Ratings based on 1,418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Great location. Only a few steps from the beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Overall this hotel was nice. The location made all the difference and a rental car isn't necessary. The rooms were clean however they need to replace mattresses as they are worn down and not too comfortable. The pillows are feather (if you like that kind you'll love them) but they were somewhat of a nuisance to try to sleep on. All the staff were great and friendly but on two occasions we were shorted cash on our change from the bill. It was only a few dollars but that doesn't make it ok and on TWO occasions none the less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff who were always on call. There was always a knowledgeable staff member at the main desk. The décor was attractive and well designed.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing.
Location: Location, location, location! The hotel is literally on the beach. Everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel. San Diego is 10 min.
When we arrived in La Jolla, I was immediately attracted to the intimate feel of the town. No chain stores, pleasant people, everything you would want. I was very surprised to find the excellent accommodations and décor of the hotel. The easy access to the beach and the many items that were included in the price were also an excellent deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: relaxing atmosphere,where surfers and kayakers hang. Close to UCSD with shuttle service .Perfect for conference at UCSD and watch the sunset after.
Location: nice restaurants walking distance. of course walk on the beach is always fabulous!
beautiful front ocean hotel. quick easy check in and very friendly staff. the building is old,but well maintained,with beautiful Spanish tiles. Not luxurious. It is a family friendly environment.So couples need to be aware that children are hanging around the pool. The beach is busy with kayakers, paddle boarders and occasional jet skiers. Shuttle service was excellent and very friendly drivers! Close to The Cave La Jolla Beach and to UCSD campus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandy, Utah

Family vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Amazing, wish I was there now! Staff was in point. Pool was perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Location is absolutely wonderful

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Room was not available to check in at 4pm. They stated they would call me when it was ready and did not. I was coming in hot from three days of camping and just desperately wanted to shower. Was slightly disappointed. Also breakfast prices are out of this world! However, the location of the hotel is absolutely prime and despite the minor issues listed above I would recommend staying here for some relaxing beach and pool time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

beach perfection

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Front desk friendliness and more than pleasant and willing to help... A+ Quaint and quiet ... Restaurant was exceptional!!! Shuttle great...
Cons: Not much at all...
Location: Great wAlking to restaurants and beach... Down town village shuttle wonderful. Scripps ocean antic museum shuttle ride.. The best""
Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing... Accommodations were great.. After a 7 hr car ride . Our room was Available early. We got a chance to check in early a get started on our vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Close to beach

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Hotel is clean however dated
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, Ca

Perfect location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Everything, location to beach, pool, jacuzzi
Location: Within walking distance are many restaurants and shops too. We stayed in the shores the entire time and loved it all.
Our family loved this vacation at La Jolla Shores hotel right on the beach. It was so comfortable and staff attention to details was super. We were sorry to leave and cant wait to return to this lovely place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Excellent location, reasonably priced.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Add minibar, better food at the restaurant.
Location: La Jolla cove and lots of restaurants and shops are about a mile away. Birch Aquarium is very close.
We had an excellent stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but have no minibar. Location is excellent, food from the restaurant isn't great. Love the beach in this part of La Jolla, and the fact that people are there from dusk til dark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dripping water on balcony made it unusable

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Onerall very good. Only problem was dripping water on balcony.