Ratings based on 4,214 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Most the staff is awesome with the exception of a few staff including the Front end supervisor which in my opinion failed to provide good or even fair customer service that Id expect from any type of business establishment. I felt and left a very unappreciated customer because of there poor quality in customer service not to mention there attention to detail in cleanliness and care to up keep or deliver what they advertise..
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The hotel was decent for the price we paid

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel itself is a little rugged. It wasn't bad for the price we paid. The first evening we were there took two request and about an hour to get some towels for the pool area. Then the next day cable service was out throughout the whole property. Then the little radio that was in the room was also broke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trash

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel is old and it sucks, they still have the block tv's. The rooms are dirty. I went to the office to get another room bc in my room there was bad issues and their was 4 other people complaining for the same things
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Sometimes I great deal isn't worth it!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Well.....at least I didn't see any bed bugs or any other bugs except a small spider crawling on my bathroom floor. White clean towels and sheets.
Cons: EVERYTHING ABOUT THE ROOM!!! REALLY!
Location: Very convenient central location....seemed close to everything! Took me only 10 or 15 minutes to get anywhere. Plenty of parking.
Check-in was nice and quick...staff very pleasant...BUT...ROOM WAS THE WORST! Gum stuck in green old badly stained carpeting, didn't even want to step on it without shoes. TV was one of those old old box TVs that I couldn't get to work. No where to pjug my phone charger into. Some of the lighting didn't work, the hairdryer didn't even work. Weird small low toilet where the water level came up too high...gross problem if you're a guy sitting on it. The whole place was so so dated...gross. Car Alarm went off right behind my room for long time in the middle of the night. Then people yelling outside my door and then heard cop car siren little later. I went out and checked on my car several times. I moved it under a light post. I don't think I ever fell asleep...and had an early 8 AM appointment...so by the time 5 AM rolled around I just got up and tried to shower. The worst shower head that was too low and barely rinsed me off. What a waste of money! SPEND $10 MORE AND GET A DECENT ROOM!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dismal place ready for a bulldozer.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Maybe they could find a gallon of paint somewhere or have the abandoned RV towed away.
Location: San Diego is close by. That's fun, just don't tell anyone you're staying at the Mission Valley Resort. They'll pity you.
Your first indication of doom is the blue plastic tarps attached to every roof to prevent leaks. The weeds are overtaking what is left of the grass. Walls are falling down, lights hang out of their sockets and our bathroom appeared to have been used as a cage for an animal with sharp claws.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego,Ca

Wedding Prep OK.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: close to my destination, wedding venue.
Cons: staff attitude, cleanliness, hotel makeover needed
booked about 5 rooms for the weekend of my wedding, okay rooms but definitely needs and update.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Location is very conveniently located to freeway and zoo, beach but rooms are very run down, not very clean and staff was quite unfriendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We didn't pay a lot for this hotel but.....I would have expected the garbage from the previous guests to have been removed. Rooms were more or less clean but room door hard to open. Safe enough but wouldn't be my first choice for future bookings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice location, but outdated

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It is located to many attractions including shopping malls, Balboa park and Seaport village. And cheap price. But, the facility is outdated and noisy. Im the evening, around 9pm, Housekeeping staff, 2 guys, tried to come in my room with their master key! I locked the door with safety lock, otherwise they would come in at night, even though I did not ask any service!!!! It really scared me and i could not go out in the evening. I called the frontdesk to complain, but they are not aware what is happening. Next morning, i went to the frontdesk to find out the reason why they came in, but the morning staff said she dis not get any report from the evening staff! It scared me again!! This hotel is cheap, but, i would recommand u to find Super 8 or Motel 6. At least, u can be safe at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful experience

Posted Apr 11, 2017
From the start of our check in we were given a room that someone was already in. When given a new key the key did not work. We had to ask for towels every day we were there(I mean there was no towels at all!). Also some one was given our room ad tried to enter at midnight. No one seemed to care. I do not usually write review but felt I need to warn people to not stay here.