Ratings based on 2,321 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Location and staff are excellent; rooms average

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The location is awesome for little Italy. Every staff member was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Outside entrance let noise and light thru the door. Need accessible plugs by the bed for phones, etc.
Location: It's Little Italy. Tons of great restaurants, bars and breweries. You are close to the park, zoo and Gas Lamp Qtr. Walk to USS Midway and waterfront.
Don't expect a luxury hotel - it's more like an updated Howard Johnson. But, that's okay since the location is perfect for walking to stuff in Little Italy. And the staff is awesome - from the desk clerks to shuttle drivers to maintenance folks. The desk clerks were knowledgeable about restaurants, the shuttle drivers took us to Gas Lamp Qtr and the airport. We had an issue with our shower that was quickly fixed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel in San Diego's Little Italy.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The king-size mattress was fantastic. Both my husband and I usually suffer back pain after a stay in a hotel. This mattress was wonderful. Also, their providing of shuttle service was outstanding, both to and from the airport and to nearby locations in San Diego.
Cons: The hotel was on the older side, but this is more than made up for by the comfort and cleanliness factors.
Location: Right in the heart of Little Italy with easy access to trolley and buses, and a short walk to the piers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Aaron Osborne GM, Hotel Management
Dear Christopher, Thank you for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us online. Happy to hear you rest was fantastic, enjoyed our complementary services, and central location. We hope to have you return on future San Diego trips. Thank you once again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Great views from roof seating areas and restaurant. Very good staff. Good breakfast. Rooms a little dated but otherwise well located in Luttle Italy with lots to see and do within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County, CA

Excellent location, doesn't break the bank

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms are a little dreary.
Location: Little Italy--food, shopping. Easy walk to other city attractions.
The location is excellent for Little Italy and proximity to the Green Line. You can easily walk to Downtown and the Convention center from here (15 minutes). Dining in the area is fantastic. Ballast Point and Bolt Breweries are steps away. Rooms are basic and the price is fair for the neighborhood. If you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed. But if you are staying in this area and spending THAT much time in your hotel you are doing it wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by PVH Management , Hotel Management
Dear Seam, Thank you for providing feedback upon your recent stay with us! Glad you enjoyed our central location. The close proximity to delicious restaurants, public transportation, and main attractions make exploring San Diego an ease! We hope to have you back soon Seam! Best,
3 out of 5
by Marissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Adam from LA

Awesome views and friendly staff

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is super-friendly and helpful. The neighborhood has a lot of nearby attractions and places to eat. The views of the city from the hotel balcony are amazing, and the dog friendly aspect was great for us. Good breakfast, but it is not included. The staff gave me two vouchers though, which was great. Overall a great experience for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Hello Adam, Thank you very much for choosing the Porto Vista Hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff's great guest service, location, views, and amenities contributed to a great overall experience. We hope that you will return in the future and safe travels! Best, PVH Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Great to watch 4 of July fireworks

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: it's location
Cons: Sound insulation between the walls and ceiling's
Location: Great location little Italy lots lots of good restaurants .
walls and ceiling are very thin as you can hear other people pretty well.
3 out of 5
by Lema

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look for a better place

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom tub was not clean. The air condition unit didn't work well. The gym was not clean abs also the air conditioning unit in the gym didn't work. I complained twice and the issues were jot addressed. Also parking is expensive, $22/day.