooooo happy it was just one night. There was no a/c. Just a small portable fan. My luggage did not fit in closet. The bathroom was the size of a closet. I was mortified that I paid over $200 to stay in this room. Just AWFUL!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Great

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Right across the street from the beach and near lots of restaurants. Great price for location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs renovation though

Posted Aug 25, 2015
This hotel is all about location, location, location. And you pay for it. I would say the hotel is perfectly satisfactory, and the breakfast is very good and obviously has a spectacular views which makes it. However, the hotel itself does need some modernising and updating as even though the location is amazing the cost for the standard of hotel does not quite match.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern pines nc

Great location but low budget.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Nice stay. The hotels location is perfect. The rooms only have a box fan no ac. Wasnt aware of that when we booked. If not for location I would stear clear. The continental breakfast was also very good served on the roof with great views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marysville, OH

Nice ocean view

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great staff, nice continental rooftop breakfast. Close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Super Location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: I would like to see a frying pan and a cookie sheet added to the kitchenette.
Location: We spend all of our time at the beach. However, there are shopping opportunities and restaurants within walking distance.
The best thing about this hotel is the location and the staff. The building itself is old and worn but clean and comfortable. We continue to visit every year because we love to snorkel in La Jolla. It is such a beautiful place. We meet our family at the beach so primarily we are concerned with the location.