Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice very close to the beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Great customer service, located in a very nice part of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Front Desk Agent Kaylee, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a quick review. I am so glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us! We will be doing many renovations to update our hotel within the next few months and would love for you to visit us after we are finished. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you visit the La Jolla area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate New York

Very disappointing stay

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything about the hotel needs to be improved.
Location: Location was okay, close to beach. La Jolla offers lots of restaurants and shops.
The La Jolla Inn was old and dirty. Carpet was dirty, bed sheets had holes, replacement sheets were stained, room had a bad odor, towel rack was broken, shower curtain fell down, wifi did not work, no place to park in order to get into hotel to register.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Consider other options

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: needs new carpet, bathroom fan repaired because it was WAY too loud, and connected to the light fixture.
The hotel is in a great location, but seems tired, and it's not updated. We needed an extra bed, which was a futon in an adjoining room. The AC in our room was broken, and when I called the front desk, they said, "Yes, we know it's broken, but if you turn on the AC in the adjoining room it should be cool enough." When I asked to move to another room, they said that they were sold out. It was still too warm in our room. I would not stay here again, and would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Would definitely stay again. Rooms outdated but quaint and clean. Walking distance to great restaurants shops, parks, ocean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Cons: Key didn't work, TV remote didn't work, A/C unit didn't work. Pros: Close to ocean, bathroom was clean, found parking directly outside my room. For my quick 5 hour stay it served the purpose but I'd never bring my wife there and claim it was a good choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Heather was wonderful very helpful

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The Ocean being so close and shops being close as well
Location: Picnic during the day or go shopping, Night go to different bars lined up outside along the sidewalks , Different types of retaurants for your taste
my experience was so nice, the employee I believe her name to be Heather, was so very nice and full of knowledge and answers. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again, soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Location: Birch Aquarium in town. 40 minutes to San Diego Safari Park or Zoo (in opposite directions). Fabulous gelato place nearby. La Dolce Vita Restaurant
This quaint, older hotel has a European feel, but does not provide luxurious accommodations. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both small, and the quality differed considerably. Definitely preferred the ocean-front room, which had been updated. There is no parking and, in the summer, in a resort town close to the beach, street parking was almost impossible to find. The parking garage costs about $20 daily. Positives include the view, being in the heart of the village, convenience to shops and restaurants, WiFi, having the Cove a short distance away and finding seals along the coast. The price was reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Smack dab in the middle of La Jolla

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to local establishments and the beach.
Cons: The entrance and front desk could be more inviting.
Location: Plenty of good restaurants - like Richard Walker's - and shops; the La Jolla Cove and beach are steps away from the hotel.
La Jolla Inn is a quaint little facility that does the job for overnighters in that beautiful town. The rooms are smaller. but sufficient. The staff is friendly and helpful. Just a short walk takes you to the beach or any of the numerous shops and eating establishments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Great location the 4th of July staff was great we will be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better places close to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2016
This motel is one block from the beach, and located within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants, and the staff was friendly. However, when I stayed in room #4, the wall A/C unit only worked for 30 seconds at a time, and if you sit more than a foot away from the unit all you felt was hot, stagnant, stale air. There is no ceiling fan to keep the air circulating. My wife and I were sweating all night. The bed was rock hard, and the exterior rooms are on a major street with a LOT of car noise and people walking by. I didn't feel very safe. Next time I'll pay the extra hundred dollars to stay at a better place.