Ratings based on 965 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Location, location, overlooking the cove.
Location is the key to our stay. Disappointed w/lack of telephone book and/or guide(s) to near-by restaurants/convenience stores,etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British / NM

Great location and ideal room

Posted Feb 6, 2016
We stayed in a 2B suite and having small children this was perfect for our needs. Separate rooms for them to go to bed with room to relax and ability to cook simple meals. Location is wonderful with ocean across the road. Little ones enjoyed going to see the seals. Great views and good selection for breakfast on the rooftop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Upgraded-great location-better airport/shuttle inf

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location, rooftop patio.
Cons: Bathroom needs a reno, and carpet replaced.
Location: Right cross from the beach. Great Mexican restaurant Jose's nearby. Couldn't ask for a better location for my needs.
I was upgraded to a HUGE room with balcony and amazing view of the water. Bathroom needs a reno but location is great. Needed a shuttle to the airport. Everywhere I travel that means a shuttle bus. Instead a private car was hired and I had to pay more then 2 times what I expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2016
It was wonderful! The view was amazing and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hanford, ca

Lack of amenities

Posted Dec 25, 2015
No heater/ac, no fridge, no microwave, no hair dryer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco,bay area

Very convenient to La Jolla

Posted Nov 27, 2015
First stay good2nd.stay very good,this stay,noisy room&lacked maintenance and not as clean as last2visits
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Norco

Pumpkin

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
It was great. Hotel was great breakfast every day up on the fifth floor roof patio looking at the beach
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edward from Murrieta, Ca

A sad state of a Wedding Anniversary.

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary on Nov. 5th. We arrived the night before and were a little bit disappointed with the layout of the room. Plus we found the showerhead would not stay up in place. The following morning, we noticed all the mold and decay in the shower and the shoddy paint applied to the bathroom wall. We called the Front Desk and reported the issue with the showerhead. It was taken care of when we returned to the room that afternoon. We also encountered construction noise in the hotel around 9am emanating from somewhere down the hall. Apparently, there was some remodeling that was taking place BUT no one warned us about it. We left shortly as the construction work was in place and returned in the afternoon only to find that "someone" took one of our patio chairs. I called the Front Desk and was told that Engineering would replace it. This was never done so we reported it to the Manager as we checked out and he gave a nonchalant excuse that left a bad taste in our mouths. It was apparent that the Manager was merely covering his rear end. Now, aren't you glad that you asked for our opinion?!! The only saving grace was the beauty of the Cove and our view of it. At nearly $200.00 per night, it was NOT a great experience or exchange for the exorbitant fee for a stay in the Fall.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Rialto

Great view from an awful room!

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
The view is phenomenal, and the neighborhood is great, but this place is a dump. If you have the money to shop and eat in the La Jolla cove area, you won't like this hotel. This place needs a full demolition and rebuild.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels