Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portlan, or

Fading glory

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Nice location and clearly a grand hotel at one time but the facility is in need of a makeover. The street it sits on also seems to have an alarming number of empty storefronts. The room and if you were both lovely. Our biggest complaint was with the service. There was generally no one at the pool to help with cushions or set up. It was also very spotty service for in room dining or pool dining
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, United States of America

Ocean views

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Old building. Not very many options in Lajolla, so best choice for the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Que Lindo La Valencia

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location beautiful gardens
Cons: Parking is difficult
Location: The cave tour at La Jolla, San Diego Zoo, wind surfing.
La Valencia Hotel looks just like the photos amazing, great location! Everything was perfect right on the beach at La Jolla Cove. Nice pool great food in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Nostalgic

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very easy access to La Jolla village shops, flat easy access to breathtaking beach/park walks, Many Beach animals, beautiful Xmas decor, Friendly local-born painter, Bob, painting on beach walk with very reasonable $ of La scenes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great boutique, historical, beach-view hotel/spa!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, style, friendly staff, close to beach and restaurants, room size, the beds, linen, room furniture/layout etc.
Cons: Building likely needs to be checked for mold/drainage to fix the smell in at least some of the rooms
Most things about the hotel were great, valet service, friendly staff, old world feel and comfort.. Disappointments: 1. My room (and I suspect many rooms) had a stale moldy smell. They try to mask it with air-fresheners (in my case I had to ask for a spray) but without that the room and bathroom had a rotting sickly sweet smell due to bad drains/mold. So, this really needs to be fixed if I were to go there again. 2. Restaurant had great views. Service was middle-of-the road and food (only ate breakfast) did not taste very fresh
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Enchanting environment.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Everything is perfection.
Cons: The compleat experince was without flaw.
Location: La Valencia is positioned in a location utterly dripping with intrigues of various delight from lustful views and walks to dinner.
When I close my eyes and remember the truly elegant La Valencia it makes me feel as though I exist somewhere full of intrigue and safety, another place in time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Kristen, Thanks for taking time to write your review. So happy to hear that you had such and enchanting experience. Hope to see you on your next visit to La Jolla.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfection

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: The views, the food and the walking, hiking, swimming, a must.
La Jolla is the pearl of San Diego and La Valencia is the jewel of La Jolla.. Go there for comfortable elegance around every corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear Cole Wallace, Thank you for your great review! There are so many great things to do while staying here at La V. Photos are beautiful- Thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Looking out over the Pacific.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: That is an older, regal hotel right over the Cove.
Location: My husband drove around La Jolla while I was at my conference. He liked the neighborhood and found a great dinner spot, Dukes.
I love the view and the hotel has great ambiance. I was attending a conference at another La Jolla hotel, but we opted to stay at the Valencia. Much better experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Mary Alice, So happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience here at La V. We agree we do have a spectacular view. Hope to see you, before your next conference. Thank you for posting your comments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The location and room service/staff
Great hotel. Vintage style. Staff was great and accommodating. Room service was excellent. Great location. Close to many great attractions: San Diego Zoo, Torrey Pines, The Coast/Ocean, easy drive to downtown San Diego. Hotel itself is surrounded by shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thanks for your great review. We are very proud of our staff and love to hear comments like yours. Looking forward to your return visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Check in at 4:00 is too late.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel and setting
Cons: 4 PM check in is too late. They also charge $30 extra if you request a roll away bed.
Beautiful hotel and setting. We were there for a wedding that started at 4 in the afternoon but the hotel won't guarantee check in before 4:00. We had flown in from another state to attend the wedding and it took 3 phones calls to get someone to agree to have our room ready for check in a little earlier so we could get to the wedding on time. Disappointing and frustrating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Michele, Hotel Management
Hello Virginia C, Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear your agree we have a beautiful hotel with amazing views. Our 4pm check in, is by design to help alleviate disappointment for our guests. With check out at 12 noon, it does take until 4pm for our housekeeping staff to get all of the rooms cleaned and ready for check in. Sounds like we did get you in a little early, so I am happy we could assist you.