Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but limited hours

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The location was great and the views were fantastic. However, the hotel office hours are quite limited. You really need to check in before 6PM or the office will be closed. We just made it by 5:45PM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Great view, nice location.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Staff exceptionally nice and accommodating. The location is walking distance from many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima, WA

Small inn with great beach access and view.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Liked the closeness to the beach. Rooms are clean with a good view. Housekeeping services were great. They thoroughly cleaned our room everyday.
Cons: -bathroom needs air vent -more breakfast choices (cereal or toast) would have been nice -need more beach chairs as they were checked out everyday
Location: Beach is across the street. Parking was available for free. It is close to and within walking distance to LaJolla shopping.
We arrived after lobby was closed. We called ahead to get instructions to check into our room. If we had not done this we would not have been able to get into our room. The facility was clean with beach access across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We loved this hotel. Great location with wonderful room. When we come back to the San Diego area, this will be our go to lodging. The ONLY negative which isn't even horrible is the lack of power outlets in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, Colorado

Beautiful views & room, wonderful staff, romantic

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Bryce Nelson was exceptional, all staff we met were helpful and friendly, breakfast was perfect, room was clean and nicely beach themed, views from room were beautiful, right across from beach (no hotels on beach and no buildings between hotel and beach), having windows open to sleep with cool ocean breezes + soft sounds of the surf = wonderful, clean and well kept, all needed amenities, dream vacation ~ wish it was longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Close to beach; disappointing for price.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room was attractive, large, clean, and comfortable. However, we could not enjoy our "partial ocean view" because we had to keep the shades closed for privacy as there was lots of traffic outside all our windows. Also, lots of noise from the room upstairs. Continental breakfast was OK but no breakfast room. No real cream for coffee. Did not seem worth the premium price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

A too brief respite

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Flying in and out of San Diego, we visited along the coastline from SD to Newport Beach but wanted to spend our last night in LaJolla. Got a great price Scripps in for the four of us. We got there after the two hour check-in window and had trouble opening the dropbox then finding our room in the dark but once in, we enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. The hot shower was wonderful. We woke up to the sound of waves, clear sky and glimpses of the ocean from our first floor windows. Staff was nice and breakfast decent with plenty of good coffee. Location was ideal. Would love to return and stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Comfortable hotel near the beach

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Good hotel. In front of sea. Clean room, kind staff, comfortable bed. I would like visit in summer again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location and room
Cons: Window facing the brach in our room
Location: Great ocean view and access and many great resturants
Pretty area and setting but cold windy rainy weather
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Picture perfect location in a phenomenal town!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: The location is just about perfect. We've stayed in La Jolla before and this was by far my favorite location.
Cons: Confusion over the dates of our reservation, although resolved, was unnerving. The sound proofing is not good and we didn't get phone service.
Location: The location is ideal.! You can walk to the beach and the coves. You can paddleboard or surf. The best restaurants in town are within easy reach.
The Scripps Inn is a very special small hotel with a wonderful location and many outstanding features. The rooms are comfortable and have quality furnishings with tasteful beach decor. You can actually hear the ocean crashing on the beach across the street. Our king bed was extremely comfortable and was set at an angle which made the room a little more interesting than a standard box hotel room. The toiletries were top class, lavender botanical lotions and gels. The shared patio outside the room had a gorgeous view of the beach and was the perfect spot to take the continental breakfast you could pick up in the morning from the lobby. Karla at reception was very personable and gave us good advise about restaurants in the area. She also was extremely helpful in returning some clothing that my husband left in one of the drawers