Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, no, exquisite!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room was incredibly comfortable and didn't miss a thing! Luxurious! I was sorry I didn't take a picture! The staff was very thoughtful and kind and would do anything for you to make your visit a good experience. I loved our bartender in that beautiful room with the breathtaking view. Best table in the house!
Cons: That I couldn't stay longer!!!! I'm in the Hospitality Industry and am very critical about where I stay. This place was 5 star & more in my book.
Location: Lots to see in La Jolla but you may not want to wander away from the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US


Posted Oct 20, 2016
The hotel was quite lovely, and the staff was amazing. I'm in the hospitality industry and I know how difficult it is to keep the staff motivated. However, the fact that the elevator was not working, and was treated so matter of factly is unacceptable. I witnessed 60 and 70 yo people struggling up and down the stairs, and I climbed up from the 4th to the 9th and felt like I was having a heart attack. The hotel should have done something to makeup for this fairly major thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but needs renovating

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Room interior and cleanliness
Location: Location is great! You are in the center of La Jolla and can just walk out of the hotel to all the shops and restaurants. Great views!
The actual hotel is nice and is historic but we felt it needed to be renovated. The room was musty smelling and needed deep cleaning. The elevator broke down twice in a matter of 4 days. The hotel staff were phenomenal! Everyone was very professional, accommodating and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

First rate

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of great shopping and dining
Beautiful hotel on the water. Friendly staff, great service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in the perfect La Jolla location!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Great access to the La Jolla cliffs and downtown La Jolla.
Beautiful and charming historic property with great views! We were served by one of the best Concierges I have ever seen... Nancy was warm, intelligent, and absolutely amazing! Thank you to La Valencia and especially to Nancy for making our trip so special!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel, well maintained!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The dinner at the MED was fantastic. Our server was great!! Can't beat that sunset with the fabulous food! Loved waking up to the sound of the ocean in the morning...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 25, 2016
Love love love this hotel from the views to rooms to service. I can say enough how happy we were and how amazing and charming this hotel is. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Everything was great ..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Fabulous location, close to beach, restaurants, shopping all within walking distance. Hotel and facilities absolutely beautiful. Had pleasure of attending a wedding at the hotel. Staff were incredible!!! Would return to LA Valencia in a heartbeat. 💓💓💓
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Terrible hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
At first they gave us a room where no human being should be ever living at all. It had a massive conditioners on the roof next to the windows which created huge noise and terrible flour vibration in the room (not to mention absence of any view). We have 3 small children and they still offered us this room. In my opinion that space wasn't livable at all but they try to find humble people who wouldn't complain. They knew the problem and changed the room when we rejected to accept it. In the other room we had cockroaches living with us. I don't think any other details matter after this. I should mention however that they probably know how bad things are as they have a very nice lady in the office who calls all the time and checks if all you requests are satisfied. She is very nice and tries to mitigate the overall feeling but this is all in vain when one desperately wants profit without spending
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful surprise , loved it. Loved the location,

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Loved our room. Best bed I've slept in! Food was amazing n wonderful service!