Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

modern contemporary

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Cons: the card readers in all elevators are a hassle since they don't work properly. i was not the only guest having issues with it.
good location, nice and clean room, short distance to city center
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Great hotel very clean and super friendly staff. Located in a great spot very walkable to gaslamp and Horton plaza
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Hills, United States of America

Disappointing

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Probably noise, parking fee, & Wi-Fi access without extra fee.
Location: 10 minutes walking distance to harbor café, great food we had breakfast there! and walking distance to the harbor area.
Disappointing on supposed 4 star hotel. Didn't made a complain, because we only stayed for one night. We had a wedding to attend & needed a room where to stay after the party. Not impressed at all, bathroom was dirty, had a water leak from somewhere around the toilet. Our room location was extremely noisy, didn't had a good rest. Room was ok, not impressed for a 4 star hotel. I've stayed in better hotels with a 3 stars. Location wise is within walking distance to eating places & the harbor. No parking accessibility, only valet a fee of $50 per night & free parking around the area, after 6pm, not sure what the hours are free for the morning. We used valet parking. No free Wi-Fi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Adriana G., Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Renaissance San Diego Hotel. I apologize that you were unaware of our Parking fees prior to arrival. We understand the importance of taking these fees into consideration during the booking process, and we are careful to ensure they are clearly listed on all booking channels. We do conduct quarterly pricing audits within the local market to make certain that our pricing is in line and below many in the market! On a lighter note, there are some exciting changes going to take place towards the beginning of 2017. The changes are based on feedback from our guests. Our rooms will be receiving a refresh which will include new furnishing and wall coverings with some modern conveniences you have come to expect. In addition, our food and beverage outlets will also receive an update as well as the lobby. We are excited about the new look of the hotel which should be done in the summer of 2017. We look forward to welcoming you back once the remodel is complete and hearing your feedback then!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel sucks

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Very loud people partying all night!!! Had to call front desk several times! I asked to be moved as neighbors were partying till early morning hours and "security" came up twice and nothing was done. The response we got from front desk was sorry we are over capacity. Worst customer service. Not to mention when we checked in the girls were unfriendly, went up to room and keys didn't work came back down no sorry or anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Adriana G., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Renaissance San Diego Hotel with us. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention. I am very sorry to learn that the quality of service provided by our front desk staff did not quite meet your — or our — expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our arrival experience. I also want to apologize that you were disturbed by your neighbors.Our security does regularly patrol the hotel in an effort to monitor noise levels.On a lighter note, we are about to go through a refresh of the hotel. I would love to welcome you back after our refresh and hear your feedback then.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The employees, from the doorman to the clerk to the concierge, were outstanding.
Cons: There was a temporary water pressure issue when I checked in and the water had to be shut off briefly the next morning, but things like that occasionally happen. I could have used another blanket or heavier duvet - I was a bit cold at night.
Location: Right downtown in the middle of everything. The location was a main factor in my choosing this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, would stay again

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: The hotel was walking distance (.5 miles) from most activities: -gaslamp district -restaurants and bars -San Diego zoo -hikes -harbor
Stayed here when it was the W. The hotel ambiance is still very nice. The amenities of the hotel are great (pool, gym, bar). Unfortunately the roof top was shut down for a private event- wish there had been notice ahead of time given that we were only there for one night. Parking is expensive (any hotel in San Diego) but there is street parking available, just READ THE SIGNS (very weird rules on some days, like no parking 3-6AM). The room is very cute, but we were checked into a room that was not ready upon arrival. Fortuanetly the manager was able to give us a room right away and compensated for the inconvenience. The bar and restaurant are great and the location is prime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Renaissance San Diego Hotel - Modern

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the lobby & roof top set-up!!! Chalkboard in room was cute touch.
Cons: Valet parking price, personally to much. Didn't appreciate the bartender service at Roof-Top bar (12am-1am), super rude, not all guests are drunk.
Location: Little Italy is just a short walk away, literally steps. Karl Strauss brewery is at the end of the block.
The Renaissance Hotel is pleasing to say the least! First encounter was with valet and they were super friendly & polite they let us know where we could park elsewhere for cheaper, with peace of mind that the facility had security cameras. Front desk staff were friendly and hotel lobby was something to take in, just vibes relaxing atmosphere and had very contemporary look. Our room was spacious and the window bench could have well been a twin bed, really comfy. Bed was comfy, had enough towels from the start and toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) smelled great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Sean C, Hotel Management
Hello Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel. I am delighted to see the excellent service valet and our front desk provided, and that you enjoyed your spacious room and window bench. However, we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels and have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept my most sincere apology for the negative experience you had at our rooftop bar. We want you to feel at home when you are staying with us, and that is definitely not what you experienced. I want you to know that I have shared your feedback with Food and Beverage department heads to review and learn from. I was however delighted to hear that you enjoyed the other aspects of our hotel. Again, thank you sincerely for your valued feedback. We hope to welcome you back one day in the future and turn your impression of us into a positive one!” Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Habitación cómoda y limpia.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: El Lobby, habitaciones, servicio.
Cons: Hace falta luz en el cuarto!
Location: Muy cerca de Gaslamp Quarter y restaurantes. Esta súper céntrico. Muy buena ubicación para conocer Downtown San Diego.
Tiene muy buena ubicación si deseas caminar en Downtown San Diego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel, short walk from gaslamp district

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Staff were helpful good hotel, 25 min walk from conference centre, or a short cab ride. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from silva

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The hotel was alright other than the staff being very naggy about us leaving right at checkout time. We lost track of time and they still insist on being annoying, like come on.. the housekeeping lady's were very nice and kept up with our needs!