Ratings based on 1,055 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

The view is amazing!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Loved the location, the view, the helpful staff.
Cons: It is expensive - I would look for a special rate to come back.
Location: Walking along the Cove and the coast is awesome; restaurants and shopping in La Jolla are very nice. Hiking on the trails at Torrey Pines is excellent
This hotel oozes history and the staff is very attentive and helpful. This was a "special" event getaway weekend for us and it was truly special. The view from our room of La Jolla Cove and the coastline was amazing. Very convenient to walk to shopping, restaurants, the Cove and the sea lions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Great room view & locale

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Had a great time. The hotel staff was very welcoming & accomodated all our needs. Older hotel built into the side of a cliff. Had a partial ocean view but was welcome sight to wake up to. Very close to the beach & running trails. Plenty of shopping & restaurants nearby. Easy to drive to downtown San Diego. Would highly recommend the La Valencia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

La Facade Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Upon arrival the room given had a very strong, foul odor. Called the reception desk and we got moved to another room. This next room was freezing cold! The thermostat wasn't working and it kept blowing cold air. Called reception and they offered heaters. Absolutely not! After some back and forth, now nearly and hour of waiting around, we got the 3rd room for the night. The key cards didn't work and the bed wasn't made. At this point it was late and we were extremely tired. Housekeeping came and "cleaned" up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding Factory

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This hotel is a wedding factory past it's glory days. If you want to constantly hear drunk girls cheering, the constant noise from d.j.'s and pushed out of the way or be asked to move by wedding lanners so that photos can be taken, this is the lace for you if not, don't stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Architecture and upkeep of the grounds. Pool and Jacuzzi were outstanding. Live music in the bar lobby with a nice view of the pacific. Food was good.
Cons: Hotel did not offer movies in the room, just basic television. Some of the grounds surrounding the hotel could use some attention.
Location: We felt the location was outstanding, within walking distance of good dining and shopping, not to mention the great morning walks along the coastline.
My wife and I enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary in beautiful La Jolla at the La Valencia Hotel. Right in the heart of town. Great view of the pacific and within walking distance for dining and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel . Great view

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Great location. Great view. Great caring staff. Easy valet service. Love the nightly entertainment. Unfortunately,the standard King room is really small. The bathroom is even smaller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall installations-love that hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I stayed for one day but I just love that hotel. The staff has a high quality of costumer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel in a Perfect Spot

Posted Jan 11, 2017
After a few nights of disappointing accommodations through San Diego, our stay at La Valencia was incredibly refreshing and comfortable. From the moment we pulled up to check-in, we knew that it would be a great place. The hotel itself is beautiful with a classic Spanish charm, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the room was cozy and nicely decorated. We had a great view of the ocean from our room, and we enjoyed walking around the grounds of the hotel and to the restaurants and shops nearby. Overall, it was a great experience, and we will definitely stay at La Valencia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Great location! Lovely Stay

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Passing through on our way to Malibu and stayed one night. Fabulous location! Staff was wonderful! Had a lovely stay! Would recommend it and we'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmontom,AB

Beautiful view

Posted Dec 10, 2016
A very nice hotel. Excellent location in La Jolla. Very friendly staff and beautiful view from my room