Ratings based on 1,170 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very nice rooms and in a good location. Still under construction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

good location, nice hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Good location, nice restaurant, excellent staff!
Cons: New iron/ironing board. DirecTV was really low resolution; upgrade to HD. Shower needed updating.
Location: Easy walk to Gaslamp. Nice little mom and pop restaruants/cafes around.
Nice location, just a few minute walk to the heart of the gaslamp. Hotel itself was updated, modern and clean. Staff was by far the most helpful welcoming that I've ever seen in a hotel (and I've stayed at a ton of hotels!). Slightly overpriced, but if you are getting reimbursed for business, I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel stay

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very good hotel staff friendly. Near gaslamp area. Parking a bit tight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 17, 2016
While the general/public amenities were great (pool, gym, etc.), the condition of the room could use some work. The sliding doors to the bathroom were noisy and difficult to move. One of the beds was situated directly in front of an air vent - I think I got sick as a result of sleeping in front of it for so long. A hair was present on one of the towels during initial check-in. The staff were completely disorganized and management was poor. I called ahead of time to put down names of roommates only to have them turned away when they arrived. Even when I physically arrived to put down names, this was still an issue. They kept giving us incorrect information regarding complementary bottled water. Overall, I think the two top concerns are the air vents in the suites and poor staff communication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Don't let some of the reviews scare you. The hotel is perfectly fine and the staff is very accommodating. When I first got into my hotel room I could hear every time the elevator was going up and down but when I requested to be moved to a different room they were happy to do so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Staff wasn't too friendly. They absolutely stereotype. They treated the Caucasian couple 100 percent better then my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Great location, great room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The location, the room was beautiful,
Cons: The elevators need work and I didn't like the staff coming up to you and trying to sell you on a time share.
Location: Gaslamp was a couple blocks away as well as target and it's pretty close to breweries, the beach. Great location
Great location, beautiful room with beautiful amenities. I was worried about the rennovatons but I can honestly say I hardly saw them and it didn't affect my stay at all. The only thing that may need work is the elevators. But I loved the hotel, the bar, the room. I'll definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price is right

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Price was right, hotel is going thru renovation so periodically we heard some hammering ect. We rented a non renovated room at the right price. We had a choice reno or non reno for about $100 dollars diff per night. Pool was nice, walking dist was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ga

Good overnight stay

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: The location was near eateries. Walking distance easily.
The room was modern and clean. Comfortable setting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Bed Bugs

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Had a kind suite and it looked ANAZING! But upon closer inspection, I found a few bedbugs walking across the clean white bed sheets... Obviously, I got out of there very quickly and informed the staff. They were very helpful and gave me another room. Unfortunately, I found evidence of bed bug stool on the sheets, so I ended up just leaving and getting a refund. I really hope the (whole) hotel gets exhumed and rid themselves of those things! Travelers bring it with them all the time and it's up to the hotel to be on top of that.