Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Enjoyed it! Great staff. Great views. Nice stuff nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach area hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Staff was very attentive...smoke alarm was "chirping" and they immediately replaced the battery
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bicycles for free is excellent on the beach

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The hotel is too old but it's location is great the service is excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbeatable location!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Check the surf from your room in the morning, and check the nightlife from the same spot later on in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unhelpful Expedia Reviews

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Read good reviews when booking through Expedia. Upon arrival we noticed the fitted sheet not completely on. My boyfriend went to fix it and unfortunately saw the mattress. The mattress had large stains and bug droppings. He ended up googling the hotel and found terrible reviews on other sites. There are reviews mentioning bugs, dirty rooms(carpets), terrible beds and having items stolen (including identity). I could not stomach looking at the mattress or thinking about sleeping on a dirty mattress so we packed up and went to a different hotel. I felt uncomfortable telling them that the room was too dirty so we paid for the night. No regrets! I inquired before arrival if shampoo and conditioner is provided. They wrote back and said it was. What they meant was they provide a two in one shampoo. Cutting costs at every corner. Also, they notify you after you book that parking is $20 per day and there are limited spots. The location is great. It is too bad they don't put a little extra money into it to clean it up. Yuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic location, laid back hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location & staff.
Cons: No aircon in the rooms could be an issue with some.
Location: Awesome location.
Having just spent 4 nights at Caesars Palace our expectations were obviously higher however the location made up for any shortfall in facilities. If you like a small place, close to the beach, restaurants, bars, with a bit of hustle & bustle still going on this is the place. Parking directly outside is convenient compared to the larger hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the beach, great location. Tight room

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The location is great. Friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom and shower box are too tight. Almost did not fit ONE person in it Room too small
Location: Pacific Beach and Mission Beach are walking distance. Many bars, pubs and restaurants are walking distance
Pros: The location is great. Friendly staff Cons: Bathroom and shower box are too tight. Almost did not fit ONE person in it Room too small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ont, Canada

perfect place to watch the waves

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: quiet, clean, no frills (you don't need any)
Cons: a longer stay next time ;-)
Location: Crystal Pier, the Boardwalk, the beach of course, PB beach bars along the Boardwalk
fit me perfectly! I had the ocean view room and the sound of the waves day and night. The balcony with table and chairs overlooking Crystal Pier and the Ocean was perfect for people watching. Quiet, clean and unpretentious with a nice relaxed feel about it. Rent a bike ($10 for all day!) and cruise the Boardwalk. I will definitely be back! 5 stars :-)...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Theres no ac, unprofessional staff, dirty rooms that never got cleaned, poor breakfast, paper thin walls so you hear everything, over priced for what you actually get, and bugs are located on the property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple Valley, Wa

Location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Our room seemed like an older 1 bedroom apartment which was perfect for our 3 person vacation. Room was comfortable, sheets and towels clean, floor was dingy carpet. Unbeatable location on very friendly staff. We'd stay again.