Ratings based on 2,913 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Bed and location
Cons: Bathroom could be remodeled a bit. An additional 6 inches into the room itself would make all the difference. They provide earplugs for free.
Location: Gaslamp and the other hotels where meetings are held, the airport...the location could not be much better.
Incredible potential of this hotel. Excellent bed, but the bathroom could be remodeled a bit. An additional 6 inches into the room itself would make all the difference.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Take a trip back in time in their elevator!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I really loved the Elevator and the rooftop, is was amazing.
Cons: Knowing about how the elevator functioned when you first arrived.
Location: There a lot of great place around this hotel, it is in a great part of the Gaslamp District. If you like clubs there are lots within walking distance.
I had a fantastic experience, all the staff that I interacted with were AWESOME! They were very helpful and kind. The room was nice, had quite the character especially when you know how old the hotel is, the elevator is fantastic! The original functioning elevator but beware of the elevator gate it does close quickly. The roof top is amazing especially in the evening be sure to check it out!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Central location in the gas lamp area

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Close to all the bars and eateries.
Rooms are very small but quaint. This is a historic building so it has that historic size and feel The staff is very helpful and friendly. Close to everything in the Gaslamp district
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old school hotel, great location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
It was cozy, reminded me of the 20s speak easy feel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I'd stay here again

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: GREAT RATE, Vintage/Historical building, located by everything in the GasLamp District.
Cons: The elevators were vintage, very slow and small, and we used the Hotel stairs mostly.
Location: I would recommend the SHOUT HOUSE, dualing piano bar. You can walk to everything, and Uber is everywhere..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Old, dirty, misrepresented on their website.
Location: Gaslamp Quarter is the restaurant district. This hotel is located at the eastern most end about 6 blocks from the waterfront.
Lobby and reception area were nice. Staff was nice. Rooms were a disgrace. Very small, dirty and haven't been updated since the 1960's. Sprinkler pipes were coming through walls; paint coming off of bathroom walls; bathroom tile floors chipped and in need of repair; floors were visibly dirty. There was a window in the shower stall that led to nowhere - and it had a layer of white shower scum across the surface. Rooms had in-window air conditioners which remained open to outside air and noise. Hotel is in the party district and people were partying in the street until 4:30 AM - and we heard it all. Apparently, this is the norm on the weekends. Blinds were broken and moldy; windows were so dirty, it looked foggy outside; white florescent bulbs in every light gave it an old hospital feel. Our room was 10x12 and we were told it was one of the largest rooms in the hotel. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but after the 1st night, we had to change hotels. Fortunately, they refunded our money without a hassle. Instinct tells me that our complaints had been heard many times before.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Tiny rooms, dirty windows, and underwhelming.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Lots and lots of food places nearby, plenty of bars as well, the Gaslamp District is very much a louder area. Light sleepers beware.
I checked into a standard room, and the first thing that I thought when I walked in was "underwhelming" the only sink for the room is in the main section since the bathroom is so tiny, to access the shower, you have the shut the bathroom door which is a big shuffle around the door. The blinds on the window were pretty dirty, the caulking on the top of the shower had spots of mold, and the back of the sink doesn't look nearly as cleaned as the front area. The staff is overall pretty friendly, so that is a plus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel, super friendly staff

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were some of the nicest and most helpful front desk staff I've seen at a hotel - they were keen to point out their favorite things to do in the city and suggest good places to visit.
Cons: It's an old hotel - so some aspects feel very antiquated, such as the old fashioned lift with the swing door and gate. But I personally enjoyed the classic feel to it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Clean and and great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I like the lobby and the accessibility of the restaurant, Food is good and service is great.The room had two entrances and a door separating the beds
Cons: A few hangings on the wall of the room to relieve the feeling of enclosure.
Location: Located on 4th Ave, you have easy access to restaurants, transportation ,shopping ,the seaport museum .
The bed and pillows were very comfortable. It is centrally located and the staff went out their way to ensure that my requests were met. The room had an enclosed feeling in that I had a very limited view of the outside. Apart from that,considering the price I paid for the room, I have no complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rooms are in need of repair.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was great! Very friendly & helpful. We were always greeted & treated well coming and going. Very nice group of young individuals.
Cons: I could appreciate the historic hotel being saved & refirbished, but the room we stayed in was greatly in need of repairs.
Location: Within walking distance of lots of great eateries, but the trancient population was very sad & unsafe.