Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantadtic Experience in La Jolla

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The rooms were large, well decorated, comfortable, and clean. The location is unbeatable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to ocean/great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Great LaJolla location, could walk to museum, restaurants and beach
Cons: Thought the breakfast was only average, would have liked fresh fruit to eat, coffee other than Keurig and better pastries!
Loved the location and how close to the ocean, could hear the waves. Bed was comfortable and bath was nice. Expected a better continental breakfast, did not think the pastries were great, no option other than Keurig coffee and no fresh fruit as part of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great hotel by the ocean. Very quiet. Walking distance to shop and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Would definitely stay here again.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Met our needs, and was a very pleasant experience.
Cons: Maybe a nice coffee bar.
Location: All good!
Lovely, comfortable room. Very friendly staff. Lovely beach side location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We have been coming to La Jolla for over 15 years and typically stay in the Shores area. Decided to try this ocean view Village location and were pleasantly surprised. Staff were super friendly and location perfect walking distance to everything - shore walk and village. Room was beautifully decorated and spacious. My only reason for giving this location a 4 out of 5 was the bed and pillows. The bed was pretty stiff and bouncy and the pillows super firm. Future guests would benefit from a pillowtop mattress, selection on pillows with different firmness and much less heavy large comforter. Otherwise perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Amazing hotel, close to the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2016
What amazing find, we were only there for 2 nights and wish we didn't have to leave. Perfect location and rooms were so comfortable, you can hear the sea outside at night. Owners were so helpful and friendly. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Griswold, USA

Absolutely Beautiful Room and Great Location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: This location is perfect in every way. Not only convenient to shops and dining, but also beautiful!!!
Cons: The walls were thin, you can hear neighbors. I wish there was a bowl of fruit at breakfast and that it started earlier than 8am.
Location: Across the street is the Pacific Ocean! Around the corner are the shops and restaurants of La Jolla.
This is a charming boutique hotel right on the water in La Jolla. At night I could hear the waves crashing on the shore. A leisurely walk along Coast Blvd goes right along the waterfront, passing seals and sea lions. The room is beautifully decorated in soothing colors. The bed and pillow were comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and clean. The toiletries were nice smelling. There was a sitting area with a couch and a small dining table with chairs. There was a Keurig. In the closet was a small fridge. There is a ceiling fan to move air if wanted. I don't know if there is AC, I didn't need it. The windows open to let in fresh air and the wonder sound of the waves. The staff was friendly and attentive. The cleaning crew very thorough. The continental breakfast consists mainly of bakery fresh rolls, muffins, pastries, and scones. There was also granola, instant oatmeal, yogurt and juice. Since we were checking out early the following day, we were allowed to take some of the left over pastries. The location is perfect. Easy walking to many of La Jolla's restaurants and shops. Perfect in so many ways, I'll stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, room and staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The location was great - right across a small street from the water. You could be on the edge of a cliff in one minute.
Cons: Only complaint was the noisy neighbors, but again, I don't think it could be helped. Try to request an upstairs room.
Location: The hotel was walkable to pretty much anything, and nothing was more than a $5-7 Uber ride away if you weren't up for the walk.
The room was much more spacious than I'd thought it would be, with a large living space and a small dining area. It was very clean and tastefully decorated. We were in the back and it was a bit dark, but it didn't matter since we were out all day. The only downside was our heavy-footed, door-slamming neighbors upstairs, but I don't think there would be much the staff could do about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great staycation for our anniversary!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Bryce set us up at Eddy V's restaurant, very good. Listening to the ocean and waves while in the room and falling asleep to it was amazing.
Cons: N/A
I highly recommend Scripps Inn. My husband and I stayed for only one night for our anniversary and were blown away with how helpful, friendly and genuine the staff and Bryce were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful getaway

Posted Oct 8, 2016
I always stay here when I'm in the area. Great staff, clean and comfortable rooms. I enjoy the proximity to the beach -- to be honest I don't even like writing this positive review because I wish I could keep the place as much a secret as possible :).