Ratings based on 1,712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Gas Lamp San Diego

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Personal service touches like a turn down. Mini bar in the room. Coffee service in the room.
Nice historic hotel. Amenities lacking. Service good but not what I expect at a 5 star or luxury property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Classy place to stay!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Loved every minute of our stay here! Very beautiful hotel in and very good location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Cons: Bathroom space.
Location: Walking distance to everything in Gaslamp, bars, restaurants, shops.
Love the fact that lobby doors are locked after hours and only guests with a key can enter, same for using elevator. The food is superb, and the staff is courteous. The rooms are very spacious compared to your average hotel, and I mean spacious, bathrooms could use a little more square footage. Plenty of room in the lobby area to lounge. Variety of items in the menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great area

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: The water in sink did not drain fast enough...it was too slow
Very good experience. Stayed at the US Grant before. Great area. Definitely recommend..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Grand historic site.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: the heavenly bed, the lobby cookies
Cons: see above. Also a booklet with the history would be nice in the rooms as well as check-out time and other details.
Location: You can walk to Seaport Village and of course the Gaslamp district, which was fun.
Lots to do within walking distance. Outstanding cookies in the lobby. Our phone wouldn't let us all the front desk but the valets were prompt. I thought I would get a paper but did not. A wine and cheese reception in the afternoon would have been nice as well as more tours of the place, but the pictures and wall info helped us appreciate the place. I thought the valet parking was high but otherwise, a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Convenient location! Beautiful hotel! The staff were all very friendly and accommodating!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very good hotel and staff. I would come back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite what I had expected

Posted Jun 4, 2016
A strong sulfur smell lingered in the hotel, especially in the hotels water. Left your hair smelling like sulfur after a shower. One of the times valet brought our car around we noticed a prominent burning clutch smell in the car like it was driven hard. Lastly a couple of the room pillows had unsightly stains on them. Not something I would expect from a hotel like that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneve, Suisse

Below acceptable cleanlinesa

Posted May 8, 2016
We step into the room to be welcome by one of the most disgusting bathroom I hace come accross
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Staff was really helpful

Posted May 2, 2016
The staff went out of there way They were great From the valet to the front desk and room service was fast. The hotel is very nice Looked pretty good considering how old it is, I would stay again .