Ratings based on 1,742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente opcion para hospedarse

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Cuartos, baño y cama excelente, el unico problema es q se escucha mucho ruido de la calle en los cuartos. Pisos altos es mejor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
A nice historic hotel close to everything San Diego has to offer. However, the parking fees were quite accessive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico


Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness, update equipment and amenites in service.
Location: really good
use to be a great hotel, now it is dirty and less quality in service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Grand hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful experience with extermely polite and helpful staff . Valet parking is great Room service amazing The Grill restaurant is exceptional Close to everything in downtown
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Staff were friendly our entire trip. Disappointed we couldn't see the lobby because of the renovation. Weird stains on the hallway carpets. The room was very nice only complaint would be the A/c it's loud when clicking on and off
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location, Location , Location
Cons: The bathrooms. Not much area to set a dopp kit or makeup bag. Shower took forever to get hot (wasting precious water). Parking was very expensive.
Location: Civic Center and theatres are close by. Walking distance. Church's are walking distance. Freeway access is good. Close to the water and shopping.
This hotel is right downtown close to the Civic Center, we attended an event there and were able to walk easily. The hotel itself is grand and lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Historic and Perfect Location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The valet parking, the rooms, everything
Cons: They were doing construction while we were there, so the lobby was blocked off. Also, free Wifi would be nice.
Location: The Gaslamp district is right there, so there are plenty of great things to do. Cafe 21, a restaurant within walking distance, was amazing.
This was our second stay at the US Grant. It's in a prime location, right at the heart of the Gaslamp district, and the place is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Really Really BAD service

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: see above comments
The hotel states that check in is at 3 pm. We arrived at 5:30 and they said that our room won't be ready for another 1 hour. As we were waiting to see a manager, they were saying the same thing to 2 other guests. The manager didn't offer much explanation except that so many guests checked out late and their cleaning staff are behind in cleaning rooms. She said she will call us when the room is ready. She called an hour later to inform us that our room is ready and that they will credit us $80 to make it up to us. As a result of this we were really late to a family dinner. Upon check out, we were told that the $80 credit can't be honored because we reserved through expedia. Very bad management, disappointing service and overall we do not recommend this hotel. Not to mention there was construction going on as well and we didn't know upon reserving. Do not stay here!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Gas Lamp San Diego

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Personal service touches like a turn down. Mini bar in the room. Coffee service in the room.
Nice historic hotel. Amenities lacking. Service good but not what I expect at a 5 star or luxury property.
5 out of 5
by Jared

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels