Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Was a really great motel. I would come back and stay, it was also affordable. Really clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from California

Diamond in the rough.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Clean. Modern. Friendly staff. Breakfast.
I've stayed here twice now within a two-week period. My second visit I was "welcomed back." The woman really did remember me. The proprietors live on-site next to the main office. No frills rooms. CLEAN and modern on the inside. You'd never know it from the exterior. Both visits it appeared they were full, and I understand why. Don't let the phenomenal rate fool you. This place is highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Motel Mediteran. We put a lot of work and dedication into our motel and to hear that you enjoyed it is very rewarding. I thank you for your stay and hope you get another chance to stay with us again. -Best Reards, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

good quality, clean, inexpensive motel.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Cons: during recent stay, front door deadbolt did not work, and there was bad odor from sink when shower/tub was used--probably a drain vent problem
I've stayed here 3 times in past year. Clean, quality, inexpensive motel. During January 2017 stay, front door deadbolt did not work, and there was bad odor from sink when shower/tub was used--probably a drain vent problem
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Sangi, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sadden to hear about the inconvenience you had and will definitely look into them. I thank you for your stay and hope you give us another chance to serve you again so we could show you what Motel Mediteran has to offer. -Sincerely, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

The location is good, near #15.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Location: In Escondido is a wonderful Safari Zoo we enjoy attending. This is one of 2 zoos; the other is in Balboa Park, near downtown San Diego.
We've stayed at this motel for 10 yrs., June and Christmas. It's 20 min away from our family, and #15. The owners are friendly and accomodating. If we're lacking something, they see to it to get it for us. We appreciate a cup of coffee and a danish in the am before heading off to our family in San Diego. In the evening there is hot water in the lobby, so I can have a cup of tea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about our hotel. We are always more than happy to help our guest and to hear that we were able to do so is very rewarding. We offer breakfast from 7 to 9 and we have coffee and water all day. We are very glad to have you guys as our regular guests and hope we keep it that way. Thank you for your stay and hope to see you soon. -Sincerely Sangi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escondido

A few Final Nights in Escondido

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean and well appointed. It was obvious that the management is dedicated to putting a very good product out.
Cons: This 60.00 room is equal to some 250.00 rooms we have staid in.
Location: Location is central, but not much to do in walking distance. Motel is great as a north county driving hub.
We sold our house and had to stay in a motel for a few days because our furniture had been picked up. We had seen this motel for the 26 years we were living in the area and didn't think much of it. It was a great find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review about our motel. We put in so much effort into our hotel and to hear your appreciation means the world to us. I am indeed very grateful you found us and hope you get another chance to stay with us when you come back to town. -Best Regards, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico,ca

Nice hotel,close to safari park and downtown

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet and nice view of citrus trees from rooms not facing the parking lot.
Cons: typical cheap breakfast in lobby.My wife is handicapped and bed was way to high for her to ease in.
Location: Good choice of restaurants nearby and away from freeway noise. within 5 miles of safari park also.
enjoyed the closeness to down town and safari park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad you were able to enjoy the view with the citrus trees. For our breakfast we offer more than what any other hotels do. We serve bagels, toast, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, danish, orange juice, coffee, waffles, fruits, and yogurt. We also do have a handicapped room all you need to do is request it. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you get another chance to stay with us again. -Best Regards, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colonie, United States of America

Small room but comfy and clean.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Homemade waffles for breakfast. Couldn't get cell phone signal in my room but got it right outside of room. Good wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. The homemade waffles are the most liked item on our breakfast so I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy them. It is very uncommon to hear that our guests did not get signal inside the rooms so I am very sorry about the inconvenience. We thank you for your stay and hope you get another chance to stay with us. -Best Regards, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Nice basic hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Descent breakfast in lobby. Cold OJ, cold cereal, fruit, muffins, danish and hot coffee. Belgium Waffles are fresh and awesome. Room was basic and adequate. No frills and inexpensive. Clean linens and towels. Nice flat screen TV with cable and WiFi. Only negative was the ac/heater unit. Crazy loud and according to my smart phone decibel meter average 60 - 70 decibels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
I value your comments and want to thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you appreciated the breakfast we provided. We put a lot of work on our rooms and to hear your appreciation is very rewarding. I am sorry to hear that the ac was loud and will let maintenance know about it.Thank you for your stay and I hope you get another chance to stay with us again. -Best Regards, Sangi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good quality for a low price

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Check-in was quick and easy. Room was inexpensive. Parking was a bit tight for a large pickup, but no big deal. Room w/2 queen beds was spacious enough, had a fridge and microwave. Nice TV with plenty of channels. Major problem: the entry door had some damage to the weather strip, big enough that a mouse could come through. Note: there were no problems with mice or other pests, just the hole. Quibbles: the counter in the sink was higher than normal. No big deal, just odd. The shower did not have a place to set soap, shampoo. Other than that, room, service, price were great. I did not try the continental breakfast, but it looked OK when we passed through. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Your review is very important to us since it informs us in what areas we need to work on. We are sorry about the issues you were facing and will let maintenance know about the entry door. We are very glad we were able to at least provide great service and great rooms. It is very unfortunate you were not able to try breakfast since we provide a variety of options to choose from. We thank you for your stay and look forward to seeing you again. -Best Regards, Sangi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in Escondido

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Coffee make in the room. Workout facility
Location: Safari park is close.
Super clean and well maintained room. Quiet with friendly staff. The only a couple of negatives. No coffee maker in the room but there is a well provisioned breakfast you can get coffee at. Bring a travel mug! Breakfast starts at 7 am. I'm an early riser so having to wait for coffee was a bit of a drag. There are no exercise facilities on site, if you are not a fitness fanatic then this will not impact you. Overall a nice, quiet, clean and inexpensive place to stay. I would stay and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Sangi, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel it is very mush appreciated. We try our best to provide clean rooms and hearing your feedback is very rewarding. Even though we do not have coffee makers in the room you are more than welcome to come to the office and get coffee when ever you would like. We do not provide any exercise facilities, however there are 2 gyms less than 5 minutes away. We thank you for your stay and hope to see you in the future. -Best Regards, Sangi