Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Had a great time with family

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Everything about the hotel was terrific. The hotel is located right on the perfect beach. Great spot to play in the waves with the kids. Access to prime location on the sand with beach towels, chairs and umbrella provided and set up by hotel staff. They really do a great job setting up an available location on the sand for you. And they are also responsible for cleaning up after you leave to enjoy your evening. My tip is to tip them well because they deserve it and because they are very helpful. In addition, this location is the perfect place to watch a beautiful sunset. My family had such a great time and we will be back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, beach, staff friendliness
Cons: The hotel needs renovation
The hotel is located perfectly on the beach with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The rooms and facilities are outdated, they didn't do practically anything since my last stay 5 years ago. The internet didn't work in our room for most of our stay but it did work outside, even on the beach. Overall it was a pleasant stay, but I wouldn't visit again until they renovate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right in front of the beach!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, location!
Cons: I guess it could use some updates, but no big deal.
Location: Decent food places and shops a block away. The fancy La Jolla cove area is a 2 minute drive away.
Quirky old hotel in a super location! The rooms were fine and we had a little balcony to hang out on in the mornings. The beach location is fantastic and they offer beach chairs and umbrellas, which was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Great hotel with an awesome location.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and took care of everything you needed.
Location: The location is great! Right on the beach and close to La Jolla Cove. Plenty of restaurants and a small convenient store right down the street.
Stayed at La Jolla Shores Hotel for a week and it was amazing. The location was perfect, there was enough to do just in La Jolla/La Jolla Shores. Close to downtown San Diego. We had an ocean front room on the first floor, it was quiet and low key. The room was very nice and well maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Comfortable and close to the beach

Posted Aug 28, 2016
For the price, accommodations and distance from the beach, you can't beat it. We had a great vacation and loved every minute of our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Great location. Only a few steps from the beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Overall this hotel was nice. The location made all the difference and a rental car isn't necessary. The rooms were clean however they need to replace mattresses as they are worn down and not too comfortable. The pillows are feather (if you like that kind you'll love them) but they were somewhat of a nuisance to try to sleep on. All the staff were great and friendly but on two occasions we were shorted cash on our change from the bill. It was only a few dollars but that doesn't make it ok and on TWO occasions none the less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff who were always on call. There was always a knowledgeable staff member at the main desk. The décor was attractive and well designed.
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing.
Location: Location, location, location! The hotel is literally on the beach. Everything you need is within walking distance of the hotel. San Diego is 10 min.
When we arrived in La Jolla, I was immediately attracted to the intimate feel of the town. No chain stores, pleasant people, everything you would want. I was very surprised to find the excellent accommodations and décor of the hotel. The easy access to the beach and the many items that were included in the price were also an excellent deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: relaxing atmosphere,where surfers and kayakers hang. Close to UCSD with shuttle service .Perfect for conference at UCSD and watch the sunset after.
Location: nice restaurants walking distance. of course walk on the beach is always fabulous!
beautiful front ocean hotel. quick easy check in and very friendly staff. the building is old,but well maintained,with beautiful Spanish tiles. Not luxurious. It is a family friendly environment.So couples need to be aware that children are hanging around the pool. The beach is busy with kayakers, paddle boarders and occasional jet skiers. Shuttle service was excellent and very friendly drivers! Close to The Cave La Jolla Beach and to UCSD campus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandy, Utah

Family vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Amazing, wish I was there now! Staff was in point. Pool was perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Location is absolutely wonderful

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Room was not available to check in at 4pm. They stated they would call me when it was ready and did not. I was coming in hot from three days of camping and just desperately wanted to shower. Was slightly disappointed. Also breakfast prices are out of this world! However, the location of the hotel is absolutely prime and despite the minor issues listed above I would recommend staying here for some relaxing beach and pool time.