Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
All staff friendly and helpful on finding things in the town. Room was nice and very clean. We will definitely be staying here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quaint little spot

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Bryce was fantastic. Overall great hospitality. Strongly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Wonderful location. Staff was amazing and the rooms were quaint and beautiful. Highly recommend a stay at Scripps Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Lovely inn across from ocean

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location, space, staff
Cons: Not much.
Location: Quiet location in a more residential area. Can walk to town. Access to beaches is a short walk away. Ocean access opposite hotel is more of a cliff.
Lovely, small inn with only 9 units. Across the street from the ocean. Nice view from our third floor suite. Had 2 bedrooms, living room, and kitchen/eating area with one bath. Quiet, in the more residential part of town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The staff who were exceptionally accommodating and cheerful. They offered great suggestions for local restaurants and entertainment.
Cons: Nothing. Everything from parking to cleanliness and sense of privacy was excellent
Location: Lots to do-most all of it within walking distance. Going back because I wasn't able to do all I wanted.
Perfect location-close to everything-Excellent unobstructed views of ocean and beaches right across the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Perfect location. Nice and spacious rooms. Friendly staff, all of La Jolla in walking distance. From what we have seen this seemed to have been the best place to stay in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A gem in La Jolla

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: It's right on Coast Boulevard, and across it there's only the ocean. And Coast Boulevard isn't a busy thoroughfare, but a slow, scenic drive.
Cons: The chocolate croissant was on the stale side, but the coffee from the Keurig coffee maker made up for it.
Location: La Jolla Cove is even in the busy summer a quaint and upmarket beach city, offering excellent shopping dining, kayaking and snorkeling.
During my years working as a travel writer I have been privy to staying in some of the nicest hotels around the world. And the boutique Scripps Inn is in my Top 3. The rooms are spacious, bright and nicely appointed. There is just the right amount of furniture to keep the feeling light and airy. Room #15 has a little patio facing the water - ideal for the morning coffee or the afternoon cocktail. But all the other rooms, too, have a little sitting arrangement outside their door to relax and enjoy the view. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, creating an atmosphere that feels like visiting distance relatives.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yuma,AZ

A beautiful little hideaway

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: I never really slept well in a hotel/motel but I did in this one the bed was very comfortable and the shower was hot with a lot of water pressure
Cons: Nothing
Location: The beach is directly across the street from the Inn, walk anywhere within a 10 block radius and you have boutiques, museums, restaurants.
Not only do you get the most beautiful view of the ocean with easy access to the beach, stores and restaurants within walking distance you get the most adorable room, comfortable bed, hot shower with plenty of water pressure. On top of that you have a friendly staff and a nice continental breakfast, I only wish I could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jaw dropping

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The accommodations were amazing and staff super friendly and views for days definitely going back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice small hotel right at the beach.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: comfortable, updated room, comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom.
Cons: Walls are thin, but it was quiet at night.
Location: Awesome location! Across a small street from the beach and tide pools, easy walking up into town.
This small hotel has no pool, but you're literally across a small street from the beach so who needs one! This area is all cliffs, so there are steps down to all the beach areas. There are walking paths and little parks all along the cliffs, and it's easy to walk up to restaurants in town. The scenery is gorgeous! Our room was spacious, updated and comfortable. Our bathroom wall was adjacent to the office and I could hear talking through the wall, but it wasn't loud and the office closes at 6, so it was quiet at night. The office manager is happy to give you recommendations on anything you want to see or do, and will even help you with reservations. I would definitely stay there again.