Ratings based on 444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The property is well maintained and attractive. My room was very quiet and well appointed. The only surprise was the $25 fee for self parking which I though was excessive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice golfing

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Great time on the golf course but the family pool was constantly closed because they reserved it for catered parties. Also had to pay a high price just to park there even if we didn't valet the truck. Overall a nice looking place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long in the tooth. ...

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Room was very worn. Linens were worn thin. Had that ground in dirty feel. I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Bugs!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
On the day we arrived, the fireplace on the lobby was broken and there was a cloud of smoke in the whole lobby and into the corridors, apparently it wasnt the first time...one staff member said that the fireplace "has been doing that" Staff otherwise was very freindly, but found a bug on the bed and in the bathroom floor on the second day of our stay. Yuck! Also, there were no elevators to get to the second floor so we had to carry everything up the stairs. The shower head was loose and if angled the wrong way, it wet the toilet. Besides all that the room was ok...but this isn't a four star joint like it says on expedia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
It's a nice relaxing hotel, a bit dated in areas but we enjoyed the staff, the food and pools!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallingford, CT

A San Diego Area Gem

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Pets are welcome. The vibe is relaxed and welcoming. The inn was near max capacity, and the resort never felt crowded.
Cons: The parking fee is absurd. If you use Uber or Lyft, indicate this upon check-in so you are not charged later.
Location: Whale watching - 100% recommend! And take dramamine, you don't want to be "one of those poor sick people" while everyone has fun!
This was my first visit to the Rancho Bernardo Inn. I flew out for a friend's wedding, and this was nearby, and it had been too long since I'd had a real vacation, so I treated myself. Worth every penny! I will absolutely be staying here whenever I am back in the area. The resort is gorgeous, the food is fabulous, the staff is genuinely friendly and not intrusive. I'm not a golfer, but the course looks beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Beautiful property, Hotel staff waso attentive to our needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

Throwback California Resort

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The entire property and the rolling setting.
Cons: It's great for what it is and represents. Been there since the 60's.
Location: 20 miles from San Diego and the Beach Cities.
Great laidback SoCal vibe. Comfortable Spanish mission-style buildings with fireplaces, fountains and lush grounds. If you want large, ultra modern surroundings, Rancho Bernard isn't for you. Good food and nice golf.
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Walls must have been made out of paper. I could hear the heard of elephants above us. The a/c didn't cool the room down. The mini fridge had to be shut off so we could sleep. There were people partying in a room close by. Resort staff tried to quiet them but the didn't shut up. We almost packed and left at 2am. Resort discounted our stay. Staff was great though. I would not say this is s $300 a night resort.