Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Window facing the brach in our room
Location: Great ocean view and access and many great resturants
Pretty area and setting but cold windy rainy weather
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Picture perfect location in a phenomenal town!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: The location is just about perfect. We've stayed in La Jolla before and this was by far my favorite location.
Cons: Confusion over the dates of our reservation, although resolved, was unnerving. The sound proofing is not good and we didn't get phone service.
Location: The location is ideal.! You can walk to the beach and the coves. You can paddleboard or surf. The best restaurants in town are within easy reach.
The Scripps Inn is a very special small hotel with a wonderful location and many outstanding features. The rooms are comfortable and have quality furnishings with tasteful beach decor. You can actually hear the ocean crashing on the beach across the street. Our king bed was extremely comfortable and was set at an angle which made the room a little more interesting than a standard box hotel room. The toiletries were top class, lavender botanical lotions and gels. The shared patio outside the room had a gorgeous view of the beach and was the perfect spot to take the continental breakfast you could pick up in the morning from the lobby. Karla at reception was very personable and gave us good advise about restaurants in the area. She also was extremely helpful in returning some clothing that my husband left in one of the drawers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Wonderful, quaint, nicely decorated and cozy.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Great hotel. We heard the sound of waves all night. Place was perfectly decorated with a Cape Cod theme. The only slight problem would be the heater and the noise it makes. Otherwise, great location. It's a little further down the cove, so much quieter. I would definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantadtic Experience in La Jolla

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The rooms were large, well decorated, comfortable, and clean. The location is unbeatable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to ocean/great location

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Great LaJolla location, could walk to museum, restaurants and beach
Cons: Thought the breakfast was only average, would have liked fresh fruit to eat, coffee other than Keurig and better pastries!
Loved the location and how close to the ocean, could hear the waves. Bed was comfortable and bath was nice. Expected a better continental breakfast, did not think the pastries were great, no option other than Keurig coffee and no fresh fruit as part of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great hotel by the ocean. Very quiet. Walking distance to shop and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Would definitely stay here again.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Met our needs, and was a very pleasant experience.
Cons: Maybe a nice coffee bar.
Location: All good!
Lovely, comfortable room. Very friendly staff. Lovely beach side location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We have been coming to La Jolla for over 15 years and typically stay in the Shores area. Decided to try this ocean view Village location and were pleasantly surprised. Staff were super friendly and location perfect walking distance to everything - shore walk and village. Room was beautifully decorated and spacious. My only reason for giving this location a 4 out of 5 was the bed and pillows. The bed was pretty stiff and bouncy and the pillows super firm. Future guests would benefit from a pillowtop mattress, selection on pillows with different firmness and much less heavy large comforter. Otherwise perfect!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay in La Jolla!

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful inn with a gorgeous location in La Jolla! You just can't beat the ocean views right across the street. The front desk was very helpful with suggestions for activities in the area as well. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, and the ocean view from the room was great. My only complaint was the noise coming from other rooms-either from doors/closets opening or closing, or just loud voices, as the walls are thin. Overall, we had a great stay here, and would definitely return.