Ratings based on 1,853 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central to venues.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
I would give this hotel a 5 out of 5 IF they had parking for their guests, otherwise i recommend it. Staff was helpful and great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Hotel close to main attractions in San Diego

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Easy check in, room was clean, but hard to open door to room. Some towels were stained. Parking is on the street. A little loud, airplanes go right over the hotel. A plus is free breakfast and close to San Diego attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and clean

Posted Mar 29, 2017
I plan on staying here again.. had a good central location to Balboa park, little Italy, and gas lamp areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The room is small and a bit tight but we barely stayed in the hotel, we were only there to sleep. Overall the room was clean, and comfortable. The only downside is the fan in the bathroom wasn't working and was making loud squeaking noises
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

No frills, but clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The continental breakfast was actually quite good. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Location: Near Little Italy. About a 1.5 mile walk to the Convention Center. Easy walk to shopping at Horton Plaza Mall.
I booked a last minute stay during an international medical convention, so everything else was sold out. The room was very small and cramped, but actually had all of the amenities I needed. The furniture and electronics were modern and attractive. The A/C was an antiquated wall unit, but at least it worked. The shower was clean, water was hot, and the water pressure was good. The lobby area was extremely small and cramped, with little waiting area. The hotel is near the airport, so planes could be heard overhead about every 10 minutes, as late as 10pm each night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Close to downtown, gaslamp district, mission beac

Posted Mar 10, 2017
It was okay. The staff wasn't as helpful as we expected but we were barely at the hotel so it didn't matter. The location is great. It's close to everything we wanted to see as tourists to San Diego
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very friendly staff.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Clean. Good breakfast.
Cons: New toilet tissue holders. Keep breakfast stocked, ran out out eggs, sausage.
Location: Near Balboa Park, Little Italy.
Near airport, airplane noise. Clean. Good breakfast. Near Balboa Park, Little Italy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not Great at ALL

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room and hot water for showers. Parking for your consumers.
Location: A few food places to eat and close to airport. Not a great part of town.
The hotel in the flight path of the airport. You hear planes all day and late into the night. The room was extremely small. There were no towels the first night and even after I asked the next day room service did not leave any. It was not very clean. The shower drain was loose and would move. There was NO hot water to shower. I rented a car and I had to pay for parking since the hotel does not have a parking lot. That really stunk! Overall it is a very old hotel. The breakfast was decent and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near Balboa Park & pier

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: check-in and check-out were surprisingly slow, but seemed systemic rather than staff inefficiency.
Location: Balboa Park, Gaslamp district
The hotel is about convenient location, not really about high end comfort. Your room will be clean, and the continental breakfast is pretty standard. However the best part is being two blocks from the Balboa Park trails and maybe a mile from the pier area and from the Gaslamp district. I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to see, with the exception of the Ocean proper, which is a simple Uber ride away. If you are looking for an affordable convenient place to stay, then this is a good option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok if your on a budget

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, free breakfast, and affordable.
Cons: Upgrade room, new mattresses.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby, Zoo, Balboa Park
First of all there's no parking! This area is not the nicest, didn't feel comfortable leaving my car on the street. Check in was easy hotel staff was awesome. Had a small issue with the fridge staff took care of it ASAP. Shower had paint spots all over and the bathroom was extremely tiny. The room was pretty clean, bed was clean but uncomfortable. I liked having windows that actually open. The second day we were there our room cards didn't work so we had the go back to the front desk after a long day which was annoying. The free breakfast was nice, and check out was a breeze.