Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent hotel. thank you expedia

Posted Jul 25, 2016
excellent hotel. thank you expediaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great location and view

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Location: Great location, great views, excellent restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We parked and never used our car until we were leaving.
Pros - Beautiful ocean view, clean, great location - easy walk to many great restaurants and the beach! Cons - very little storage - one small dresser and one small wardrobe, small bathroom, undersized air conditioning unit, and the worst part - the hotel is not completely smoke-free. We had a common balcony with the room next to us that was separated by only a few painted wooden railing. They smoked, as did the unit directly below us ... we do not. I have a medical condition that is aggravated by cigarette smoke. Hence, we were forced to keep our balcony door and windows shut at all time and depend on the undersized air conditioning unit that did not keep us cool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill

Flashback to the 70's.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
If you are looking for a luxury resort and spa, this isn't it. If you are looking for an authentic 60's, 70's SoCal beach experience, this is the place! The location is steps to the beach. We had a view of the pier, the surfers and the nightlife. The room and bathroom were tiny but looked to have been remodeled. We were on the third floor and there is no elevator. Dogs allowed on beach after 6:00 pm. My husband loved this place and said he would go back in a minute.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is awesome!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location is awesome! Steps away from the beach and lots of choices for eating within walking distance. The little eating area in the center of the hotel was very pretty with a great view of the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange County, Ca

Nice hotel close to beach and restaurants

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Took teenage son for a 1 night stay close to beach. Great restaurants nearby. Best of all cross the street which was not a busy street and you are at the beach. I will difenetly be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good beach location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel is in the heart of beach action. Parking is provided but very tight. Love the courtyard. Felt secure despite the large amounts of homeless.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington Tx

Not fancy..but everything you need.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Great views...nice courtyard...20 steps from the beach! Love the area around the hotel..everything you need in walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casa Grande, A

Lovely three days in Ocean Beach!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The best part of the Hotel is the location, just across the street from the beach!
Cons: While we were there this time the ice machine was out of service. In the three days it was not repaired. They need to be a faster at responding.
Location: Out the front door and to the right for a great breakfast. I am bad with names but, it is the first place you come too.
When you arrive at Ocean Beach Hotel at first you think what have I done? But with it's location, right across the street from the beach on Newport St., you know you haven't made a mistake by selecting the OBH. The hotel is old but well maintained and they were upgrading the rooms on the ground floor during our stay. New furniture, etc. The rooms are in line with an old hotel, not large and extravagant, but enough room for a good nights sleep, a balcony to watch the ocean and visitors to Newport St., clean, and well maintained. In five minutes you are on the beach, in ten minutes you are walking the pier, and in minutes you are walking the shop and restaurants of OB. Arriving on Wednesday is always fun because there is the Farmer's Market in the street. Vendors selling their wares, great food, a variety of specialty booths, and live music. It is a great atmosphere to start a visit of the area. And all starts at the base of the street at the Ocean Beach Hotel. The staff is warm and ready to assist you with your every need, from recommending a place to eat to suggesting sights to see while in San Diego. This was my second stay at the OBH and I will most certainly be going back. There are many great places to spend and evening dinning and if you get tired, go back to your room and sit on the balcony and watch the people go by and the waves roll in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun time

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We booked this hotel at the last moment for a little getaway with the family. I LOVE how close this hotel was to the beach and all restaurants. I had a great time. Nice little place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Newport avenue full of good restuarants, shops. Enjoyed the courtyard with potted plants and fountain. No elevator, stairs only. Highly recommend booking a room with the balcony and view of the OB pier south of the hotel