Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, Arizona

Close to the beach

Posted May 21, 2016
Walking distance to the beach. This will definitely be the hotel we stay at everytime we visit San Diego
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Excellent location for relaxing and staying close

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Close to the ocean but not on the shore
Cons: free wifi
Location: Everything is 3 blocks away
I was looking forward to relaxing near the ocean, but not ON the ocean. Parking was great, as having a secluded room. I was surprised to still have service even if outsourced. I didn't realize there was no free internet, and I could have used it as phone signal with T-Mobile was barely useful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, shopping, and entertainment

Posted May 18, 2016
Older hotel, can hear neighboring noises, staff very friendly! Gal at the front offered me her personal charger when I mentioned I lost mine! Also very gracious and upgraded when my A/C didn't work in the first room. Very happy with this stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location; walking distance to restaurants

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The room was very roomy and the beds were comfortable.
Rooms were very large and the beds were very comfortable. Only bad thing was that there wasn't enough parking. Otherwise great time for my daughter's graduation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap motel feel

Posted May 14, 2016
Got the room with a single bed. Room was really small and when you turned air on it smelled gross. They didn't change the sheets the two nights we were there and when we ironically got in the room there was sand all over the carpet. In my opinion it is not worth the money you are paying. We had a really hard time finding parking because They have about 15 parking spots. They have about 100 rooms so do the math.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa.

nice hotel near the beach

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: The professional and friendly environment.
Cons: Our room was dim because one of the lights was out and they was waiting for inventory,
Location: The beach was beautiful, the food was good.
The Hotel staff was very professional,friendly, and accommodating and we are planning stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
We stay here all the time and it's perfect for what we need,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

dirty sheets, mold and holes in the sheets

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: It was a half a block from the beach.
Cons: Hook in the bathroom on the door to hang something on. Clean sheets (not stained) and no holes in the sheets. softer sheets.
We checked in and asked for two extra pillows...they told us someone will definitely bring them to our room. We went out for the day and when we returned the pillows were not there and I went to the office...he searched for more pillows and could not find any...our back trouble requires extra pillows. We came back to the room and we got ready for bed - turned the covers down and the sheet was stained ...now the office had closed and we were ready for bed and the emergency phone number did not answer..and the phone was disconnected anyway so I used my phone and did not get a response. We got through the night and in the morning I went to the office and asked if we could have pillows sent to our room...and told the clerk that I was outraged that the sheets were stained...the clerk reassured me we would get clean sheets (Do they give newly arrived guests dirty sheets?). When we returned that night the pillows were there and we got ready for bed...turned down the blanket and lo and behold we see another dirty sheet with several holes in it and a piece of mold on the sheet.....we had a small blanket in our car and made due because the office was closed and the other office did not answer....We were outraged in the morning and know that we will not come back to PB Surf again...they have old linens and evidently do not furnish clean linens and to top that off the bedspread smelled like it had been soaked in old smell or dusty...that's our experience and I would like it posted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location by the beach

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Room & bathroom had some water damage issues, got double full room instead of single queen I asked for. Great spot to be in PB though, close to everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Nice clean hotel close to beach, friendly staff. Only thing I would change is to mount tv on wall above windows-very hard to watch from bed otherwise.