Ratings based on 1,719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Grand historic site.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: the heavenly bed, the lobby cookies
Cons: see above. Also a booklet with the history would be nice in the rooms as well as check-out time and other details.
Location: You can walk to Seaport Village and of course the Gaslamp district, which was fun.
Lots to do within walking distance. Outstanding cookies in the lobby. Our phone wouldn't let us all the front desk but the valets were prompt. I thought I would get a paper but did not. A wine and cheese reception in the afternoon would have been nice as well as more tours of the place, but the pictures and wall info helped us appreciate the place. I thought the valet parking was high but otherwise, a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Convenient location! Beautiful hotel! The staff were all very friendly and accommodating!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very good hotel and staff. I would come back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite what I had expected

Posted Jun 4, 2016
A strong sulfur smell lingered in the hotel, especially in the hotels water. Left your hair smelling like sulfur after a shower. One of the times valet brought our car around we noticed a prominent burning clutch smell in the car like it was driven hard. Lastly a couple of the room pillows had unsightly stains on them. Not something I would expect from a hotel like that.
2 out of 5
by Luis Antonio from Glendora

Don't waste your money. Overrated.

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Took the family to San Diego for my wife's birthday and decided to stay at the US Grant based on the reviews. Ask for a room with 2 beds for the kids. I received a handicap room on the third floor next to the elevator with a view of a water hose, a mop, and pipes from the rooftop. Ridiculous for a so called 4 star hotel and paying over $200 a night. Amenities in the room such as the flat screen tv's are extremely old!!! Never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneve, Suisse

Below acceptable cleanlinesa

Posted May 8, 2016
We step into the room to be welcome by one of the most disgusting bathroom I hace come accross
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Staff was really helpful

Posted May 2, 2016
The staff went out of there way They were great From the valet to the front desk and room service was fast. The hotel is very nice Looked pretty good considering how old it is, I would stay again .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks great from the outside with a caveat

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is easy to find especially at night when it is lit up. It has a beautiful lobby and great location for going out in the Gaslamp area. The room was very small and an unpleasant surprise compared to the rest of the hotel. We were surprised because the reviews for this place were so positive. I want to be clear there was nothing wrong with the hotel, I just feel it didn't deserve such a high rating because of the small room compared to others I have stayed at in the area.
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from El Cajon, CA

Lovely room

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely room. I was upgraded to a larger room for free. Very close to the Opera
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for gas lamp experince.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This hotel has gotten a little to full of it self. Way to expensive for the overall experince. We arrived at 3 checkin had to wait an hour for our room. We were offered a complimentary cocktail that was nice. We were also offered a complimentary news paper in the morning that arrived at checkout, not so nice. The valet were to young look like a party at the car drop off plus they lost our luggage for an hour. When your paying $45 to park you expect more.