Ratings based on 1,513 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect setting right on beach.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
California style hotel with lots of character, a great staff, and location. Would go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, very friendly. Perfect location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, hiking, kayaking, biking, restaurants, golfing and swimming.
Loved LA Jolla, beautiful beaches, town, lots of activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Staff is very helpful. Restaurant on site is quite good. Super clean accommodations. Can't beat the location, right on the beach, also close to other restaurants & shopping. Could hear the next room, noises easily heard from rowdy children, luckily that stopped by 10pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice location on beach

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice location right on the beach. Friendly people everywhere! Walking distance to shops and very nice restaurants!,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel on the beach at La Jolla Shores.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Oceanfront living with great sunsets and salt air freshness
Cons: Nada
Location: Close to the Shores village for different restaurants and kayaking/standup paddling. Primarily though, relaxing on the beach.
Due to time of year, very quiet, easy to get into restaurant, and towel, lounge chair on beach. I had an ocean front room with a great balcony and ocean sounds, salt air freshness. Large room with nice bathroom. Excellent room service and restaurant. I was completely refreshed on my 3 night stay on the water
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: The location is perfect! Right on the beach. It is in a quite little area of LaJolla. Had some cute little restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel was so clean and beautiful. It was right on the beach. We had a beachfront suite and I couldn't have been happier. We left the screen door open at night to the balcony and to lay there and listen to the waves of the ocean was absolutely wonderful. The hotel knew it was our anniversary and sent a bottle of Champagne to our room. I was so surprised and happy. Whenever we wanted to go to the beach, the hotel staff brought beach chairs, an umbrealla and towels for us and cleaned it all up when we were done. We had to used the laundry facilities to dry our swimsuits before flying home and I have never seen a hotel so clean. The laundry facilities were so clean, the parking garage looked like they mopped the floor. I was truly impressed by this hotel and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location but outdated rooms

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The location was great for both the water and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The hotel restaurant and lobby have been updated but the rooms have not. Bathrooms are very outdated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Right on the beach! Favorite hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Um, lots of things.
Cons: Some outer rooms lack nice furniture and seem frankly too rustic. Security needs to kick out partiers sooner.
Location: See above--right on the beach! What's not to love?
I'm going to make this short. Shout outs to Jenifer and Michael, who solved problems assertively and made me happy. Don't close up a room tightly after you've used carpet cleaning chemicals. Do kick out guests who need frequent security interventions before the third morning. You'll be treated like family at this hotel, and if you book a room facing the interior of the hotel and/or the beach, I feel you'll have a better experience. Great bed, linens, bath products, comfort and happiness everywhere. Fun pool. Great beach staff. We return year after year and will continue to do so. Plan to go paddleboarding. Walk yourself into town and eat at Puesto for world class tacos. Order a vegan pizza, delivered from Zpizza. No that's not a typo. Walk all the way down to the pier and beyond if the tide permits. Watch the sun set. Wander down to the lobby in the luxe spa robe you'll find in the closet and make yourself a personal cup of coffee with the Keurig in the morning. Again, my favorite hotel, always.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mini honeymoon

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Location of hotel was amazing. Seemed to be the only hotel ON the beach in La Jolla shores. Nice little town and only 1.5 miles to La Jolla cove.
Hotel was perfectly situated on the beach on La Jolla shores. Facilities were well kept and staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, TN

Sunset by the Pacific

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The La Jolla Shores has an exceptional hard working and friendly staff who do everything they can to make the guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: Many guests have no appreciation for the amount of work they create for the staff. There's an entitlement theme that prevails in a wealthy community.
Location: Great ocean side location within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. A car is not needed if you are only staying for a short time.
We love staying at the La Jolla Shores. We are return guests who spend a longer period than most to enjoy the location, views and amenities offered at this hotel. The beach access is certainly hard to beat as you are right at the Pacific. The hotel offers beach chairs, umbrella's and towels to use at the beach, pool and hot tub. The on site restaurant offers up tasty meals with a good selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is terrific! We can't say enough good things about the staff. During our stay, this sector of La Jolla suffered a complete power outage for approximately 5 hours. The staff did everything possible to create a good, safe environment for all the guests. Our room was clean and orderly with bathroom shower products available daily. The TV was a little small compared to other rooms, but we didn't watch it too much anyway. Because we were staying an extended amount of time, we had a kitchenette unit which was wonderful. The coffee maker and Starbucks coffee were great additions. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our balcony each day watching the scuba divers, surfers and beach activities at Kellogg Park, which is located right beside the hotel. This was our fourth extended stay visit at the Shores and we are already beginning to plan for our next visit.