Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown close to beach and harbor

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Stay was comfortable but they have an ant problem. There were ants in our bathroom behind the toilet and coming from the shower spout and on/off handle. Breakfast was decent but ended too early IMHO - 6:30 - 9:30. When we first got into the room, we noticed there wasn't any soaps of any kind in the bathroom. Had to find the cleaning service to get some. At first she didn't believe me until I showed her.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surprise, AZ

No reason to stay anywhere else but here

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: What's not to like?
Cons: They need to rethink the breakfast buffet -- reconstituted scrambled egg-like product, microwaved bacon-like product, and biscuits/gravy don't cut it.
Location: Within walking distance of Amtrak and downtown (but a healthy walk); In-N-Out Burger across the street;
La Quinta has got to be the happiest secret in all of Oceanside. Consistently good -- I've stayed here six times now, I think, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Very personable staff. Very clean. Comfortable room. Plenty of hot water in the shower. But ask for a room on the south side of the building and on an upper floor -- cell phone reception is spotty on the first floor (including the lobby) and noise comes in from the parking lot on the north side if you have the window open. Computer terminal in the lobby is free and they let you print your airline boarding pass on the printer in the back office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Edgar Gaytan- GM, Hotel Management
Thank you Alex for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you've returned several times to our property. It reaffirms that my entire team, is providing the best guest experience for our guests. Any suggestions for breakfast, I am all ears. Generally we get rave reviews from all of our guests about our breakfast. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give us your feedback. We'll see you again soon. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel walking distance to the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Clean. Everything was kept up very well. Looked like new paint throughout the hotel. In-n-out right across the street. Walking distance to the beach and Oceanside pier si you don't have to search and pay for parking. Good breakfast: waffles, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, cereal and fruit. Very friendly staff. It's the perfect hotel for a quick, cheaper getaway to the beach. They even had inexpensive washers and dryers available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Edgar Gaytan-GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you took advantage of everything our hotel and location has to offer. The In-n-Out across the way has definitely become a staff favorite for lunch! Our breakfast has a great variety, which one of my personal favorites is using the chocolate chips in my waffle batter(so delicious)! Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We'll see you again, the next time you're in Oceanside. Best Regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Lots of ants all over the room. Not very clean. Staff not very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Edgar-GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will look into the issues mentioned above. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, clean and close to the beach!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
La Quinta was a great and affordable choice for staying in Oceanside. Rooms were good sized, breakfast was great and hotel staff was amazing. Location was excellent close to beach and not far from restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Edgar- GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear about your stay with us. Our stay works hard to give our guests, the best possible experience. I will pass along the kind words to my entire staff at our next meeting. We all hope to see you again soon. Best Regards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Summer trip

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Oceanside is s quaint little beach town.. We were visiting because of a soccer tournament...but we liked that it was a small hotel. Very clean and the staff is wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Legoland visit

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Housekeeping two way radios were loud and woke us up. Hallway traffic is noisy (not the hotels fault). Parents allowed their children to scream while running down the hall. Only two complaints preventing a perfect score.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by Edgar- GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I appreciate the feedback from all of our guests. I will speak with housekeeping in regards to the volume of their radios. I apologize if that caused any inconvenience during your stay. Unfortunately we cannot control the parenting of ones child. Being that is is summer time and a lot of travelers are on vacation, one can expect human nature to take over. Hopefully we left an impression as such that we'll see you again at our property. Best regards and I hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

great experience

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: it was clean.
Cons: The bacon could have been made a little more crisp.
Location: close to the metro link train. walking distance to beach and marina and many small restaurants around that we could walk to.
The staff was very helpful and kind. The Breakfast was good and just enough. this hotel is close to the marina .we were able to walk there using the bike trail. we would come back to this hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Edgar- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Stephanie for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very glad to hear that you had a great experience here with us. I will be passing on the kind words to my staff and we hope to see you again with us soon. Best Regards!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Stayed for 3 nights while my son played in a Lacrosse tournament. Hotel was very nice. Clean, comfy beds, nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Edgar- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear about your experience with us. Hopefully we see you again for the next Lacrosse tournament. I'm sure your son, his team, came out as champions! Best Regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating! We'll see you again soon! Best Regards.