Ratings based on 936 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Perfect location for what we wanted. Being right in the middle of downtown and everything accessible within walking distance.
Cons: Small rooms, could use updating. Linens seemed old and worn.
Location: Brians 24/7 cafe just next door had great food!
Great location, right in the middle of the gaslamp district. Filled with restaurants, nightclubs and bars. The room itself was cozy-small. The bathroom only consisted of a toilet and stand up shower. VERY small shower! The sink and mirror were outside in the main living portion. Kind of awkward, but we adjusted. The bed was comfy, but the linens were old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Great location
Cons: Please remove the sensor lights in the bathroom..When you get up @ 3 in the morning you don't want blazing light and air fans to come on automatically
An older, and simpler, hotel near all the highlights of the Gaslamp Quarter
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Historic, but small.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The staff were nice and helpful. The rooms are really small, just big enough to fit a queen size bed. I'm not one for small hotel rooms, I need space. The room had an ugly window AC unit, the tiniest bathroom (just a small stand-up shower and toilet) and the sink was in the bedroom. I was supposed to be given earplugs (since it gets noisy) but the package was empty. I needed something more spacious and comfortable so I ended up checking right out. I was expecting something nicer when it mentioned "Historic Hotel."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R. from Los Angeles CA

Decent-ish

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Small room, some of the staff was unhelpful some were very helpful, they charge for parking a day, you really have no option or way around it $27 a day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Tiny, unattractive rooms

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Good location. There's a 24-hr restaurant attached, but I didn't try it because the wait for brunch was too long. It seemed like a popular spot though
Cons: Better decor. Don't see how they could make rooms larger, but that was my main complaint. Could use a dedicated concierge. Improve the rooftop area
Location: Good nightlife (clubs, bars), lots of restaurants nearby.
I was very disappointed. I guess by the "historic" label, they were trying to make up for the gross decor and materials. I have never seen such a tiny room! They insisted that the beds were all queen beds, but our bed was the measurements of a full (we checked). The room had the bare essentials- bed, small desk w/chair, window, ac, tv, and a bathroom with a toilet and tub. No closet. A small sink w/mirror was located OUT of the bathroom, next to the bed. the bathroom worked fine, but the tub made strange gurgling noises periodically through the night. Again, I can't even believe how small that room was. The distance from the floor to the ceiling was longer than the distance from one wall to another. There wasn't really anything else nice about the hotel. They had a rooftop patio that was ok. The employees weren't especially helpful or welcoming, and we wished they had a dedicated concierge that helped with recommendations for dining and entertainment. Valet parking worked out pretty well. Oh, and the elevators are a little scary to use. They are old, with doors that open toward you and then a metal grate you have to push open and close manually. They were also very slow, so we took the stairs every time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallace

Old hotel that needs to be refurbished.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Everything is old & the rooms are TINY. Needs to be remodeled. It has a smell Bc the carpet is so old, the toilet was very low (like for a toddler). However, the bed was comfortable. Thank God I just stayed 1 night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting elevators

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Small room, but clean. Very friendly front desk and other staff. Toilet backed up two days in a row. A/C very loud and they give you earplugs too! A positive is the classic, maybe 75-100 year old, design inside. Looks like it probably did when it was new (style I mean, it's very worn now). Elevators have a big door and a sliding gate, and are about 3 feet across it felt. Slow and claustrophobic. Ended up taking the stairs every day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Mesa

Disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Great
Hotel was very disappointing, I am glad and sorry I used a coupon for this hotel. Had a stale smell through out.I am surptised it is still up and running.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location, hotel needs care

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Updated furnishings, better approach to check in.
Location: In the Gaslamp District, so many bars, restaurants and shops nearby.
This hotel has great potential, but needs some TLC and updating. Recognizing that this is a heritage property, and maybe not built to today's expectations, it still seems as though they could make the rooms more pleasing, even in confined spaces. The staff was pleasant and helpful, but there is a waiver that you are asked to sign as you check in that essentially waives your rights to complain about the noise, and informs you that there is a $50 fee to leave early. It's unfriendly, and frankly starts your stay off on the wrong foot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Great spot in downtown San Diego

Posted Aug 22, 2016
It was a nice hotel. Staff was friendly. Great location. Unbelievable rooftop view.