Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fading Glory

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The location in the heart of La Jolla was wonderful. The restaurant had great views. It was a wonderful place for breakfast.
Cons: The condition of the room was pretty blah. The carpet looked like it hadn't been changed out in many years. The electrical socket was broken and hanging out of the wall. The shower was really wonky and had to be monkeyed with in order to get to turn on. The bathroom vanity had water damage near the shower. The whole room looked like there was some maintenance that needed to be done.
Location: There are some really great restaurants to walk to (Puesto being one of them) and a great gelato place across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful breakfast, but sorry that you encountered problems with the room. La V, will be celebrating her 90th anniversary in December and at times we do have challenges with plumbing. We do try to be ahead of any situations, however is sounds like we drop the ball with your room. I am glad you still had a nice time in La Jolla and hope you will give us another chance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas, US

La Valencia Hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: VIEW.... get an ocean view - when you book request a balcony.. there are only a few.. we lucked out and asked at check-in and was much nicer... not big enough to walk on but to open doors for view and air. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Great location to the restaurants, shops in La Jolla... walking distance to everything. They had a piano bar with almost nightly entertainment as well as a singer/guitarist in the cafe outside area which was fun.
Cons: The elevator broke on the second day and never got fixed. They did offer to move us down... the person at desk lead us to believe it could be fixed tomorrow, tomorrow... so we kept thinking it would be fixed the next day. When we complained to the manager 5 days later we were advised that it was not going to be fixed during our stay at all- It is old and they had to actually have the part made that broke. They did however, give us some compensation... but would have preferred to have the elevator. The Med restaurant diner was a bomb.. boring dining room and my scallops were cold cold. My spouses dinner was good... waitress never came back to check in time for me to have it fixed... my spouse was almost done with his dinner... we never ate there again. Cafe LaRue on the other hand was nice... good service and the two meals we had there were delicious.
Location: A lot of good restaurants. Very disappointed in the shopping. Quite a few chain stores, the boutiques were boring and very pricy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Jan, Thank you for taking time to post your review. Yes, we too love the Juliet balconies, and wish all of our rooms had one. Sorry to hear you had a disappointing dinner, and slow server. We are addressing the issues of enough servers for THE MED. The elevator was certainly a huge challenge for the hotel the week you were here. We did believe it would be fixed the next day and the next day and then they had to order a part which did take a week to have installed. I am very sorry that this inconvenience happened while you were here. She is all fixed and happy to be running again. We do hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to La Jolla
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, no, exquisite!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room was incredibly comfortable and didn't miss a thing! Luxurious! I was sorry I didn't take a picture! The staff was very thoughtful and kind and would do anything for you to make your visit a good experience. I loved our bartender in that beautiful room with the breathtaking view. Best table in the house!
Cons: That I couldn't stay longer!!!! I'm in the Hospitality Industry and am very critical about where I stay. This place was 5 star & more in my book.
Location: Lots to see in La Jolla but you may not want to wander away from the hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear Lady Pamela, Thank you for your incredible review. We love hearing these comments. I will be sure to share with our team as it is always the Team that will allow you to enjoy your experience in a La Valencia way. We can't wait for your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Review

Posted Oct 20, 2016
The hotel was quite lovely, and the staff was amazing. I'm in the hospitality industry and I know how difficult it is to keep the staff motivated. However, the fact that the elevator was not working, and was treated so matter of factly is unacceptable. I witnessed 60 and 70 yo people struggling up and down the stairs, and I climbed up from the 4th to the 9th and felt like I was having a heart attack. The hotel should have done something to makeup for this fairly major thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hi Anastasia, Thank you for posting your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and staff. I will share your comments as we too think we have an amazing team. I am sorry that you were here when we had major problems with the elevator. While we are celebrating our 90th Anniversary this year, at times La V does show her age. We do have the elevator back in service. It was a difficult time, as the beauty or our location does not give us access to most or our rooms without stairs or an elevator. We did relocate many that had difficulties with stairs to our wing which did have a working elevator. Thank you again for taking time to post your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to La Jolla.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but needs renovating

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room interior and cleanliness
Location: Location is great! You are in the center of La Jolla and can just walk out of the hotel to all the shops and restaurants. Great views!
The actual hotel is nice and is historic but we felt it needed to be renovated. The room was musty smelling and needed deep cleaning. The elevator broke down twice in a matter of 4 days. The hotel staff were phenomenal! Everyone was very professional, accommodating and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous on Expedia, Thank you for taking time for this review. I am sorry to hear that you had a cleanliness issue while you were here. We do take pride in our staff and the phenomenal work that they do. Cleanliness, is not something we hear, but we have plans in place to assure this does not happen again. I am happy that you did have such an enjoyable time and for posting the great photos. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

First rate

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of great shopping and dining
Beautiful hotel on the water. Friendly staff, great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello HM, Thanks for taking the time to add your comments. We love for others to enjoy our Beautiful Hotel. I am happy to share your comments. See you soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the perfect La Jolla location!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Great access to the La Jolla cliffs and downtown La Jolla.
Beautiful and charming historic property with great views! We were served by one of the best Concierges I have ever seen... Nancy was warm, intelligent, and absolutely amazing! Thank you to La Valencia and especially to Nancy for making our trip so special!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous on Expedia, Thanks for the great comments, I will be sure to let Nancy know- we too love her as she is the Best! So glad you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again. Michele
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel, well maintained!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The dinner at the MED was fantastic. Our server was great!! Can't beat that sunset with the fabulous food! Loved waking up to the sound of the ocean in the morning...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thanks for the 5 Stars- We love hearing from our guests. You have great photos, again many thanks for sharing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Love love love this hotel from the views to rooms to service. I can say enough how happy we were and how amazing and charming this hotel is. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Everything was great ..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Fabulous location, close to beach, restaurants, shopping all within walking distance. Hotel and facilities absolutely beautiful. Had pleasure of attending a wedding at the hotel. Staff were incredible!!! Would return to LA Valencia in a heartbeat. 💓💓💓