Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel style for sleeping only!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: It's very dated.
Location: Everything and anything!
If you are looking for creature comforts this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking to jump out of bed and head straight to the beach, then this is your place! It's inexpensive, rooms are small, but the beds are comfortable and it's right on the beach. Hot water, minifridge, and a tv for comfort. Bars, Woody's, and restaurants right outside. I was worried that it was going to be loud but it was not. The parking lot is terrible, but my car did not get broken into so all is well. Personally, next time I would request the top floor. For the price, this is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The hotel is steps away from the beach, shops, and many restaurants! Keep you windows open and listen to the ocean sounds! The beds and pillows are super comfy! I wish I was still there!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Ideal inexpensive place in a great location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Our power went out because we had the AC unit going, TV, and blow dryer. Never had that happen at a hotel before.
Location: We loved Woody's for breakfast - 1 minute walk to get there from our room. Pacific Beach AleHouse - Great food Baja Tacos - Amazing Margaritas
The reviews are for the most part accurate. The place is a bit dated and rooms are pretty small, but for the price and location, it works! The hotel staff were nice and accommodating. The location is great. Close to many bars and restaurants all walking distance. Ladies, they do not have blow dryers in the room. Not sure if the front desk has them, but keep that in mind. All around a decent cheap spot. We were traveling for a wedding in Temecula and wanted a couple days on the beach prior so this worked out!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Our hotel room was very dirty. The. Arrest smelled like mold, it was so moldy and smelly we had trouble sleeping at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach but hotel is old/dirty.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The closeness of the beach and shops/restaurants.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms.
Hotel is dirty, had to have housekeeping come up and clean room after we checked in again. The staff that is there is so friendly and helpful, just not enough staff. The view was more of the flat roof with restaurants fans running and noisy and less of the beach. No air conditioning which could be a problem when the weather is hot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Best location ever. Friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location........Can get oceanview room
Cons: Exterior hallway and elevator need need flooring
Location: Surfing, restaurants, sandy beach, little shops right next to it
Loved every minute of it. Excellent World Famous (that's the name of it) right on the premises. Would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uy

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Price, views, place, everything
Location: On the beach, Boardwalk close the sea
Nice hotel, great beach views, reasonable price, excellent staff, what else do you need?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rego Park, NY

On the beach but not worth it

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I needed a place to stay at the last minute so I could tackle the 2 1/2 hr drive to Palm Desert after a good rest. Thought it would be nice to wake up early and enjoy the beach before leaving. Got this place at the last min. Did not look like the pics at all! I had room 201 right next to the elevator and laundry room. Very noisy! I wouldn't have minded the sound of the ocean but it was a motor like sound. Old,dated, smelly and grimy. Couldn't wait to leave! The only thing it has going for it is that it is right on the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brescia, Italy

Posizione ottima, proprio di fronte all'oceano

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: La posizione
Cons: L'hotel è un po' vecchiotto, andrebbe ristrutturato, ma è ok
Location: Posizione di fronte all'oceano, vista spettacolare. Vicino all'hotel ci sono diversi pub dove si può mangiare a tutte le ore: consigliamo Kono's Cafè!
Abbiamo soggiornato al Surfer per 3 notti. La posizione dell'hotel è ottima, proprio di fronte all'oceano, a due passi dalla spiaggia e proprio sulla passeggiata di Pacific Beach. La colazione non è inclusa ma in reception sono disponibili macchinette per farsi tè, caffè, cappuccino e cioccolata, tutto gratuitamente, 24 ore su 24. Il personale in reception è molto cordiale. Oltre al parcheggio a pagamento messo a disposizione dall'hotel, è disponibile proprio di fronte all'hotel un parcheggio gratuito (anche se non molto grande, quindi spesso è pieno).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed here three times and it's been solid.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Convenient location and great staff.
We come to San Diego every summer around labor and stay at SBH and it's been great every time. Very close to the beach and all of the amenities of Pacific Beach. Great ocean view from our room this time. We'll probably come back next year.