Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Somerset was a comfortable place to stay.

Posted May 20, 2016
Minor imperfections such as a coffee table having a stain but the whole suite was really charming and a lot of amenities, local restaurants...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear our location, amenities and the room worked out so well for you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Ian Calef Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney AUS

San Diego APRIL 2016

Posted May 4, 2016
Close to the zoo and Balboa Park Also placed well to drive to Embarcadero and Coronado
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Ian, Hotel Management
Hello RG and Thank you so much for your kind review. Our location really is so centrally located to so many San Diego attractions. We look forward to having you join us again to experience more of the hotel and San Diego. Ian Calef Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ok

Close to San Diego zoo and many food options

Posted Apr 30, 2016
This is a nice comfortable hotel. The room was huge and nice. It was right off the highway and easy to get to. We were able to find food nearby including some grocery stores. Getting to the zoo was very easy and a very short drive. It was clean and quiet. The breakfast was also nice and the worker that was helping with breakfast was so wonderful. She was so patient with my kids who were all hyped up and had a spill and so kind to us. Our room was a one bedroom suite and it had a kitchen area which was great so we cooked one night at the hotel which was great for some downtime. If we come to San Diego again we will definitely stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2016 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you Melinda for your wonderful review. It sounds like we were such a great fit for your families vacation. We'll definitely look forward to you return and be here to provide you with another memorable stay. Ian Calef Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Julio C. from Utah

Suites highly recommended.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We went to San Diego for 5 days. The hotel is amazing, very clean, located in one of the best areas of the city (Mission Hills), the stuff was very nice, helpful. The room www amazing, it had 1 room with two double beds, a TV, a bathroom, a kitchen fully furnished and with all the necessary items to cook meals, the "living room" had another TV, and a queen sofa bed. It also had a balcony with a couple of chairs and small table. I highly recommend this hotel. No complaints at all. You can't go wrong. Location wise: perfect. A lot of restaurants within walking distance, "Vons Market" (it's like Walmart), banks within couple of blocks (Chase, US Bank, Wells Fargo), a very safe area. The hotels offers free wifi, free breakfast (between 6:30 am and 9:30 (weekdays) and 7 am to 10 am (weekends). They also have a "happy hour" on Tuesday where the customers can meet other travelers while eat. We didn't go since we arrived there mins before "happy hour."
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Viridiana, Hotel Management
Hello Julio and Thank you for your fabulous 5 Star review. We definitely appreciate the level of detail you put into the description of your stay. It really helps potential guests get a clear idea of what our hotel has to offer and what to expect. Thank you again for your time and effort, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Ian Calef Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Viridiana, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We trust your stay was wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon Ian Calef Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by margaret

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Viridiana, Hotel Management
Hello Margaret and Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon Ian Calef Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Vacation Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were in San Diego on vacation. The staff was very helpful. The desk clerk put me in a room right by the pool when he saw I had 4 kids. The maintenance staff brought a brand new mattress for the sofa bed when we called to say the current one had lost all of its padding and felt like just springs. The pool and hot tub were clean and the pool area was well maintained. The pool itself is heated so we swam a lot. The hotel is very well located and was easy to get anywhere we wanted to go (i.e. 6 min to zoo). There are only 2 things that are not ideal about this hotel: it is next to a hospital (sirens any hr of the day - heard it more in living room than in bedroom so kids on sofa bed had it worse) and the parking is very tight if you have a large vehicle. We had a large SUV because there were 6 of us with a lot of luggage and while there was always a spot to park in some of them were very difficult to park a large vehicle in. The breakfast provided was simple but we'll stocked by helpful/friendly attendants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Viridiana, Hotel Management
Hello and Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad the room and location worked out so well for you and your family. I'm also glad to hear that my maintenance and housekeeping staff were able to make the needed modifications to your room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Ian Calef Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Parking was terrible. You can't force me to write more than I want to so accept what I put or don't get my review at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice close to downtown

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Closeness to downtown
Cons: Cleaner rooms
Location: Lots of dinning and ok for walking during the night time.
Nice close to downtown and friendly staff. A bit noisy but it was after 8 am so it was ok I guess. Overall it was a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Ian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad our location was so convenient for you and that our staff treated you so well. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with noise. We look forward to having you back. Ian Calef Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Viridiana, Hotel Management
Than you for your 5 Star review! It's greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again Ian Calef Front Office Manager