Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Architecture and upkeep of the grounds. Pool and Jacuzzi were outstanding. Live music in the bar lobby with a nice view of the pacific. Food was good.
Cons: Hotel did not offer movies in the room, just basic television. Some of the grounds surrounding the hotel could use some attention.
Location: We felt the location was outstanding, within walking distance of good dining and shopping, not to mention the great morning walks along the coastline.
My wife and I enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary in beautiful La Jolla at the La Valencia Hotel. Right in the heart of town. Great view of the pacific and within walking distance for dining and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel . Great view

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Great location. Great view. Great caring staff. Easy valet service. Love the nightly entertainment. Unfortunately,the standard King room is really small. The bathroom is even smaller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall installations-love that hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I stayed for one day but I just love that hotel. The staff has a high quality of costumer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel in a Perfect Spot

Posted Jan 11, 2017
After a few nights of disappointing accommodations through San Diego, our stay at La Valencia was incredibly refreshing and comfortable. From the moment we pulled up to check-in, we knew that it would be a great place. The hotel itself is beautiful with a classic Spanish charm, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and the room was cozy and nicely decorated. We had a great view of the ocean from our room, and we enjoyed walking around the grounds of the hotel and to the restaurants and shops nearby. Overall, it was a great experience, and we will definitely stay at La Valencia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Great location! Lovely Stay

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Passing through on our way to Malibu and stayed one night. Fabulous location! Staff was wonderful! Had a lovely stay! Would recommend it and we'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmontom,AB

Beautiful view

Posted Dec 10, 2016
A very nice hotel. Excellent location in La Jolla. Very friendly staff and beautiful view from my room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice small hotel with great staff but...

Posted Dec 9, 2016
AC was broken. Would only blow hot air. Room was so hot on check in and room would not cool down. Matience dude came 3 times never offered to switch rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The ambiance and views of the ocean
Cons: Not a thing. Please don't ruin a good thing.
Location: La Jolla is considered "the Jewel" and it lives up to its name. Wonderful restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. Well worth the expense.
Beautiful Spanish architect hotel with stunning views of the Pacific. Could not have asked for better treatment by the entire staff.They put us in one of the villas, which are large and beautifully decorated. We held our wedding rehearsal dinner at the La Valencia and wanted to return to stay close to the church where we were married. We had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
When we arrived we were greeted as if we were VIP's. Service was quick, friendly and staff was knowledgeable. Our room was adorable and had an amazing view! The only drawback was the size of the bathroom. Pretty compact. The housekeeping staff was top-notch and the bar had delicious drinks. And last but certainly not least- the valet staff was amazing too! Overall wonderful stay!!! We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

You can't find a better hotel in La Jolla.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were all excellent. They would bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the middle of everything. You can't get any better. We will definitely be back.
Beautiful, older hotel with lots of charm. Lovely room with beautiful view of the Pacific. We felt like movie stars.