Ratings based on 760 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great relaxed resort

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: brilliant
Very glad we chose Coronado as a location and the marriott was the right choice, refurbished recently the rooms are comfortable and spacious with great views of the city/bridge. Fitness facilities are top notch pool area lovely and food/drink pretty good. We loved the fact that we were in a city but being on Coronado in a low level resort made us truly feel on holiday after 5 days in Disneyland. Receptionist that checked us in was very accomodating and went out of her way to make our request for an interconnecting room happen. My only negative is the Air COnditioning was quite noisy for a new system and that we could hear the people walking around above us ( at 4am). this would be my hotel of choice if I visited San Diego again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location, good amenities, great staff

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Alex, Concierge, was incredibly helpful & wonderful! My husband & I had a great 4 day & 3 night stay! Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as I expected

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Fire alarm went off at 2am first night. Never heard from anybody. Shower heads didn't work independently so no strong pressure. Broken lounges at pool and not enough umbrellas. Valet brought up wrong car when we were leaving.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

NIce hotel with a super biew

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Stayed 2 nights at this convenient hotel. Spa was nice but the workout facility was subpar. Very smelly and leaking ceiling made for a less than great workout. Needs upgrade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colleyville TX

Wonderful Anniversary Getaway!

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Marriott has every amenity that you could want and it is not stuffy at all! The people are very friendly!
Location: Bike rentals and water rentals and restaurants are all close by.
We came to Coronado for our anniversary and had the most wonderful stay! The first night we came back to our room and the staff had sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! What an awesome way to start our trip! The hotel is lovely with firepits and a multitude of places to sit and enjoy the beautiful views! The free summer shuttle picks up every 15 minutes outside of the Marriott to take you to every great Coronado location. We have a wonderful room with balcony and an even more lovely entire stay at Marriott. We will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice, newly renovated rooms.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location and room (except for notes above).
Cons: Elevators were terrible (condition and speed). General maintenance.
Location: Ferry area with restaurants and little shops. Lots of bike paths.
Check in was ok but the desk clerk sent us to the wrong end of the hotel and at this hotel that was a hike. Elevators were old and extremely slow. Lots of obvious maintenance items. Room itself was newly renovated and was quite nice. Every morning when we woke up the AC was showing heat and trying to get to 70 where we had the thermostat set. Room was 66 degrees and the only way I could get the fan to shut off was to turn the temperature down to 66 where it thought it was satisfied. Second morning the same thing. I mentioned this to the staff and they said maintenance would be up to check on it. Next morning same thing. When I went to the FD the clerk said he would get someone to talk to me. Tom, head of maintenance came up and explained that their boilers for heating were down and they were trying to get them back up. Finally worked on the 4th morning. No heat for 3 days and nothing said to staff or guests??? Exhaust didn't work--maintenance said their spare motor didn't work either. Printer in business center wouldn't work. Location is great, pool area nice. Just needs work -- not what I would expect from a Marriott.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort on the bay in San Diego.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Our room was very tastefully decorated, appointed and comfortable. Great poolside experience, outdoor restaurant, great bathroom lighting.
Cons: The newly decorated room was great with one exception, the bedside lighting was too dim. No reading at night. Some outdoor garden areas need rehab.
Location: Easy walk to a few nice restaurants and tourist type of shopping. The view is pleasing, but south view is less interesting....more industrial.
The staff at this location were exceptional. Helpful, professional and happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic stay will definitely come back again

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Quite, great for family
Cons: Front desk (Danielle) can be more helpful
Location: Within walking distance to ferry landing, you can do bike ride, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. Coronado is very clean and family friendly
We were placed in the newly renovated room, very nice, clean and overlooking the water. Conveniently located not far from ferry landing which is only 5 minutes walk, a lot of nice restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Wonderful rooms and great dining
Cons: I hate that hotels are now charging so much for internet and parking. Most Marriott properties are excessive with these charges.
We stayed here for a couples weekend and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and we both had a wonderful night sleep. Our patio overlooked the bay and the SD skyline, a perfect spot to relax in the evening and have breakfast in the morning. We ordered room service for breakfast every morning. Every meal we had was superb. The breakfast sausage was phenomenal and the pancakes divine, some of the best I've ever had. Even my poached eggs were cooked perfectly. This hotel is in close proximity to the Coronado Hotel, an easy bike ride or long walk. There are many dining options around the hotel as well as a great restaurant in the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will stay here everytime we come to Coronado Island.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels