Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twickenham

Don't stay here unless you're on a tight budget

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff in reception.
Cons: The area!
Location: The location felt very unsafe and unpleasant. On the plus side, Balboa Park is close by and the Gaslamp district is only 10-20 minutes walk.
The interior of this hotel looks like a cross between a rough urban social housing complex and a jail. The rooms are small and although they are clean and have everything you need, the atmosphere is not such that you'd want to spend any time in the room other than to sleep. There was no water in the drinks machine so I had to walk to the next street to buy some and this is not a walk I would have made if I'd been alone. I' m not a nervous person but I did not feel at all safe in the area or the room at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Good service.
Location: Good location for getting around San Diego. Noisy because of the airplanes flying over.
Room was a bit small. But the location is pretty good to get to sites around town, especially Balboa Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great location,everything is great,just seemed to have a lot of noise in the morning by staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Decent, clean hotel if you are on a tight budget.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The hotel itself is nice, but the rooms are very small; good for 1 or 2 people, for a couple of days. There was very limited parking, if you can't find a regular spot, there is meter parking, or a parking lot nearby for about $25 a day.The room was clean, but it did have a slight odor. The bathroom was also clean, but had a moist/moldy smell. The odors weren't unbearable, but definitely present. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the linens were very clean and white. The room had a mini refrigerator and microwave; there are convenience stores right up the street; and the hotel is literally 1 or 2 blocks from the Gaslamp District. I honestly would have given the hotel a 5 out of 5 rating if the room and bathroom didn't have that smell, and if there was more parking available. Overall, it was clean, cheap, had a friendly staff, a decent continental breakfast, and is a good place to stay if you are on a tight budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded Value Expectations

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Price, comfort, location
Cons: Better eggs
Location: 5 min cab/uber to convention center/gaslamp district. 8 min cab to airport.
I was nervous about the location and the low price, but newly renovated, everything works, clean, comfortable bed and extremely courteous, helpful and amiable staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Bad experience. You have to ask for room service, change of towels and soap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really cramped room

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The staffs were really friendly but the room was really really cramped and it's seems a bit sketchy. Very loud in the morning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep looking

Posted Feb 1, 2017
No parking. First room I was given was never cleaned, second room bed was made but two pieces of trash on floor, one was a sanitary product wrapper. Which with the two fresh red spots on the floor I have never been grossed out staying at a hotel before. Rooms have been "remodeled" but only what was easy to do, shower had been resurfaced and was peeling up and no way to get truly clean. Airport is close, so planes flying over hotel- not a big deal but icing on the cake. Warm breakfast was nice to have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I really enjoyed myself. I will book there again in the future! I highly recommend that everyone should try this hotel st least once! Over and out!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
It's a great hotel for being so inexpensive but you are close to the Airport and the walls are really thin so you can almost hear everything around you. We hardly spend time in our room so it didn't bother us. Above all the service was really great and the people were somewhat attentative so that was great. The only main concern I had was that the bathroom did smell but closing the door made it not come out to the room. The while room was clean and the beds were super comfortable everything was organized.