Ratings based on 1,912 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SOUTH CAROLINA

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMODATING STAFF.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: THE STAFF
Cons: IN ROOM REFRESHMENTS ARE TOO EXPENSIVE. $5.88 FOR A CANDY BAR.
Location: GASLAMP QUARTER. TRAM TO OLD TOWN AND SEAPORT VILLAGE IS RIGHT OUTSIDE. CONVENIENT !
EVERYONE WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL: DOORMAN, CONCIERGE, FRONT DESK, RESTAURANT MANAGER AND STAFF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Couldn't be better

Posted Jan 31, 2016
We were 6 couples that stayed in omni. It was amazing. From the checkin (which was smooth and easy- less than 3 min) to the concierge service to the hotel staff. Everyone was helpful and their dinner recommendations were spot on every time. Location was incredible. Easy access to the gaslamp district while also having easy access to other San Diego areas. Rooms were spacious and clean.id recommend this hotel for couples and families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Convenient Hotel for Convention Centre

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Convention Centre and Gas-Lamp District.
Cons: Provide in-hotel food / meals at more reasonable rates. You are next to one of the greatest food areas around - compete.
The cleaning staff were exceptional. Room service staff was exceptional and food was ok, severely overpriced as expected. What I was really upset about was the DOUBLE billing for room service - there was a "Room Service Fee" and then ANOTHER "Delivery Fee". The term ROOM SERVICE - implies that the food WILL BE DELIVERED TO YOUR ROOM!!!! There was one half-available cafe, that was unimpressive and overpriced, however decent food is just outside the door in the gas-lamp district so that's a bonus too. Trains and crossing signals all through the night were rather disturbing, however the hotel did provide two sets of ear plugs, most likely in anticipation of this. View of the convention centre was exception, sullied by the view in the evening / night of the unfortunate homeless in the courtyard all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Daughters 21st birthday.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Walking distance to the Gaslamp, pool and jacuzzi excellent, staff was very nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

A great hotel that could use some updates

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Love the location and the staff, simply the best.
Cons: The rooms need a technology refresh, better plug locations and some USB charging ports would be great.
Location: If you stay here then you need to stop at Tin Fish next door for some of the best fish and chips you will ever have.
I am hard pressed to think of a better staff experience than what I had at the Omni, very friendly and helpful staff. The location right next to Petco and Gaslamp is great and one of the best in the city. I did find the room a bit dated, plugs were located in bad locations for tech users and the whole room could use a refresh with high tech travelers in mind and this would be the best location in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Omni Hotel in San Diego, CA

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: This hotel is walking distance to great restaurants, bars, and the Gaslamp District as well as cute cafes for breakfast.
Cons: The parking was pricey but the public parking garage across the street was only $15/day.
This is a wonderful hotel. We only stayed one night while enjoying a brief vacation in the Gaslamp District but the hotel staff was very accommodating. We booked the room from the road about an hour before checking in and when we got there, we were greeted immediately and were able to check in early. The only downfall is the $40 parking charge but we parked in the public parking lot across the street for $15/day instead and it worked out great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, NY

Pros and Cons of Staying in Downtown San Diego

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful, the Doorman gave us awesome recommendations for where to eat and the valets were quick and very polite.
Cons: Again, no fault to the Omni but the large gathering of homeless people around the building in the back (public park) does take away from the hotel
Location: GasLamp Quarter, Seaport Village - walking distance, San Diego Zoo- maybe 10 minutes drive,
Pros- The Omni is a lovely hotel and the staff are great (especially the doorman Dave!) We were steps from the GasLamp Quarter (food, shopping, bars) and it was a quick ride to get on the I-5 and Seaport Village was within walking distance too. Cons- There is a public bathroom connected to the restaurant next door to the Omni and many homeless people gather there as well as on the grounds behind the building (public park) and on the side of the Omni. While trying to watch football in the bar and have a drink and relax we were instead forced to ask the bartender to call the police as we watched 2 homeless people fight in the street along side the hotel and a couple with a baby were also fighting with the baby in the stroller between them... far from relaxing. It is not the fault of the Omni and the Omni is a great hotel but if I were to go back to San Diego I would most likely not stay there again because of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria BC

Four Nights in San Diego

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right next to the Lamlight district and across from the convention centre and harbour. Excellent location.
Our first visit to San Diego was certainly helped by this 4 night stay at the Omni. Excellent location and very helpful , friendly staff. Clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious rooms.st
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

New Years in San Diego

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful corner room with amazing views of San Diego. Had dinner at McCormick & Schmicks which was located in the hotel, convenient.
Cons: A little more bathroom privacy, and, if you keep the access to the balcony, make the railing a little more solid.
Location: Fantastic location, walking distance to PetCo, convention center, and all the great restaurants/clubs in the Gaslamp. 10 min. ride to the airport.
First time at the Omni. Located in downtown San Diego, known for being in the middle of the Gaslamp as well as the walkover bridge connecting it to PetCo Park baseball stadium. Although we live only an hour away, we had an early flight New Years Day and thought we'd save some time and stay close to the airport. While we had a gorgeous corner room on the 18th floor, one concern was that there was a sliding glass door leading out to a narrow balcony. The railing wasn't a solid structure but made of metal "bars" similar to a fence, if you have a problem with heights, this could be a little disconcerting. The room itself was beautifully decorated including the bathroom. Although it was well appointed, the structure of the bathroom was a little different. The wall separating the bathroom from the rest of the room had plantation like shutters which opened up to the main room. Even when closed, there wasn't much privacy, from sounds to light coming through the closed slats. Different. Overall, The staff was very nice and welcoming. They were updating the lobby, so much was closed off, didn't really impact us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Great location near the Gas Lamp District.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The staff was outstanding - helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Front desk staff, concierge and doormen were all excellent.
Cons: The hotel could use better sound proofing in room. Our room was near the elevator and some guests were quite loud late into the night.
We were in San Diego on vacation, interested in sightseeing, dining out and relaxing, so we wanted a downtown location. The Omni's proximity to the Gas Lamp district was perfect for us since we could walk to many restaurants and shops and it was a reasonable cab ride to Balboa Park and Little Italy.