Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oceanside CA

Filthy Room !!!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
My stay at Super 8 Comference Center Oceanside California on February 17-20, 2017 was very unpleasant. Checking in the woman was in a rush, and didn't even offer to hand me a receipt showing my bill/deposit. Walked into our room 121 to find cigarette burns on the comforter (non smoking rooms) along with the sheets, the room smelled like something had just died in it, the bathroom towels had black handprints on them, and a huge mold spot in the bathroom next to the bath tub and toilet!! Felt as if this room was used as a drug trafficking room of some sort and shouldn't be able to rent out to ANYONE !! Rushed downstairs to notify the hotel staff and it was brushed off as if it wasn't a big deal even after showing pictures. We were given another thankfully, but still didn't feel comfortable in these rooms. Never again will I EVER stay in a Super 8 again !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I heard better experience else where for a more cheaper rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oceanside,ca

From bad to worse

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel mgr Tyler personalized a review we gave to Expedia so ,altho we'd spoke highly of ALL staff ...HE stated the rest of the review reflects on him and we would have nothing coming. He made our stay miserable despite having already having been there 8 days. It was unbelievable and not even eirth the rates
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

thumbs down

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Check in time 3:00. Showed up at 4. Room not ready. Had to wait 30 mintues. I'll bet they would charge me for staying late though. Room was old and dated. Needs to be upgraded badly. Old tvs. Really nice free breakfast, and can't beat the price. But as always you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oceansidej,ca.

Comfy

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff is very helpful and nice! Especially Tylor. The RMS.are clean but the outside wasn't AS kept up. They're also behind on maintenance(tiles ,light switches, etc).stày All n all tho' ..I can't complain.I've stayed here thru 5 reservations and am comfortable! Thanks Super 8!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be a nice place but needs maintenance

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Coffie pot did not work. Heater did not work, and shower was Stuck on hot water only
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North. carolina

Nasty!!! Don't stay here!!!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The room was cleanish. But had a weird funky smell to it. It's in a very sketchy area. Holmeless people and crack hos wonder the parking lot People obviously live here for months on end and are very loud. Sink and tub drained slow/ clogged. The free breakfast was great as long as all you wanted was toast. The only good thing about this place is the 24 hour donut shop across the street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The desk clerk was the most rude person EVER!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: NOTHING! The smoking rooms stank, I felt I was being price gauged, and the hotel staff called me a very bad word.
Cons: Fire the staff and allow guests to switch to non-smoking rooms if you have the space (which they did!!!!).
Location: The Mission San Luis Rey is closeby and a mini-mall with markets and restaurants.
I arrived tired and expecting a nice room to sleep in. Was told that I had a smoking room. I asked for a non-smoking room and was told that would be $10 more. I refused to pay $10 more on principle! The hotel was practically empty so there was NO reason why I couldn't be switch to a non-smoking room. Then, because I was upset about that, the desk clerk called me a very bad word that I am not allowed to post here in the review (I wish I could). I have NEVER been called that by a desk clerk. I was SHOCKED that anyone in the hospitality business would even think about calling a guest that. Instead of giving me a non-smoking room I was refunded my money and went to stay in a hotel that cost $60 more. It wasn't the money...it was the principle. I guess you have to pay more than $60 to get hospitable service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unwelcome Surprise

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The room and hallway had an old, musty smell. The bathtub drain was slow. However, my biggest complaint was that on my last night we were some up by a rat eating on a Styrofoam food container. I was awake the rest of the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels