Ratings based on 973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Amazing old-fashioned hotel with beautiful views

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Can't beat La Valencia. I have stayed there 4 times in the last 3 years, and have enjoyed each experience. The views are incredible, the food is delicious, and the location is perfect for everything around La Jolla. The staff is helpful, respectful, and always willing to do anything they can to make your stay more enjoyable. The housekeeping staff go above and beyond. The rooms are small, but you don't notice due to the light and views. Can't recommend La V enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Very well located hotel. Great views. Some areas a little dated, but still nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Older, charming, waterfront hotel w amazing staft

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Staff.Christine Melendez at the front desk was the best. She even called my room after checkin to make sure everything was to expectation.
Cons: New bathroom hardware. Open the terrace restaurant earlier.
Location: Lovely. Great strip of shops and restaurants.
The staff stole the show, from the valet to check-in to everyone else, including the restaurant staff. The shower was clogged and the bathroom hardware wonky and loose. The water pressure was low. A 2 inch bug ran through the bathroom floor, but to be fair, I had the window cracked open all day. Fail for the bathroom area. The shampoo/soap/lotions were great - makes a difference. Bed was comfy and loved the different pillow choices - soft, medium and firm! Great alcohol selection too, thought I did not partake.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel right on the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Loved our stay at the Valencia, gorgeous hotel right on the beach. We stayed in the King suite with ocean view however our room was pretty small and tight. Bed mattress could've been a little more comfortable. Room was however very clean and the hotel staff throughout the resort were incredible. I will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I loved the hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Everything except the one incident.
Location: Loved it.
Great hotel. Only thing when we got there, room wasn't ready so we went in restaurant and had a glass of wine and some cheese and paid for it. When I left I noticed they doubled charged me and charged that to my room before we were checked in. So I am out 82.00. But the hotel was beautiful and we loved the stay except for that incident.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Great location. Hotel needs renovations. Room excessively small. Not ideal for couples. Too many families. Service is friendly but slow. Priced for location but otherwise overpriced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the location in the heart of the cove Frien

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Check in was quick, restaurant food and service was excellent. Pool service excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful boutique hotel overlooking the ocean.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The view, the restaurant, the large rooms, the ambiance.
Cons: Not as clean as it could be. Bath linen needs replacement. Housekeeping staff needs to be more vigilant in checking to see that everything works.
Location: La Jolla is terrific fun. Close to the beach. Lots of galleries, shops, restaurants. Nice walk along the walkway above the ocean.
Large, comfortable rooms, but only a few with water views (at significantly higher rates), so book carefully. The staff is wonderful, as is the food and ambiance, but the hotel seems a little tired. Bathroom linen needs replacement, and we has some repair issues, although they were taken care of immediately. Wonderful location right off downtown La Jolla and convenient to all attractions. Pricey!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside , CA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Beautiful Hotel with a great location and view of the ocean. Very friendly staff. Service was exceptional. Love the history behind the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A breath of fresh air

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: We loved the amazing staff and the little touches that are so often missing in today's chain hotels like good fluffy towels, & free newspapers
Cons: The elevator was too small for our son's wheelchair
I have stayed in hundreds of hotels on four continents and this ranks as one of my favourites. This is largely due to the fabulous staff who couldn't be more helpful or friendly.