Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal!

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Breakfast!
Good deal! My family particularly enjoyed their breakfast bar. I wasn't too fond of the fact that it was located on a hill. Overall, worth our money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice,Clean and Friendly

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Best place I've stayed in San Diego It was clean and the best part was free breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE stay

Posted Jul 21, 2015
My sister and I decided to stay at this hotel for our birthday weekend. We were not pleased at all, especially considering the price for our stay. The room was nothing like the pictures showed online and we're not very clean at all. The worst part was the fact that we found blood all over the curtains that were right up against one of the beds. We also found a dead coackroach in the room, which these 2 things together just made it an uncomfortable stay. I think what made this most unpleasant was the fact that the hotel staff didn't seem to care too much about our complaints. They couldn't do much since we booked through Expedia but finding blood all over the curtains is just a huge deal in my opinion. On top of that they wouldn't even refund the money we had to pay for parking there, they do charge a fee each night you are there for parking. Overall we just were not happy and we couldn't wait to leave. I would never ever stay there again and would never recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice and convenient

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We will be back . It was excellent. No issues . We had fantastic weekend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Never again.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
For $200 bucks/night you'd expect a fridge and a microwave in the rooms....and who puts a coffee maker in the bathroom?! This hotel does. Beds were so SMALL!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wow! Super small and super $$$

Posted Jul 16, 2015
No microwave, fridge disconnected... Room small...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Maintenance Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Personnel attitude and Hygiene
Location: The purpose of the trip was to go to Sea World, the location was good, 7 mins away.
Rude people upon checking in and the shower was clogged.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Settle

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The bed comfront was a bliss. Slept like a baby. Staff was excellent. Room was clean. Only detail I saw as an issue was you can clearly see mold spots in the bathroom " ceiling and on the walls of where the paper print. Other than that I really enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you loved our friendly yet professional service and immaculate room. I am particularly happy to know that you had a good night’s sleep. However, I am disappointed to hear that the guest room fell short of your expectations. I have already followed up with our housekeeping department to make sure that each team member is following our established procedures for cleanliness and inspections. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention and I hope that you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you and stay with us again the next time you are in San Diego. Kindest Regards, Stacy Beagin, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Really comfortable stay

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Love the comfortable bed, the free breakfast, and the pool.
Cons: The only thing I found to be slightly lacking was towels. For two people staying in a room, one person's set of towels isn't always enough.
Location: The location is in the hotel circle, which means it's only surrounded by other hotels and but you can easily hop on the freeway.
Let's face it, this isn't the Hilton or the Marriott. The room wasn't particularly fancy, but it was comfortable and practical. Comfortable bed? Check. Plenty of pillows of varying hardness? Check. There was cable TV. There was a coffee maker. There was even a hair dryer, which I've noticed many nicer hotels fail to include. The shower head may not have been gleaming with perfection, but the water had a comfortable flow. And the practicality goes beyond the room itself - for instance, there's free all you can eat breakfast every morning from 6:30 all the way until 10. There's a heated pool and a jacuzzi open 9 am -10 pm. And although we didn't really have to interact with staff besides checking in and checking out, I think they did an amazing job. Our room was always cleaned and finished by the time we got back, not once did we have to wait for them to finish cleaning which has happened to me at other hotels. All in all, this is a good little budget hotel. I'd stay here again. ** As other reviewers have mentioned, be warned that there is a $12/day parking fee. I knew about this ahead of time so I was not surprised or upset, but it can come as a shock to someone who is unaware.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review of Portofino Inn & Suites and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers online. We want all of our guests to have the same great stay that you described. I am glad to hear that you felt that your stay at our hotel was a great value for the price paid. We focus on providing rooms and suites that are super clean with everything in great condition, and our team members love hearing that their efforts have been recognized by the guests. I am especially pleased to know that you loved our in house facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Diego in the future. Safe Travels! Kindest Regards, Stacy Beagin, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit pricey

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Cons: Beds very hard
Found it to be a bit pricey for just sleeping in but we didnt find much available due to Comic Con going on which kinda was crappy for us as we just were viciting our son in the Navy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Portofino Inn & Suites and for posting your comments. We take great pride in our unique facilities and were disappointed to read that you felt that what you paid for the room did not support your accommodations. We try to stay competitive with the area hotels in our pricing. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope that you will consider giving us another try. Kindest Regards, Stacy Beagin, General Manager