Ratings based on 1,617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Incredible hotel with old world elegance

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We stayed at this hotel for an early Valentines Day and the hotel didn't disappoint. From the sumptuous seating areas to the art and chandeliers, it was gorgeous. We stayed in the Ulysses Suite which is a one of a kind Suite in the hotel and it was absolutely amazing! ! We will definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Beautiful downtown hotel conveniently located

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Staff's dedication to meeting our needs and surpassing expectations.
Cons: More shops in the hotel in addition to the art gallery
The US Grant is a beautifully maintained downtown hotel within walking distance of the Gas Lamp Quarter, Little Italy, shopping and the beach. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was not ready for check-in when we arrived at 5:00 pm. We were given a generous credit to relax in the Grant Bar and Grill while we waited. When the staff still couldn't accommodate us in the time promised, we were upgraded to an elegant suite with many extra perks. If our travels bring us back to San Diego we will definitely stay at the US Grant Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room smells bad carpets not so clean

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Room smell was bad and bathroom was not 100% clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel is very conveniently located.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Very convenient to walking anywhere in the gas lamp district. Great restaurant as well.
Cons: Ambient city noise...unpredictable air conditioner (either too hot or too cold).
Location: We had no trouble getting to all of the sites we wanted to see either by walking or a short drive.
We had a great room. Only downside was outside city noise. The staff was terrific. Each of them was committed to providing great service and to memorizing our names. That's a very nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good central location; nice old hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: good location; friendly and helpful staff; nice bar; comfortable bed
Cons: end construction; solve the homeless problem; slight improvement to room trimmings (curtains hard to open), paint chipped on TV console, (small stuff)
Location: adjacent to gaslight district and S.D. trolley. $20+- cab fare from airport.
Really the only thing that detracted from our stay was construction noise. The hotel is located next to a City square where substantial work is being done. The hotel is a glorious grand hotel are we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Great environment. Would stay again. Staff was friebdly and room was comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham Alabama

Beautiful hotel w/ accommodating staff

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Wonderful stay you may want a higher floor b/c of road noise at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de Mexico

Hotel de lujo, muy bien ubicado.

Posted Jan 5, 2016
El hotel es muy elegante y está ubicado en un lugar ideal para caminar para hacer comprar e ir a comer. Enfrente de Horton Plaza, en el area de Gaslamp. Mi única crítica es que a cierto mobiliario ya le hace falta un cambio, como lo es los sillones del Lobby, los cuales ya se ven viejos
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Hotel is downtown.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Old world charm.
Hotel is good location but limited parking close by. Need to use valet service at an additional cost. Fortunately, valet service was incredibly efficient and helpful. The rooms were very clean and well stocked with towels, etc. Beds were so comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room is good and beds are comfortable

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Staff is very nice and the room is clean. Beds are comfortable.