Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The desk clerk was the most rude person EVER!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: NOTHING! The smoking rooms stank, I felt I was being price gauged, and the hotel staff called me a very bad word.
Cons: Fire the staff and allow guests to switch to non-smoking rooms if you have the space (which they did!!!!).
Location: The Mission San Luis Rey is closeby and a mini-mall with markets and restaurants.
I arrived tired and expecting a nice room to sleep in. Was told that I had a smoking room. I asked for a non-smoking room and was told that would be $10 more. I refused to pay $10 more on principle! The hotel was practically empty so there was NO reason why I couldn't be switch to a non-smoking room. Then, because I was upset about that, the desk clerk called me a very bad word that I am not allowed to post here in the review (I wish I could). I have NEVER been called that by a desk clerk. I was SHOCKED that anyone in the hospitality business would even think about calling a guest that. Instead of giving me a non-smoking room I was refunded my money and went to stay in a hotel that cost $60 more. It wasn't the money...it was the principle. I guess you have to pay more than $60 to get hospitable service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unwelcome Surprise

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The room and hallway had an old, musty smell. The bathtub drain was slow. However, my biggest complaint was that on my last night we were some up by a rat eating on a Styrofoam food container. I was awake the rest of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita CA

Super 8 Oceanside CA

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Centrally located in Oceanside CA. Near beach, marina, LEGOLAND and San Diego.
Cons: The property needs renovating/updating.
Location: Beaches, LEGOLAND and San Diego
Ok for overnighter or weekend in Oceanside. Low room rates, clean. Not fancy and no frills, just a basic motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Reasonable

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were quick to fix any issues we had with our room.
Cons: They were quick to do repairs but repairs were needed.
Location: Close to beach. A short drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

spend all day at Camp Pendelton, night were good.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Nice place good price close to freeway. the room were very comfortable my room was close to parking lot.
Cons: breakfast not that great but it something till you make it to lunch. Waffles, cereal, coffee, juice,bread, and oatmeal. They do replenish when it gone very good attending to getting more for you. Go early tip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US Rural Nevada

A good value,

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: The pier was a couple minuets away, plenty of places to eat
We only spent one night but enjoyed it, decent location we felt safe, reasonably clean, pleasant staff, competitive price, would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel staff was best part of hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Oceanside beach was great 7 dollar bike rentals!
To be honest you get what you pat for so if you're staying short and you aren't picky this could work for you. I did check out quickly but the staff was amazing when it came to me. They allowed a refund of the nights I didn't stay as well as my full deposit back they also upgraded me free of charge. They made it easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Tyler , Hotel Management
We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, we certainly do try! If possible to extend these comments onto a TripAdvisor review, it would go a long way for us here at the Super 8 Oceanside.. Thank you either way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from camp pendleton

Everything we needed

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, about 2miles.
Cons: Outside our window 204, really needed to b cleaned up, broken wood with nails sticking out, dead and broken bushes.
Location: Lots of shops within walking distance.
Very roomy, not crowed with furniture. Inside very clean and attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rancho cucamonga

Great hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great experience I'd recommend it to my family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Visiting Family in Oceanside CA

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Affordable
Cons: Needs a little updating
Location: Oceanside CA is adjacent to Camp Pendleton Marine Base, has great beaches, 15 minutes from Legoland and 30 minutes from San Diego.
This property is adequate for an overnighter or a no-frills weekend getaway. Its not fancy but it is affordable.