Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice little getaway located next to the beach! :)

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We REALLY enjoyed our weekend getaway. The pictures on their website accurately portrayed the room we stayed in. The staff was friendly. The shops and restaurants were easily accessible (5 to 10 minute walk. ) Very Cozy and Romantic. .I had two complaints... limited parking space and a little bit on noise from the the upstairs guest. ( I could here someone walking around while we were trying to sleep )...However, I would MOST definitely stay here again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NY

Beautiful

Posted Jan 28, 2016
I loved our stay at Scripps. The staff was friendly, room was clean and big and the ocean couldn't get any closer. I felt right at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The hotel is near all the attractions of La Jolla. So pleasant to hear the sound of the crashing waves from our room. And it was wonderful to walk along the ocean right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Better than expected

Posted Jan 15, 2016
We chose this BN be totally based on reviews. Bryce was totally accommodating and called me a week before our visit to inform me that my choice of room was not available but he made concessions. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and the staff made excellent suggestions for lunch and dinner venues. It was my wife's birthday and she was thrilled. We will definitely go back. Magical trip to Southern Cal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

relaxing beach getaway

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: the decor and proximity to the beach
Cons: breakfast, the TV remote was complicated
Location: beach, beach, beach! Shopping, if you're into that sort of thing, but very high priced.
The website does not do this place justice! The beach is literally right across the street. The view from the patio is stunning! We even saw whales! The rooms are gorgeous with emphasis put on the living space rather than the bedrooms. The staff couldn't be better. The restaurants they recommended were top notch. We particularly liked Duke's for dinner and Cody's for breakfast. Initially we were disappointed that the full ocean view mentioned on the website was less than we'd hoped for. The way the staff handled my frustration was the definition of excellent customer service. The walk to town is 10 minutes but beautiful. Note, the streets are not well lit after dark so be careful. The hotel was clearly not set up to serve breakfast but the pastries we delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Across the street from the ocean

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Location and quaint rooms
Location: shopping within walking, ocean right outside your door
Beautiful location across the street from the ocean no obstructed view. Walk to the tide pools and childrens cove to see the seals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Perfect location on the beachfront

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Lovely view over the Pacific from the balcony. Nice happy hour with cheese and vine although the vegetables had seen better days, next day all fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, need new pillows!

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Walking distance to all shops and restaurants in La Jolla. 15min drive to Mission Bay. Beach is across the street. Hiking nearby. Parking is good. Views from room aren't what you'd expect but walk out the door and sit in the patio and you got it! Beds could be better. Bring your own pillow, there's are way below par. They also need body length mirrors. Kitchenette is perfect. Bathrooms are good. Closet space is ok but for long stays with two bedroom groups of four or more you will have to live out of your suitcase. No stand for several suitcases either not dresser. Couch and TV living room area is nice. Porches have nice sitting areas for breakfast sunrise or sunset or to watch your kids. Continental breakfast needs work. REALLY nice staff. Very easy process when booked through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can hear the waves through the night from your roo

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Thank you to the staff for upgrading us. We loved our "apartment" by the sea. David and Savanna took good care of us. Loved the scones!