Ratings based on 1,797 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great family vacation!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We went to San Diego for the first time and stayed here. I did a great deal of research prior to booking and was not disappointed. They were terrific from a service perspective and seem to have thought of everything for a family. My kids loved it all...the pool, the bikes, the boogie boards, cookies, dolphin sightings and more. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Perfect for San Diego

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I will always stay in this hotel if I am in San Diego. Perfect location, excellent staff, and relaxing atmosphere with great facilites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Terry, Hotel Management
We at the Pacific Terrace are so pleased you found us so perfect for San Diego. Thank you so much for your five star review, we appreciate it very much. The purpose of any vacation is to relax and we are pleased you found our atmosphere so relaxing. Thank you also for noting our perfect location, excellent staff and great facilities. We look forward to your return next time you are traveling back to San Diego!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pacific terrace hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
This hotel was amazing. Right in the middle of everything gems of resteraunts. The hotel staff was very friendly and offered any advice as to where to go and let us check in early. Had a great time staying 4 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D, long Island, New York

Loved the view of the ocean from my bed

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Loved pacific beach and the hotel it was picture perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
We at the Pacific Terrace appreciate you selecting our property for your San Diego stay. Thank you for your five star review and for sharing your picture, definitely a perfect picture of you all at the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Close to the beach and everything else!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
I booked a stay with Pacific Terrace never having been to San Diego. I chose it for a few reasons ratings and location being the top of the list. i wanted to stay near the beach but be within a short drive to the airport and major attractions. Pacific Beach area was perfect location and Pacific Terrace Hotel was awesome! We had a room with a partial ocean view and it had a little balcony where we could have our coffee in the morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and immaculate. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review and for commenting on our great location on the beach but still close to the airport and all of San Diego's famous attractions. We at the Pacific Terrace are so pleased you had such a great experience and we appreciate your gracious comments on our staff and our rooms. Please come back soon, the awesome view will be waiting for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DAD

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Friendly staff great view of ocean Heated clean outdoor pool. Walking distance to great restaurants. Downer is the amount of homeless people in the area, harmless but uncomfortable with young teenage girls
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
While we appreciate your five star review we are sorry to hear that some of the locals made you uncomfortable. We do address this occurrence with the authorities and will do so again. Thank you for noting our friendly staff, great restaurants within walking distance and our great ocean view. We look forward to you next visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but worn down and noisy.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The good: Great location! Decent restaurants nearby and awesome beach access. The pool and hot tub was very nice and the patio furniture was in good condition. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They did a wonderful job. The bad: Paper thin walls. We had to ask the hotel maid staff to be quiet at 7:30am on two separate occasions because we could hear them working on rooms nearby. They were very nice and apologetic, but they had a job to do. Limited food and beverage options. Very limited options for beer and liquor. No top shelf choices, which is very disappointing for a four star hotel. The food was provided by a nearby restaurant, but was only a step up from bar food. Dining in was disappointing. The hotel looked worn and run down a bit. There were many nice touches in the rooms. The furniture was nice. But the carpet was worn and ragged and parts of the building was showing its age. For the price and rating I expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We at the Pacific Terrace are so pleased that you found our location so great with awesome beach access and easy to get to restaurants but unhappy to hear we did not exceed your expectations in other areas. I have addressed both the housekeeping issue and the liquor options with the appropriate mangers. Our food and beverage manager is in the process of upgrading our brands and that project soon should be completed. For our food and beverage choices we do rely on local area restaurants for room service and again always looking to improve choices for our guests. The carpeting is currently being replaced as our occupancy warrants and at this time we are about 80% completed. Thank you for taking the time to point out our areas in which we can improve as we at the Pacific Terrace strive for every guest to have a five star experience. We do hope upon your next trip to San Diego you stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We had a wonderful time and we loved watching the sunset over the ocean from the heated poo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review, we appreciate it very much! We at the Pacific Terrace are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful, relaxing down and that you were able to enjoy the sunsets from our ocean front pool. Please come back soon, the sunsets are waiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Hiawatha, NJ

Best hotel in San Diego

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great beach-front hotel, helpful & friendly staff, excellent housekeeping, safe & secure parking garage. We have stayed here 5 times and have never been disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Terry S., Hotel Management
Thank you for considering us the best hotel in San Diego, we appreciate it very much! We love that you have mentioned our great beach front location, friendly staff and secured parking but most of all we appreciate that you are a loyal, repeat guest of the Pacific Terrace. The pictures are great, thank you for sharing and please come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Right on the beach! Beautiful pool area. Great staff.