Ratings based on 3,758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Located at a convenient place

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room needs
Stay was very disappointing due tot he following reasons. 1. AC was not working at all - too old to function properly 2. The room was smelly 3. The washbasin was not properly attached with the wall. I saw small bugs coming out of the slot 4. Room TV was as old as the rest of the furniture 5. After a night I asked the staff to do something about the AC. She responded that she could send someone to repair it. I requested her to change my room. She asked me to pay more as the new room was big and had a functioning AC. The new room was lot better - had a good AC, relatively big, good flat screen TV 6. There was no refrigerator in any of the rooms - but they never mentioned it in room accessories - fine to me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Hotel was near beach, but run down, dirty and date

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice and accommodating
Cons: updating the hotel, at least paint the wall there filthy.
Location: the beach is near by which is nice and it is close to sea world also
The staff was wonderful! I call ahead of time to ask for a ground floor nonsmoking room. they made notes and there was no hassles what so ever.Our hotel room was filthy so we asked for another and they let us choose between a larger room and a suite. The larger room was clean and much nicer than the room that we currently had. The suite was huge and smelled like mildew. we choose the larger room. despite the staff being wonderful I'll never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

A Below Average Hotel Experience

Posted Aug 20, 2016
It began with a bored look and no smiles on the faces of those at the desk. The location is, of course, great, because it is in Hotel Circle in San Diego, however, the rooms were very disappointing. First, I needed "high speed Internet" as advertised. When I got into my first room, it took minutes for the Internet to even load my browser! I asked for another room -- the same. We tried another room -- the same! Finally, we found a disabled access room ( much smaller with a smaller bed, no desk, no dresser, with an old TV [not flat screen] which had to be operated manually FIRST, then you could navigate channels). Although mostly clean, everything was very old and needed replacing. The only ice machine I could ever find was FAR away from my room. When I needed to iron clothes, the board opened, but did not close. I called, requested another one and said I would leave the board outside because I had so little room to leave it up in the room. It stayed outside for at least 24 hours, and I never received another one, not even a call to tell me why. I have had much better experiences at Super 8's. This hotel is called Mission Valley Resort and Spa -- it is anything but!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Lovely experience, shady housekeepers

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The hotel grounds were great. Very clean and everything accessible. The restaurant and store on site made things very easy. The housekeeper used her key to bust in our room a few times, once it wasn't even time to clean. That wasn't lovely. Overall I would recommend the property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We didn't like the room. It wasn't clean and the room looks very old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Asked for a non smoking room. I informed the front clerk about smoke smell in room and said "its a non smoking room maybe the person before you ignored the no smoking rule." She was rude and said I have no more available rooms I can request and air freshener for your room. Very unprofessional. The appearance of the room was horrible. Don't recommend staying at hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Intranquila

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Muy buena ubicación, pero no estuvo limpio. El restaurant rico. Estacionamiento El baño no muy cómodo Muebles viejos, con poco lugar para acomodar ropa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrales Motel in Flughafennähe

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Preisleistung absolut okay! Ist kein Luxus, kann man für diesen Preis aber auch nicht erwarten. Nettes Diner dabei. Die Leute sind sehr freundlich!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe Arizona

Horrible Mystery Deal

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Close to my daughter's place
Cons: Tear down the building and start fresh. Or at the very least scrub the walls and repaint.
Location: Good location, plenty of good places to eat like the Waffle Spot
This was my first experience with Expedia and i was none too pleased with it thats for sure. I purchased the mystery deal and once I gave my cc info I was then given the name of the place we would be staying. Being the avid Yelper that i am I looked it up to see how it was and I seriously I don't know how Expedia can have anything to do with this place. I wish I was given an option to change and pay more for a room that was nicer and somewhere else. But I had no choice, I did not want to forfeit my hard earned money since I wasn't able to cancel and get a refund or change the deal that I got from these mystery deals. So we came prepared. I brought a gallon of distilled white vinegar and eucalyptus essential oil for my diffuser, my own towels, blankets, and house shoes. The room was clean enough but smelt bad, like the musty and old building it was and there was a smell coming from the restroom that was sewer like. The linens and towels were clean but we still opted to use ours, housekeeping was accommodating, and luckily no cockroaches, paint was peeling everywhere, the walls were dirty, there was some weird board behind the tv with exposed nails which I am assuming was an old built in entertainment center that they were just too lazy to remove. Overall experience..we survived but barely lol seriously though we just felt so yucky and dirty after and oh goodness that bathrooms sewer smell still haunts us. I will be thinking long and hard about ever using Expedia again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: I will not recommend Expedia or this hotel.
Horrible experience all around. When we booked this hotel it stated it was a 3 Star Hotel but it was not even close to a 1 star. The rooms were in deplorable condition. Dirty floors and bathrooms. The stench was horrible. The air conditioning went out in one of the rooms I rented and all the staff did was to bring a fan. We had to sleep with the windows open. Staff said they could not help because this was a room rented through Expedia. We asked for a credit and were told to talk to Expedia about this. In addition, my credit card was charged in full prior to even checking into the hotel - I was never advised of this. We will never use Expedia or rent in that hotel.