Ratings based on 942 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, easy walk to beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location was fine, room had stale oder. would stay again if in the area.
Cons: Have plastic cup to drink water in room. Molding in corner of bathroom doorway unpleasant to look at. Should be replaced.
Location: Places to eat and markets if need something.
Day of arrival had rain, stayed two nights & next day overcast. Haven't been to beach in over 10 years so a bit disappointed due to weather.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Great rate! Very close to the beach! I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Updated bathroom, close to beach

Posted Sep 7, 2016
I just stayed one night and got this hotel last minute (that morning) for $84 (on the Tursday night after Labor Day)--I think it cost a lot more to stay the night prior. At that price, the place was a steal. One block walk to the beach -- and in my opinion the nicest stretch of the beach near sandy cliffs (but still tons of sand to lay out on and go swimming). I drove and didn't have a problem getting a spot when checking in around 3:30 pm, but as the other reviews say, spaces are limited. Maybe around a dozen spots? I didn't want to lose my spot (or deal with parking downtown), so I took an Uber to a neighborhood on the far side of downtown San Diego, and even though it's a good 20- to 30-minute drive, it only cost $6 there and $10 back (shared ride -- alone it would have cost about $18 each way). I was on the first floor, so I could hear creaking and banging when the people above me walked around, but I turned the fan on in the room (the AC/heat unit), and I slept great. Breakfast is just some pastries that looked tasty (cheese and raspberry danishes, mini croissants), but they tasted days old and were really hard. All in all, though, I thought it was a really nice place, updated bathroom, fridge in room, hair dryer and iron in room, and excellent location. A fantastic deal for only $84.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Great location. Friendly staff. Accommodated last minute change on holiday weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Deceptive "steps to beach" advertising

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel maybe steps to beach edge however it's the edge of a cliff then one must walk down the boardwalk and then down some steep stairs to even get to the beach phone in room did not work television remote control was missing air-conditioning unit extremely noisy half of the shower door was missing there was damage to the wall in the bathroom and towel rod was half off wall. however bed linens and towels were clean. not worth the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from SD city center

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Room needs some updating
Location: Close to beach and restaurants in PB
Had to spend too much time driving back and forth to city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Will visit again. Just a wonderful time. Stayed 3 days and wished ot was longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and surprisingly quiet.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
This is a nice hotel one block from the beach and very close to lots of restaurants and bars. I was there on a Monday thru Wednesday. PB was very busy during that time. My room faced mission Blvd and I was afraid it would be noisy but after around 10pm it was VERY quiet. My only negative is that the carpet in my room was really stained and dirty but that won't keep me away. Will be back for sure...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: view comfortable room
Cons: parking wifi & swimming pool
the phone didn't work, the hairdryer didn't work but the view made it worth it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Okay

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Location: Excellent location to the beach!
When I arrived, the front desk lady had a lovely smile but did not speak English very well. There was an issue with my bank (switched over to new system and everything was off) and I was unable to get in touch with them since it was after hours. She did not understand that I was having an issue and required that I pay the ENTIRE amount ($1200) in CASH! I had to give her my entire vacation money instead of paying for the one night as they require and clearing up the issue with the bank the next day, as I did. This was no fault of mine and an error with the bank system, but she didn't understand when I tried to explain it to her. I gave her the cash and she didn't know how to count it. I was grateful for the room, although had the bare necessities and smelled really weird. The comforter was not as advertised but was a tropical throwback to the seventies. Parking was awful and the pool is NOT at the hotel but on the next block at the other hotel they apparently own. The cleaning staff did an excellent job of cleaning our room every day.