Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southetn california

Golf school stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015
I teach golf for a southern California golf school. When in the San Diego area I stay at san vicente golf resort. Good pricing on meals and rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Wasn't our fault.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Talk to the so-called offenders BEFORE comping any rooms.
Location: Golf, swim (nice large pool), hike (trailhead right across the street) or play tennis. They're all literally right there.
Have stayed here before and it truly is a wonderful deal. Very reasonably priced, on a golf course, decent enough restaurant & bar on site and an easy 40-45 minute drive to San Diego or Del Mar. However, this visit was marred by the fact that my wife was made to feel it was our fault they comped the room next to us. Turns out the night before, our last after a wonderful week of just the two of us, we followed up a fantastic sunset with some very soft & romantic music out on the balcony for about half an hour and the person next door used that as an excuse to get comped. Funny there was no mentioned of the kids horsing around on golf carts later that evening. Maybe if I mentioned that, we could have got our room comped too! My guess is the person was a cheapskate and was looking for any excuse not to pay and they caved. Nobody, and I mean nobody, ever spoke to us to get the facts until checkout. Even then she didn't want the facts she just wanted to blame us for having had to comp the room. The fact that they nearly brought my wife to tears at that point after giving them the amount of business we did for the week was inexcusable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long scary, windy road

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The hotel is great if you plan on staying there confined to the hotel and vicinity. Golf, which my husband and I don't do, would probably do fine. But if you plan on going into San Diego to do stuff, or eat i would not recommend this hotel. It has an overpriced spa, a bar and grill that closes at 9:30pm, a restaurant/cafe that has a very limited menu and has mediocre food. On top of that to leave going back and forth to town back to hotel there is a treacherous road, that every time you make it you thank God.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Beautiful hotel felt very comfortable if you Golf even better. Little bit of a drive away from what we wanted to do but worth it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort !!! You will not be disappointed!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Stayed over one night I am a contractor working in the area , did not want to leave . Staff , food , beverages , rooms Great !! Beautiful and relaxing . Have already recommended it .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great when on special

Posted Aug 5, 2015
The hotel staff at lunch and later in the day seemed distracted, but the day time lady was very nice. It's a busy property tucked in a quiet area. Decent rooms overall; especially for $65 discount. I wouldn't of paid more than $90 to stay there. The $4 food coupons were nice. Food was much better than expected at the oaks grille!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Den Bosch

Prima hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Het was een keurig, mooi, schoon en net hotel
Cons: Niks
Location: In het midden van een afgelegen gebied. Met de auto zijn verschillende mooie plekken en bezienswaardigheden te ontdekken, zoals Flagstaff en Sedona
Een meer dan prima hotel. Schoon, mooi en net hotel op een fantastische plek. Natuurlijk geldt de plek niet voor iedereen als pluspunt, want het ligt echt in the middle of nowere. Maar voor ons was dit prima naar een paar dagen Vegas. Echt een fantastische kamer met een nog mooier uitzicht.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They tried, but still inconsistent

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Location: nothing to do in ramona.
The canyon roads to get there are a bit tough. After three days, they got to be more tolerable. Some of the staff was great; others, not so much. Seemed like they were trying, but it was very inconsistent. There was a dead cockroach outside our door one day. Some days the maid would refill the coffee packets; other days she wouldn't. Some days we had four sets of towels in the bathroom; other days there were two or three. As far as toiletries, there was shampoo but no conditioner. We would borrow tennis racquets and balls from the front desk. Sometimes we were given three balls; other times we got a grocery bag full. (Thanks, Teri!) We ordered from the Oaks Grill pretty much every day. Two days, the salad was huge and wonderful. The third time I ordered, the salad was 1/3 the size of the previous days. Sometimes "over medium" eggs were perfect. The last morning, it was runny and undercooked. Hash browns were overcooked the first day, perfect the next. The list goes on and on. I plan to write a more detailed review on yelp. We stayed for five nights; so I got a good feel for the place. Oh yeah, there is no laundry facility. You have to drive five miles into Ramona and find the coin laundry. I'd give it 3.5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Nice view, great rate. Outdated decor. Bedspread and throw pillow were both stained ( old or new , just nasty ) but I yank the bedspreads off and throw in the corner as soon as I walk in the room. Safe, affordable , nice setting. All things considered , I was happy with this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loma Linda

Nice hotel in the countryside

Posted Jul 10, 2015
I had a very good restful experience. Walks on the nearby hills were healing.