Ratings based on 1,039 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Bad Experiance

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Hotel wasn't what we expected. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but .........

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: We spent most of the time at the hotel on the roof which overlooks La Jolla Cove and Park. It was a perfect place to enjoy the view from above.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated - old, slippery showers with high sides, very inefficient lighting, very outdated kitchen appliances and cupboards.
Location: Fantastic location - swimming, walking, shopping, people watching. I wish the rooms were the same quality!
I remember staying at The La Jolla Cove for a family vacation when I was a kid. I was looking forward to returning with my parents to celebrate their 59 th anniversary. I booked a two bedroom suite for two nights. My first disappointment was the extra $20 per day to park. The next issue was that the suite was not easily accessible for my elderly parents (stairs to access the room). Finally, the suite was clean, but very outdated and it had no overhead lighting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Good location but run down and not clean

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location and pool.
Cons: Cleanliness. Accessibility.
Location: Easy walk to beach with sea lions. Easy walk to great restaurants and shops.
You cannot beat the location, walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops. The kids loved the Children's Pool beach and seeing the sea lions while playing in the water edge. And they really enjoyed the pool. Unfortunately, the hotel is very run down. The carpets look worn and like they could use a good cleaning. The rooms weren't very clean either. In fact, we found several things that previous guests had forgotten, including medicine in a drawer, a beach towel in plain view in a bath room, goggles under the pullout couch, etc. We tried not to look too closely behind anything as the sight wasn't pretty. Furthermore, do NOT book this hotel, especially their suites if you have any trouble getting up and down stairs or need to take for example a stroller to your room. We had booked a suite with two rooms and had to up and down through several stairs to get to the room. It meant a lot of dragging our suitcases up and down and around. The complimentary breakfast was ok. They had waffles and oatmeal but nothing else warm. The rest was cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs, bagels/bread/such.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, nice staff hotel needs a lot of w

Posted Jun 21, 2016
great walls,beach nearby,complimentary breakfast was nice. rooms hotel needs upgrades and cleaning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good location close to la cova

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Good position near beaches and seals. Lots of restaurants nearby. Good pool area and rooftop terrace overlooking ocean.
Cons: Bathrooms in guestrooms need updating and there is no air conditioning in rooms.
Location: Good location near beaches and seals. Good for walking . Excellent walk to la Jolla shores beach. Plenty of bars with happy hour 3-6pm.
The hotel is in a good location and has a good pool area. Breakfast was good served on the room terrace. Do not book a guest room with no view. Our room was disappointing and very small and needed updating. The room was situated near cleaner's cupboard who started wheeling trolleys along the corridor at 7am. Room only had 1 chair and staff never delivered 2nd requested chair. Book a 1 bedroom room with seaview if you choose this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dsllas

A dump

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I would call it a motel, not hotel. The place is a dump
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right across the street from the beach

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Love this hotel very nice experience with the cove nature at its finest seals everywhere kids loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Close to the beach but uncomfortable small rooms

Posted May 29, 2016
Very close to the cove which was nice but the room comfort was horrible. The queen size bed seemed more like a full size to me. The bed was hard and very uncomfortable. The room was small and bathroom was even smaller. No ac which is ok considering the weather. The bad thing about that is that your windows have to stay open, so all night you hear the seals, which can be cool until the smell creeps in.. Anyone that has been to la Jolla knows how bad they stink. That smell goes straight to your room. Ps if they give you room 400 say no!! The linen closet for the hotel is right outside the window of that room so starting at 4-5 am that door starts slamming and people gather right outside your room while your trying to sleep.. Won't be staying here again.. Many other better hotels in la Jolla
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is tops, experience not so much

Posted May 23, 2016
my daughter and I arrived at 10:30am and asked if there was any possibility of checking in since our flight was early. The lady at the counter took my phone number and said they call as soon as a room was ready, indicating that we could get in early. We had a great day at the beach and stopped in at about 2:00 to see if the room was ready, it wasn't but they said they'd put a rush on it. It felt like getting strung along. It wasn't until almost 4:00 that a room was ready. They gave us an upgraded room for what that's worth. Second night I run my daughter's bath. The cold water won't shut off, so I try to tighten the facet knob. It pops off spraying water at my daughter like a fire hose and flooding the bathroom. The guy at the front desk just says, if you want another room, it will be a downgrade. They cleaned it up (sorta) and we stayed. They also cannot accommodate late check out. Tried that too. The maids only made the bed. They just plopped the new towels on the sink. Didn't clean anything. Overall they weren't very helpful, the place is old and needs repair (I.e. The bathtub). The one person who was great was the manager (tall guy). He gave my daughter a toy dinosaur and she played with it the entire trip!! Love the location though so it was worth it for that!! Just don't come expecting superior service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location!

Posted May 15, 2016
Fair condition overall. The 2 bdroom suite is very roomy. The hotel surroundings are clean. The complimentary continental breakfast is Very convenient. The location is great, walking distance to the beach, cove, and shops. The front desk staff are great, very friendly and helpfull.