Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor accommadations.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
While some of the staff tried to help, the stay not worth it. Starting hair being in various places, no doubt from the cleaning lady. Then I didn't have cable television for the last 3 days. Next was marijuana smell everywhere, but I should have known from what appeared to be a drug bust after I checked in. Overall you get what you pay for, pay a little extra and go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, We appreciate you taking the time to give us some constructive feedback. It's always important to us to know how we can improve your experience for the future. It's troubling to hear that your room was not clean when you arrived. All of our guests deserve a comfortable space, so we are very sorry that your cable stopped working and that there was an unpleasant odor in your room. We do our best to stay on top of maintenance, and it's unfortunate that you experienced such a lapse in cleanliness. Please also know that our staff is always available to try and fix issues like these during your stay to ensure a better experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide the stay you were expecting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Elevator was not working. Staircase was under construction and it was not completed. The room smelled. AC was not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
It is our aim to provide each guest with a comfortable stay at a great value. We regret that we did not achieve this during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concerns regarding several maintenance issues to our attention. We are working to quickly get the elevator and stair projects completed. We will also work with housekeeping and maintenance to take care of the A/C and odor issues you experienced. Thank you again for bringing these details to our attention, and we would love another chance to provide the stay you were expecting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Our main issue was the room we were given had a broken top lock, damaged furniture and a broken a/c..... How ever we did get moved....
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to again apologize that your first room had some that did not meet your expectations nor our standards for what we hope to provide. You did the right thing in letting us know you were not satisfied. We are grateful for the opportunity you gave us to relocate you into a more suitable room and hopefully, remedy the situation. Hopefully, your second room met all of your expectations and you were able to have a comfortable, restful stay. Again, thank you for sharing and we hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you're in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to my friend

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: the pool
Cons: free wifi
Location: hung out with my friends
it was affordable and the room that i got was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We are happy to see that we were able to provide a nice, affordable location to spend quality time with your friends. We do apologize for any issues you may have experienced with our Wi-Fi. Please know that our staff is always available to try and help resolve those types of issues to the best of our ability. Thank you again for your positive review and we would love the opportunity to host you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not pleasant

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The room was smelley and also the elevator needs an upgrade it's very old and very slow
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Your constructive feedback is invaluable to our continual improvement. We are disappointed to hear that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Thank you for notifying us of the smell in your room, and as we strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms to all our guests, we will fix it as soon as possible. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel in every way.. I did not feel safe

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Drug addicts everywhere. Roaches. Dirty. Not safe. In every way the place was aweful and expensive for all the awefulnrss. Stayed second night at Holiday inn express after staying at RodewAy felt like I was at a 5 star hotel at holiday inn...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
It is our goal to deliver an excellent guest experience at a great value for everyone who comes to our hotel. We apologize if you ever felt unsafe or were concerned with other guests. Please rest assured that we work very hard to provide clean, safe and drug-free accommodations to all of our guests. We will share your concerns with our housekeeping and front desk staff to improve our service for future guests. Again, we are sorry that we did not provide the stay that you were hoping for and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right by frwy

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Place just so so I have rented better and worse motels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East. Our goal is to provide our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations and great service. We'd love for you to contact us directly, so we can discuss how we could have improved your stay, and what aspects you did enjoy. It would be a pleasure to host you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Someone was in my room when I got there. I had to change the twice because there were problems. The cable was really bad. The sheets had stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the events that transpired during your visit. It must have been confusing to enter your room and find another guest already there. This is not a typical occurrence at our accommodations as we usually do not experience system syncing problems. We would also like to apologize for not meeting your expectations, once you were provided another room. Hopefully, you brought the issues you encountered to the attention of our staff so they could take care of them and ensure you had a comfortable stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Given the chance, we would like to make it up to you by delivering the clean, comfortable accommodations you rightly expected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Dirty bugs drug needles on the stairs lobby dirty snack machine needs to be updated cleaning crew horrible front desk horrible worst place i ever stayed at. Noise all hours of the night people live there . Dont ever recommend anyone to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure our guests have clean, quiet accommodations and friendly, helpful service. We're deeply distressed by the level of cleanliness and service you described, and apologize that they fell so short of our usual standards. We intend to discuss your comments with our team, especially housekeeping, front desk and snack vendor. Constructive feedback is always appreciated, and we intend to use it to continue to improve our guest's accommodations. We'd love the chance to make it up to you in the future by providing you with the enjoyable stay you deserve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
It was okay but they could make it look nicer and cleaner inside the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
It is our aim to always provide our guests with a comfortable, clean room at an affordable rate. We apologize that your recent stay with us did not deliver the accommodations you were expecting. Your comments will be shared with housekeeping to ensure all rooms are being properly prepared up to our standards, prior to guest arrival. Next time you are in San Diego, we would like to invite you back to provide you with an excellent stay.