Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful boutique hotel overlooking the ocean.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The view, the restaurant, the large rooms, the ambiance.
Cons: Not as clean as it could be. Bath linen needs replacement. Housekeeping staff needs to be more vigilant in checking to see that everything works.
Location: La Jolla is terrific fun. Close to the beach. Lots of galleries, shops, restaurants. Nice walk along the walkway above the ocean.
Large, comfortable rooms, but only a few with water views (at significantly higher rates), so book carefully. The staff is wonderful, as is the food and ambiance, but the hotel seems a little tired. Bathroom linen needs replacement, and we has some repair issues, although they were taken care of immediately. Wonderful location right off downtown La Jolla and convenient to all attractions. Pricey!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside , CA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Beautiful Hotel with a great location and view of the ocean. Very friendly staff. Service was exceptional. Love the history behind the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A breath of fresh air

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: We loved the amazing staff and the little touches that are so often missing in today's chain hotels like good fluffy towels, & free newspapers
Cons: The elevator was too small for our son's wheelchair
I have stayed in hundreds of hotels on four continents and this ranks as one of my favourites. This is largely due to the fabulous staff who couldn't be more helpful or friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Santa Fe, CA

Wonderful room overlooking the beach

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Location: We ate at George's at the Cove, since it was our anniversary, but dining at the hotel looked very good, too.
We had a room on the 11th floor, overlooking the beach, with the sounds of surf in the background. The staff was excellent in helping us find parking (not the expensive parking that they provide) which was easier than some nights, since this was a Tuesday night that we stayed there for our anniversary. The rooms are old (hotel is 90 years old) but the bedding was great, and the staff was terrific.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California born World traveling Texan

Views, Views,Views!

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Great place for a romantic weekend. The view of La Jolla cove from the room is priceless. Only disappointment was the room service food , but eating on the balcony made up for it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Comfy clean elegant close to the beach. The best combo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, charming style and atmosphere.
Cons: Bathrooms are small, need more outlets.
Location: Great location, much within walking distance. Close to the beach. Ocean views.
Best hotel in La Jolla. Great service, close to many things. Nice restaurants with great ocean views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

We had a lovely time!

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: It was very quaint and the staff was fantastic. The restaurants were terrific as well.
Cons: A shower door.
Location: The location was perfect.
We really did enjoy our stay, however, even though we had a view of the ocean, the rest of the view was kind of nasty-a rooftop with bird mess and the view of people below on their deck. I do not believe that we had a king size bed in our room, it was more like a queen. We did pay for the king size bed, it makes me wonder if we really got the room we reserved. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. Aside from the fact that it is tiny, there is no shower door-it made for a mini flood every time we showered. All in all we were quite pleased. The view was a real "dislike" for us. The hotel seemed far from full capacity, I would think there was a better room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2016
Excellent stay. Staff went out of their way to accommodate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY,NY

Beautiful,historic hotel with up to date amenities

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the ocean,historic significance and the maintenance of its image.
Cons: Just keep doing what they are doing.
Location: Underwater Park,great restaurants and galleries all within walking distance of the Hotel. San Diego Zoo,museums and downtown a short drive away.
From the time we arrived until checkout we were made to feel at home. Very relaxing....great staff...great atmosphere...great food and beverage....etc.,etc.,etc.