Ratings based on 967 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High River, Alberta Canada

Across the street from the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Amenities
Clean and friendly hotel. Great location, right at the edge of all the action of Ocean Beach and right across the street from the ocean. Great view of the pier. Everything you need is in walking distance. The hotel lacked amenities, no coffee pot or microwave in room, only a fridge. Bathroom is small as is the room. You come here for the ocean and charm of Ocean Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pomona ca

loved the room

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: the view was amazing
Cons: the restroom needs an update peeling paint rusty showerhead
Location: Amazing view of the ocean just a few steps from the water the area has great resturants and stores
This hotel was great loved it the view was beautiful and the price is reasonable not over priced rooms were beautiful the restroom can use an update being that the paint was peeling off and showerhead was very old but other then that loved the room and location totally staying here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, ca.

It was amazing. Location was perfect. Very quiet.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The area is full of good restaurants and shopping. A long pier for a nice walk, street fair-Farmers market on Wednesday afternoon. The sounds of the surf through my window. Just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O, San Francisco

Very close to the beach. great location!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The sounds of the waves put me to sleep. There is a very long pier a few steps away. Little shops and restaurants within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balcony rooms have incredible views

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Best location in Ocean Beach
Cons: Ice and vending (stocked) on every floor
Let me start by saying that the room was really clean, bed was comfortable and the view was incredible. Now for the reality, no elevator, so it is a lug your luggage up kind a place. Room was much smaller than pictures show (2 people max in the queen with a balcony). A wine cooler does not replace a refrigerator and no microwave. Ocean Beach is a community and not a tourist area. You can't get to the others beaches without transportation. Because it is a beach community, the homeless are afoot at all times. They are not aggressive but their presences is known. Yes I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to surf as the waves are awesome but this is not a beach for really walking for pleasure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close walking distance to beach, shopping & dining

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Close to ocean
Cons: Shower lacked pressure
Location: Newbeach coffee shop had delicious coffee and food
Clean rooms, thin walls, average comfort for beds and pillows. Frig was nice to have in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LV NV

Not bad for the price

Posted Feb 2, 2017
A little noisey very thin walls Great spot Good parking After market AC units kinda loud Bed to soft for my liking Desk clerk very efficient It's in an older residential neighborhood with very narrow streets Good businesses close by
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying to be close to the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2017
It was like being in two places at once. In the day it was so nice with the beach across the street. And many bars, restaurants and shops to go to. But at night the homeless were a problem. Harassing people as they walked by. I won't be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Cons: An effective and actionable noise policy. Heaters that don't cause aural damage. Clean rooms. Sufficient accoutrements in rooms.
I suspect the hotel chose the leaf-blower decibel AC/heating unit to try to mask the yelling and swearing that comes through the paper thin walls. We were woken nightly by yelled obscenities, arguing and loud music. When asked, the night staff member would go and try to quiet people down, but it was clearly ineffective. The bathroom was not clean, there were no extra blankets in the room and the deafening heater stopped working partway through one night. Would never stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Right close to the beach

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Room was ok bed was nice it was cold windy and raining when I was there the heat sorce in the room was not efficient enough to keep the room comfortable.