Ratings based on 1,484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Right on the beach! Favorite hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Um, lots of things.
Cons: Some outer rooms lack nice furniture and seem frankly too rustic. Security needs to kick out partiers sooner.
Location: See above--right on the beach! What's not to love?
I'm going to make this short. Shout outs to Jenifer and Michael, who solved problems assertively and made me happy. Don't close up a room tightly after you've used carpet cleaning chemicals. Do kick out guests who need frequent security interventions before the third morning. You'll be treated like family at this hotel, and if you book a room facing the interior of the hotel and/or the beach, I feel you'll have a better experience. Great bed, linens, bath products, comfort and happiness everywhere. Fun pool. Great beach staff. We return year after year and will continue to do so. Plan to go paddleboarding. Walk yourself into town and eat at Puesto for world class tacos. Order a vegan pizza, delivered from Zpizza. No that's not a typo. Walk all the way down to the pier and beyond if the tide permits. Watch the sun set. Wander down to the lobby in the luxe spa robe you'll find in the closet and make yourself a personal cup of coffee with the Keurig in the morning. Again, my favorite hotel, always.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mini honeymoon

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Location of hotel was amazing. Seemed to be the only hotel ON the beach in La Jolla shores. Nice little town and only 1.5 miles to La Jolla cove.
Hotel was perfectly situated on the beach on La Jolla shores. Facilities were well kept and staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, TN

Sunset by the Pacific

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The La Jolla Shores has an exceptional hard working and friendly staff who do everything they can to make the guests stay as enjoyable as possible.
Cons: Many guests have no appreciation for the amount of work they create for the staff. There's an entitlement theme that prevails in a wealthy community.
Location: Great ocean side location within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. A car is not needed if you are only staying for a short time.
We love staying at the La Jolla Shores. We are return guests who spend a longer period than most to enjoy the location, views and amenities offered at this hotel. The beach access is certainly hard to beat as you are right at the Pacific. The hotel offers beach chairs, umbrella's and towels to use at the beach, pool and hot tub. The on site restaurant offers up tasty meals with a good selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is terrific! We can't say enough good things about the staff. During our stay, this sector of La Jolla suffered a complete power outage for approximately 5 hours. The staff did everything possible to create a good, safe environment for all the guests. Our room was clean and orderly with bathroom shower products available daily. The TV was a little small compared to other rooms, but we didn't watch it too much anyway. Because we were staying an extended amount of time, we had a kitchenette unit which was wonderful. The coffee maker and Starbucks coffee were great additions. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our balcony each day watching the scuba divers, surfers and beach activities at Kellogg Park, which is located right beside the hotel. This was our fourth extended stay visit at the Shores and we are already beginning to plan for our next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Charming older hotel right beside the beach

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The fact that it was right beside the beach and the charm of it being older. Also great shuttle service for free around La Jolla.
Cons: I think they could change the carpets. Otherwise everything was up to standard.
Location: The location was beside the beach and the best restaurants.
We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with everything. The hotel is older and not perfect but the charm and old style ambience more than compensate for that. The location is second to none. You will love being able to get up in the morning with a cup of their excellent coffee and wander down for a stroll on the beach or just lounge on the couches by the restaurant. Really possible to do without a car as everything you will need is within walking distance. In the evening the sunsets are beautiful. The hotel staff were all very helpful in every regard. I would not hesitate to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful spot with friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016
My husband and I stayed here at the end of our baby moon... it was a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, but my favorite part of the stay was the staff. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, they're the reason I'll want to come back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london uk

Lovely location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Better gym facilities or use of sister hotel next door golf/spa
Location: Location basically on the beach. Local restuarants and coffee shop (Brick and Bell) very good. Excellent cinema in village and wide range of shopping.
We have stayed here twice before and it is the great location that brings us back. Staff are friendly and always helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW Texas

Wonderful, quiet, and relaxing.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: This is the place to stay if you want a beach experience. Food was excellent. Walking distance to other casual dining, sports rentals.
Cons: Bed was a little too soft for me. Rooms could use updating, but fine for a beach side hotel.
Location: Lots of beach-oriented activities. Very nice park with equipment next to hotel. Family friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Great Hotel! Beautiful location right on the beach close to restaurants and kayak and bike tours. They are currently doing some needed maintenance but the hotel is already great and I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great service, cleaned room daily, friendly staff and employees.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best beach hotel ever! Kayak heaven!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
We loved this hotel and its location! Our room had a kitchen and an ocean view - Amazing! The only reason for a 4 out of 5 for condition was because our 1st room had electrical issues and we had to move. It is an older hotel so that is reasonable. The hotel handled it perfectly and made sure we were happy! Thank you!