Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland Australia

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and convenient
Location: zoo, sea front, shops, eateries.
Very convenient to sites and shopping. Easy off street parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Hi Trish! Thank you so much for your 4-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and that you found our location to be convenient. We sure hope you will be back again soon! Warmest regards, Pinar/Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The area was okay and not far from where i planned to go. The moment i walked in there it was small, smelled and did not look like the picture provided. Staff was cool though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest,Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are truly sorry that it was not up to your expectations. We are continuously making several updates and upgrades to our hotel. We will take your feedback to heart and hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity. Warm Regards,Pinar/Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Not enough parking to accomodate rooms. Gnats everywhere in the bathroom. Left the light on at night cause I was afraid roaches would come out
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued comments. First, I would like to sincerely apologize for the gnats you saw and I want to assure you that we take cleanliness very seriously and work hard to ensure the hotel is kept to the highest standards. After researching your comments I had personally inspected your accommodation . I apologize for this oversight and your observation and experience is in no way representative of the condition of our overall hotel. I would sincerely appreciate a second opportunity so that I may provide you with our clean and comfortable accommodations and an overall favorable experience of our hotel. Assuring you of my desire to be of service at all times. Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Pinar/Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Old, dirty and depressing

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Nice front desk girl
Cons: I don't have enough time
Homeless men camp out in front on the sidewalk and in back of the hotel. There were so many issues - it depresses me to think about it. Just say NO - if you're thinking about staying at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests, and we apologize if we fell short of that during your stay. Sincerely, Pinar/Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
This place is dirty, the surroundings are unpleasant and you generally feel unsafe the whole time, especially at night. The pictures on the Expedia page look nice, but when you get there everything is dirty and dingy. The surroundings are unpleasant and there is a lot of night traffic and noise of people coming in and out, which keeps you awake and scared all night long. There is a busy highway on the back and a dirty sketchy street in the front. The blankets in the beds were visibly dirty and the floors were dirty as well. I did not feel safe the whole time. Even the taxi driver told me that drivers are disgusted by going there, because the clientele is generally sketchy (people on drugs, or obviously in sex trade). I understand that the hotel management has no control over the surroundings, but they should make efforts to provide comfort inside, like replacing the bed sheets and cleaning up the floors. I noticed in the Expedia reviews that the hotel either responds by noting that the reviewer was not a guest of the hotel or that they did not receive a complaint from the guest -the picture below of dirty sheets burnt with cigarettes or something is real! These people should stop the excuses and clean up; Expedia should not list this hotel as an option, as this is actually a disservice to the Expedia customers. So bad!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry that you did not enjoy a restful stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us .We take cleanliness very seriously and work hard to ensure the hotel is kept to the highest standards. I assure you I will be speaking with our associates to ensure rooms are in perfect order as they should have been for you. We do have exciting plans for improvements coming soon which will include a whole new look for our guest rooms and we hope that you might reconsider another stay with us sometime in the future, as we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back again, Pinar/Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good location for getting places

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Bedding
Location: It's an easy walk to the Gaslamp, downtown, water front, Little Italy and Balboa Park. The resident homeless man is staying nearby.
I was disappointed with this hotel's age for the price. The room was really out-dated. There were water stains on the ceiling and the bedding and pillows were old and had cigarette burns on it. If you do stay here ask for a room that is not in the hallway between wings because the sound echoes really badly and it's very loud. The front desk staff was friendly. The cleaning staff spruced the room each day. And it is easy to walk to many districts from here. I was lucky to get parking without a problem. There are about 8 places for the whole place. Bring your own pillow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Rosey, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this review! We are so glad that our downtown location worked well for you. We are also happy to hear that our staff were friendly during your stay. We do have some exciting renovation plans which will include a whole new look for our guest rooms, which we hope everyone will really enjoy. We thank you for your feedback and appreciate your patronage.We certainly understand that downtown city noise can be bothersome for sure, and we do apologize that your stay was not the exceptional one that we hope all of our guests experience. Thank you and warmest regards, Pinar/Guest Services Agent
5 out of 5
by Issis

Amazing for the price

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay at the downtown lodge was wodnerful. They definitely offers a lot for the price they charge. Would definitely recommend for the traveler on a budget
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Issis, Thank you very much for your 5-star review!! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back for another visit again soon! Warmest regards, Pinar/Guest Services Agent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mohave Valley, AZ

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Floors were so dirty they blackened my socks just walking to the bathroom! The bathtub did not work no plug and the control plunger for the shower was stuck in the shower position. Pillows were horrible and run down and stained overall it was just gross!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by rosy, Hotel Management
Sorry but we do not have you as a recent guest you might have the hotel mistaken.. thank you
5 out of 5
by Bikrant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nigel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels