Ratings based on 4,170 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Outdated smelly room with with beds that need replacing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sd

Old hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The woman that checked me in was not a very happy person she needs to find another job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cheap

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Hotel is nice, but the internet is terrible and the hotel staff are not nice..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Horrible hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The pictures are deceiving. The room looked dirty & smelled funny. There were stains & burns on the carpet & walls. The toilet leaked water. We had no cold water in shower, which I guess is better than not having hot water. I'd rather stay at a motel 6 than staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great hotel...in 1980

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: location, staff, pool
Cons: Ummmm... invest about a million dollars in renovations
Location: Old Town is 5 minutes, Balboa Park is about 10 minutes, Ocean Beach is about 10 minutes, Seaport Village is about 15 minutes...
Thank goodness for the friendly, responsive staff. Otherwise this would have been a one-star experience. Believe the reviews that indicate this is a run-down, tired property. Several decades ago, this was likely a really neat place. However, nothing has been done since then. The mattresses were worn out, the carpet had burn marks, the paint was peeling... you get the idea. However, the staff was awesome, the pool was well-maintained, and the location was great. The coffee shop and market on-property were also decent. If you are cheap with low standards, this is your place. If you have a little more to spend, do it somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
They cancel my reservation because they don't hav
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: It is Located right in the middle of town. Quick drive to Mission Beach, quick to Downtown, quick to the airport, close to dinning.
Cons: house keeping comes rather late, and during this stay they did not give me towels and i had to call twice for house keeping to finally bring them.
Location: shopping, dinning, beach, everything is really close
I have stayed at this hotel many times.This time was a good stay like all the others. I was able to check in at about 1130am, which was really nice since my flight came in at 9am. I like having the litte corner store right there, so i dont have to drive anywhere or go far if i want to just grab a water or something to munch on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The rooms where dirty. Especially the bathroom. We had no light for almost a whole day. We didn't get no clean towels, when they cleaned the room. Not a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Conveniently located

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Met my needs. Parking was free and located right by room. Bathroom condition was not the best. The hotel is old and sprawling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Deferred Maintenance.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Cheap and central location
Cons: Needs a remodel, or basic cosmetic fixes - paint, new carpet, tv.
Location: Near UCSD Medical, short walk to mall, movie theater, cheap cab ride to Balboa Park or downtown
Large dated property that is in sore need of a remodel. Bathroom light fixture takes 4 bulbs, one was burned out and one was missing a light blub. Dresser had two drawers, one of which had no handles and was broken. In room safe didn't work. The TV was an old tube model that would come on to channel 22 every time you turned it on. You then have to manually dial it to channel 3 to get the cable to work - I had to call the front desk to get this tip.Roof leaked in heavy rain.