Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort myers, fl

Decent hotel in great location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Small room, nice ocean view. Nice roof deck. Bed was not very comfortable, but the value for the money was excellent. Parking is FAR away, we found a garage on prospect past Hagen Daaz for $10/night and much closer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small room -- examine photos carefully

Posted Sep 20, 2016
I bought a basic room without view (number 23) on Expedia and was surprised at how small it was -- irregularly shaped and the size of a small storage room. There was not even room for a chair or small desk, so if you have work to do, you'll be doing it sitting on the edge of the bed and using the nightstand for a desk. The only place for the small refrigerator was in the closet. The bathroom was also cramped, the size of a closet, no room for clothes or toiletries. Although an accurate photo of a portion of the room was included with the Expedia room description, I felt misled because it was, firstly, not a photo of the entire room, and also because the numerous other photos on the main description page for the hotel were of larger rooms--which may be quite pleasant. All the photos were taken with a very wide-angle lens, which may tend to make them look larger than they are. Having said that, however, if you are seeking a room in close proximity to the La Jolla Cove/downtown village, this property may be a good value. And if you like the feel of a European pension, it may be even more to your liking. Upon checking in, I asked the night desk clerk for a room that wasn't so cramped. He said that my room was the only one available for the price I paid online. He offered to upgrade me for $50. This seems to be a common modus operandi among hotels that use Expedia to sell their least desirable rooms, and then offer the surprised guest a better room at a higher price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Nightmare come true

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Could not sleep at all. They were fixing the carpets in the second floor. Called the lobby and they said I could leave if I did not like the noise. In 29 years of traveling I have not had a worst experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la jolla, ca

Misrepresented room

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Site stated room slept 3 adults but when we arrived we were handed a twin air mattress, charged an extra 10$ for it, then had to squeeze it between the bed and the wall because there was only about 2ft or so around the bed and no where else in the room to put it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay stay near the water

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Cons: The door leading to the tiny non smoking balcony did not close all the way or lock.
Location: It's right next to the water and a nice park and pretty much everything is within walking distance.
The rooms are small but that is to be expected given the area. You can't smoke on your balcony or you are charged $250. I did not like that part. I am not a smoker, but I would like to have that freedom if I was.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: A lot
Location: See above
I was very disappointed in the first room they had reserved for me. I do not think the website is very accurate in describing heir "standard" room. They were able to "up-grade" me for an extra $40/night and that room was more than satisfactory, though expensive. The site does not tell you that parking is two blocks away and they charge an extra $20 per night to leave your car there over night. The hotel itself is in a convenient location for those wanting to hang out in La Jolla.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Foothill Ranch, CA

Excellent location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Nice staff
Cons: Hotel needs total remodel.
We have been to this hotel before and had a good experience so wanted to return. The conditions of the hotel was very old and the bed was the worst I have ever slept in. We let the front desk know that we were unhappy and they let us know that the hotel was going to be remodeled shortly. The hotel staff was very nice and sent us to their suite on the 3rd floor. This was an improvement for sure but still had issues with the bed, plumbing, etc. The location is excellent so hopefully they can get the hotel back on track soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M Town

Weird hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Parking is 2-3 blocks away in a parking garage then you have to walk back to the hotel. The swiper didn't even work. There's bars on the window. The bed was super uncomfortable. The shower was small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va

Nice hotel and nice view.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The hotel has everything and close to shopping, restaurant and the beach. We enjoyed to sit at the balcony to watch people. Thank you so much and hope to be back soon. Loan and Ted
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Front Desk Agent Kaylee, Hotel Management
Hello Loan and Ted, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our little gem of a hotel! We are glad to hear that you were able to get an immersive experience during your stay with us and in beautiful La Jolla. We will be doing many renovations to update our hotel within the next few months and would love for you to visit us after we are finished. We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you visit the La Jolla area! If you choose to stay with us, mention this review and we will give you a 10% discount off your next stay! Have a great day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
nice location though no parking. parking in garage nearby for $20/day. Loading zone at hotel. Room is clean m small fridge, tv, very nice ocean view