Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very good location. Close to everything. Its just the room looks a little outdated and our bathroom smelled really bad. Then later on we figured out that the smell is from shower certain. Its not worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Ray, Thank you for your feedback and your 4 Stars - I have alerted our front office and housekeeping of your feedback - please know that we are constantly caring for the property and our guests. Being so coastal and close to the ocean, we constantly refresh the rooms and amenities - my apology if during your stay your room did not seem fresh. I hope that you shared this with our team to address on property? I will of course as well - we need constant feedback to be the Best. I hope that you do return for a second visit, and let us wow you. Best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel restaurant

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel staff were terrific! The location and the views were fantastic. The rooms could use some extra seating. We were very disappointed in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner one evening and the food was terrible. My wife had the seafood special, the portions were small and inedible. I had a mystery pasta that was not very appetizing. We sat at the front outside patio our last night. My wife ordered a drink that she had to return, it was undrinkable. I ordered a coffee that was cold when I got it. We sat next to a couple at the pool one day, they ordered a hamburger but didn't eat it because it was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 4 starsand comments on staff and views - truly we work hard to exceed expectations. I see the restaurant experience as an extraordinary step from what our standard is and I have share the exact details with our Food & Beverage Director and Chef, as well as Restaurant Managers. Your comments and experience are not our norm and completely unacceptable - I do so hope that we can lure you back to La V and allow us to wow you with a new experience, a new memory of our culinary expertise. Please do ask for me, I would love to meet you in person and thank you for posting this review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I dont prefer to recommend this hotel. If you want to stay with unclean room and bad service, choose it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied- I wish that our Front Office had been alerted so that we could have fixed immediately, as your review is not our standard experience.. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff! Great location! Look forward t going back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Rita ~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5 Stars! We look forward to your return as well - beautiful La Valencia is first and foremost service and hospitality - but of course our location perched above the Pacific Ocean is an amazing plus to provide. Thank you again, your review is very much appreciated and I will share with our staff! See you soon,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Beach,Shops and Cafes

Posted Apr 5, 2017
From the moment we arrive the staff was all over it. Parking our vehicle ,helping with luggage and getting checked in. Checkin was 4:00 pm we arrived early around 3:15. So our front desk staff was helpful letting us know rooms were available but not our room. We sat in the bar overlooking the ocean and of course it was beautiful. At 4:00 I went back to the front desk and the staff again said we have rooms available but she was trying to get us a better view. I told her to just give us a room that is ready. We went to our room on the 10 th floor and as we opened the door the first impression was what a small sized room. The view from our window was a partial view of the ocean but still breathtaking. We were ready to eat so we walked to a Sushi restaurant ate and after we walked the sidewalks to view all the Shops ,Cafes and ended up walking along the beach. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you very much for sharing your great review - and all of the wonderful comments about our staff and service, we strive for 5 out of 5! The Hotel was joyously full with Friday activity of guests arrivals, and enjoying the view and cocktail in our ocean view La Sala is an extraordinary experience. For your next visit we will try even harder to earn that 5th star - our team is genuinely committed that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Libertyville, Illinois

Beautiful historic hotel with a outstanding view.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: the view and architecture
Location: In the heart of La Jolla, close to San Diego. We hiked in Torry Pines, kayaked on the ocean and tried a variety of great restaurants.
This hotel makes you want to stay and enjoy the view and beautiful features of the hotel. Right on the ocean you can walk down to see wild life on the shore. Good size room with extra room for a twin bed, since we have 5 in our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Rita ~ Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Kristl, Thank you very much for sharing your great review we love to hear what your experience was like - and hopefully upon your next visit you will give us 5 our of 5 Stars!. Our team is genuinely thrilled to know that La Valencia continues to make magic moments for our guests. Our location is indeed unbeatable! We hope to share more special memories with you in the future. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Nice hotel, very elegant. Close to the beach and main shops in La Jolla.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Rita ~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thankyou for the 5 out of 5 stars! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - our location and service always win the day, as well as the unique beauty of the hotel, an iconic love of La Jolla and San Diego for over 9 decades. Thank you again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Lovely Casa. Beautiful ocean views from anywhere!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Lovely room. Lovely views, too.
We were only here from early afternoon until departing for the airport next morning, but what a lovely afternoon and evening we had. Loved the Casa and its balcony, the pool and hot tub area, the pub and the restaurants!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Rita ~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you Sandy for your 5 out of 5 Stars! I have to admit that we adore all of the hotel amenities you mentioned as well, and we strive to insure that each guest experience is filled with great enjoyment and wonderful memories. Our only regret is that you had so little time with us, come visit again soon and stay a little longer - we'll continue to Wow. Thank you again for your review, we do so appreciate it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Excellent hotel with beautiful tile work and great ocean views excellent food and great location!! My wife and I will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Rita ~Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for you 5 out of 5 Stars! We happen to agree on the dramatic location as well as our culinary team - young, creative, artists. We'll see you soon, and schedule a tour of the hotel - and how the tile and murals tell a story. Thank you again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Character hotel in the centre of the resort

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The staff are very friendly and proud of their hotel, they aim to please and succeed in doing so.
Cons: The hotel needs to keep the software on the 2 computers in the business centre up to date and the printer connection needs improving.
Location: La Jolla resort is a town without a purpose, you can shop for jewels, buy realty, watch the sea lions and pelicans, you can get wed and that's it.
La Valencia is built in a traditional style, quirky and full of character. At the back the hotel overlooks the ocean with magnificent views from the dining room and terrace. At the front the street level lobby turns out to be on the 7th level but the lift only goes down to level 4 (it's quirky). As you might expect in a building this old the plumbing is .. well quirky. Don't expect to get really cold water in your overhead fixed shower, the preset dial produces a range of temperatures from tepid to hot, but what you feel is what you get. The hotel does a roaring trade as a wedding and conference venue, with at least 2 weddings on our Saturday, so don't expect too much quiet time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Rita, Hotel Management
Dear Phillip, Thank you so much for taking the time to offer us your experience feedback - so valuable and so appreciated. Thank you for mentioning our service culture - we strive to make everyone feel special and at home. Thanks for the printer and computer note, I have already passed that on to our IT department - top priority. La Jolla and the Iconic La V are individualists, as beloved for our amazing setting and panoramic ocean views, we are a bit unique and yes - the lobby is street level, but actually our 7th floor as we are literally cut into the cliffs overlooking the La Jolla Cove. In a boutique setting, there is sometimes quite a bit o activity - for relaxation and quiet I find our sunsets to be such a dramatic moment - that I stop in my tracks and everything fades away to the background. I do so hope that you will retun again, allow us to earn that 5th star! I love the title of your review - and I will admit, I am going to use that as it does describe the Hotel so well - Character hotel in the centre of the resort.......visit us again soon! Thanks again, Rita ~ Director of Sales