Ratings based on 747 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Tiniest room/bathroom/closet EVER

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I am sooooo happy it was just one night. There was no a/c. Just a small portable fan. My luggage did not fit in closet. The bathroom was the size of a closet. I was mortified that I paid over $200 to stay in this room. Just AWFUL!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Great

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Right across the street from the beach and near lots of restaurants. Great price for location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs renovation though

Posted Aug 25, 2015
This hotel is all about location, location, location. And you pay for it. I would say the hotel is perfectly satisfactory, and the breakfast is very good and obviously has a spectacular views which makes it. However, the hotel itself does need some modernising and updating as even though the location is amazing the cost for the standard of hotel does not quite match.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern pines nc

Great location but low budget.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Nice stay. The hotels location is perfect. The rooms only have a box fan no ac. Wasnt aware of that when we booked. If not for location I would stear clear. The continental breakfast was also very good served on the roof with great views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marysville, OH

Nice ocean view

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great staff, nice continental rooftop breakfast. Close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Super Location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: I would like to see a frying pan and a cookie sheet added to the kitchenette.
Location: We spend all of our time at the beach. However, there are shopping opportunities and restaurants within walking distance.
The best thing about this hotel is the location and the staff. The building itself is old and worn but clean and comfortable. We continue to visit every year because we love to snorkel in La Jolla. It is such a beautiful place. We meet our family at the beach so primarily we are concerned with the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no no no

Posted Aug 18, 2015
it wasnt worth of money what so ever. dirty. wet carpet. hairs on the bed. loud crowd at the park right in front. sticky smell by the sea seals. no no no
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach is across the street

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: 1 minute walk to the beach.
Cons: new hydrolics for the doors since they don't slow the doors from slamming all night and parking should be included in the price not extra...
Location: George's is a awesome romantic restraunt, make reservation is a must and window seats viewing ocean are not held or guaranteed unless you wait
Things to expect: #1 the smell from the seals is powerful, it does ease up, but VERY pungent since they are across the street. #2 the room doors are a bit difficult to open/close so during the morning and bed time you hear constant slams. #3 parking is not included in the fee, $20 a night #4 no A/C in rooms only fan Stayed here for 2 nights and was pleased with our accommodations considering it was a last minute trip. Our room faced the parkinglot and pool. Room was clean with very tight quarters. Breakfast on roof top viewing the ocean, but again stay to the left side and the pungent smell of seals is non existent. Staff was nice and we had a good stay just wish the top 4 things to expect were listed clearly in other reviews.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano Italy

A wasted nice location

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The terrace on the top floor
Cons: They should totally renew the rooms, renew the stairs. Pay more attention to the clients
The location is very good, but the rooms are very poor: they really don't worth the price we paid! Very nice terrace on the top floor for the breakfast, that was good. But it seems that the staff really doesn't care about the clients satisfaction. The rooms smell of old, The stairs from the 2° floor look as the ones of an old, dirty building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great Views

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Had a great time, everything was perfect for my family. It is exactly what we need when we stay at La Jolla.