Ratings based on 2,007 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent place for retreat and relaxation.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We had an amazing time staying at the resort. Beautiful place to stay already recommending it to all my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great stay the witness at barefoot grill was rude right away. And even more rude when we asked to sit by waterfall. The toiletries were already used. Lotion. Specifically otherwise amazing place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice resort but in need of cleaning & pest control

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Resort is beautiful, and the staff is friendly. Plenty to do onsite, you don't have to leave.
Cons: Better housekeeping of the rooms, and regular pest control around the rooms.
Resort is beautiful and we've stayed here in the past but our recent stay was disappointing. Our room was extremely dusty with spiders and pincher bugs, and not just 1 or 2 bugs. We had close to 10. Our room was so dusty that my son's allergies kicked up. There were dust balls hanging from the ceiling and door frames, and the baseboards looked like they haven't been dusted for several weeks. On the first morning, he woke up congested, sneezing and a runny nose. I asked for an extra thorough cleaning job. The second morning was a little better, but he still woke up sneezing and a runny nose. After I complained to the manager, his reply was that the resort is prone to bugs. I cut him off to tell him I have never stayed in a hotel where bugs were common. He went on to discount our bill, but I'm extremely disappointed that he implied having bugs in our room is acceptable. Lastly, the resort is charging it's guest for the state minimum wage increase. We had a 2% surcharge on our bill for this. Why nickel and dime your guests??? Why not increase your prices to absorb the minimum wage increase? Management needs to reconsider how you are handling this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging Resort, Great Location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The location is first class, on a peninsula jutting into Mission Bay.
Location: There is plenty to do, but everything costs a good bit extra - sailing, jet skis, bicycling, etc.
This resort is on a great location on Mission Bay. The resort is obviously aging, the rooms older motor court style, but nice enough if the price is right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Outdated

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We immediately had problems with ants, management came and sprayed however by that evening I bought a pizza for the kids to eat and before they could eat it, it was full of ants. Next day I asked to be moved to a different room, only to find out that this new room was ant free, however the coffee maker and fridge didn't work, by now I had two days left so I drove to Walmart and purchased a cooler to keep in the room for out food and bought my coffee at the coffee bar the next two days. Good note: they keep all the pools in excellent condition & very clean at all times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely old and outdated.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A place lacking hygiene and cleanliness. Not recommended
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4-star rating

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Cons: the cleanliness of the hotel
I am not sure how this hotel has a four star review rating. We were so disappointed in the condition of the resort that we left early. The room was dirty, the pool area was dirty and the restaurant, where we paid $36 for a single dinner, was terrible. I can see why some like it because it's close to SeaWorld and other attractions but our experience was much different than the reviews I've seen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

A 4 night stay in San Diego as a family vacation.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Close to attractions, beach. Five pools and hot tubs to choose from, three restaurants on the property, and friendly people.
Cons: Ventilation in the rooms, & better service at the Bar & Grill. Our service was so bad, we had the whole meal comped. Tidal & Caveman Pizza were great.
Location: Around the corner from Sea World, 10 minutes to Balboa Park, 20 minutes to Coronado, close to the Gas Lamp District & Old Town. Close to airport.
The overall grounds were lovely, easy to find from the airport, but once we tried to find our room, we were hopelessly lost. Come to find out, the person that checked us in circled the one room number on the map but gave us a key to another room. When I went back, he corrected the problem right away, apologized, and gave us a lovely room. The only real complaint about the room is there is absolutely no ventilation. The bathroom was small and there were two lights, but no fan. Because of the humidity, a fan was definitely needed. Other than that, the room was spacious, beds were comfortable, and our ultimate location was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 19, 2016
To be in one of the rooms that are on the photos you have to pay like if you were in Bora Bora. If not, standard room is a room with no windows, 120% humidity (wet floors), and all the amenities very expensive. Even in on of the restaurants the give you plastic forks and knives to eat. Not coming back ever. Very old
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso Tx

Perfect Island getaway

Posted Aug 19, 2016
It is an hotel with bungalows, not the traditional hotel, the rooms are simple, old but well kept, the restaurants are great.